We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely overated!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Itaca Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Itaca Hostel
Ranked #34 of 754 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Completely overated!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have been in two other hostels in Barcelona, and have been very pleased with everything. But thishostel was a big dissapointmThe breakfast were poor. The wifi didn´t work, (we lived in the appartment that was like an annex. We comlained about that in four days in a row, but just got different suggestions that didn´t work. They did anything abour it. My bedlamp didn´t work, I told them, nothing happended, The very small room had nothing extra, it was just ugly
The last day of our stay one of us got thefted and the keys was in that bag, we went back to the hostel and the staff that was there were so unfriendly. They took 50 euros for the keys and we could not borrow a new set for the last night. I cant in any cirkumstanses redommend this hostel The only thing that was good was the nice cleaner and the lokation that is perfekt. Last time we stayd at Casa Gracia, such a differens, everything was perfect there!

Room Tip: Dont know about other rooms but don´t take the apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FenrisElsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    144
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
28
81
131
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed in yellow room for 6 days, and found Itaca Hostel to be clean, relatively small, and close to the Cathedral. Staff are well informed and willing to answer any queries you have. Common room is nice aswell and is a good way to meet people without the alcohol element. And breakfast comes with the price of the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a5456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Itaca Hostel is a great hostel for your Barcelona base. The hostel is perfectly located in the old town, one street behind the cathedral and about a 5minute walk from the Placa De Catalunya. The hostel itself is clean and modern. The breakfast is continental and offers several spreads, museli, cornflakes, toast, muffins, not to mention the tea, coffee and juice! A separate kitchen, dinning area and common room make the hostel a well used space, giving travellers the chance to unwind and meet other travellers in a fun friendly environment. The staff are the best part of this hostel, helpful from the minute you check in, even after you check out. After I checked out I was allowed to leave my stuff at the hostel and use the shower after a day at the beach. The staff answered touristy questions, provided maps, and were friendly and always happy to help out. The hostel also has free internet in the foyer, allowing you to catch up with family whilst on your big adventure. I thoroughly reccommend this hostel to anyone travelling to Barcelona, and if I make it back there Itaca is where I will be staying. (oh it is also great value for money!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyBest5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

First ever hostel so arrived a little apprehensive. It looks nothing from the outside but it was brilliant.
Very central but not too close (to ramblas) to be too touristy.
Breakfast was free and good and kitchen facilities also good.
Bathrooms and dorms also good. Common room had a chilled feel to it with a guitar and tv for relaxing.
Computers there to use and very helpful staff.
All in all wouldnt hesitate to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had a room in Itaca Red apartment
The apartment is well fitted out and very quiet allowing an open window, a luxury in hot Barcelona.
The big surprise was that the bathroom is shared by 5 people! One room has an en-suite bathroom for the same price
We booked 6 months ahead but did not score the prize
The wifi was unreliable but quickly rebooted

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a-g2137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Very good, clean hostel in great location in the city center, very friendly staff. But be aware that there is no elevator.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innkka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
286 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I thought I'd booked a double room with ensuite - but in fact we had a very funky 2-bedroom apartment! We were thrilled and loved the place - all mod-cons, very comfy and in great part of town. A bit more expensive than hostel room but for us, so much better than hotel - we felt right at home but in the heart of old Barcelona. A 200 Euro cash deposit was a surprise but I guess I hadn't read the fine print. The Itaca staff were very helpful, professional and pleasant.

Room Tip: There are two apartments that are separate from the hostel - we loved ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#19 of 754 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Eixample
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
#25 of 754 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
360 Hostel Barcelona
360 Hostel Barcelona
#39 of 754 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
El Raval
TOC Hostel Barcelona
TOC Hostel Barcelona
#30 of 754 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itaca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itaca Hostel

Property: Itaca Hostel
Address: Ripoll 21, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 754 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Itaca Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of the Gothic area of Barcelona, in a quiet pedestrian street next to the Cathedral square.If you stay with us, in just a few minutes walk you have all the main cultural atractions (Picasso Museum, Cathedral, Music Palace, Gaudí’s arquitecture, MACBA, CCCB, Ramblas…) the beaches, traditional tapas bars and areas to enjoy the cosmopolitan nightlife of Barcelona.We guarantee you are in the centre, where everything happens but you will have peace to sleep well!!In Itaca we don’t allow people to stay who don’t respect the right of others to rest. For those (like us!) who like to enjoy the nightlife but also the wide cultural variety our city offers, Itaca is the ideal place to stay. For those who look for getting drunk and out of control, well, we suggest that you head to one of the many ‘Party Hostels’ that exist in Barcelona!Itaca has a maximum capacity of 30 people, this allows us to have a more personal touch with you, and between you. We are able to give you the attention and help that you need to enjoy your stay with us.Our installations are spacious, clean and welcoming. All the rooms are exteriors with balconies. We have dormitories, double rooms, family rooms and apartments.US….Inspired by our travels, we opened Itaca en August 2001 with the intention of bringing together the things we liked best from other places, creating a comfortable, welcoming atmosphere. A place to socialize and rest, where you will feel free to discover our culture at your own pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Itaca Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itaca Hotel Barcelona
Itaca Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing