We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banys Oriental”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Banys Orientals
Ranked #164 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked this hotel for a trip to celebrate my 40th birthday. Booked a suite after viewing the photos on the hotel website but was hugely disappointed with the actual room, no mezzena area as shown on the photos, when I complained I was told its only for a 3 person suite which is note detailed on the website. Cleaners came, removed old towels and failed to leave any new towels for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 991 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed there on a weekend holiday. I had read some reviews and seen that some people complained about the noise when staying on the street side rooms. We had no problems whatsoever.
The room was lovely, not the biggest room but it was fairily sized and perfect for two girls. Everything was perfectly clean. You could see some marks on the bed frame or in the walls, but it is a bit difficult to start changing furniture every time someone hits it with a suitcase, right? We didn´t mind. It did not lower the status of the room, it was very nicely decorated and the beds were super comfy. One thing is that it was in our opinion a bit too dark. The lighting is probably perfect for a "romantic" stay, but for us wanting to get our makeup on and stuff like that it was a bit too dark, eventhough you get used to it. On the other hand, if the days had been sunnier that would have made a difference as well!
The service was excellent, so friendly! The water and apples provided are such a nice little extra and we enjoyed that very much.
It is close to loads of important sights and from the hotel you can basically walk to every one of them. The bus turistic also has a stop very close to the hotel. Plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from as well.
All in all, I will recommend Banys Orientals to anyone going to Barcelona and I will definitely stay there again, if I only manage to get a room! (But now I understand why they are always fully booked!) I absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virpi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We thought this boutique style hotel would suit us perfectly, great location,stylish look.We decided to spend a little extra and book a suite.BAD IDEA, the suites are located in a totally different building(we knew this) what we didn't know is that it was located down a dingy back street.NO SECURITY, I managed to walk into the front locked door by following other guests in.While my husband was having an afternoon rest, I left my bracelet there, when I returned it had been stolen, obviously while he slept.Another problem our plastic key would not allow us to open the door so had to walk back to main building to replace as did our friends, late at night.
The room though large was very dark and depressing.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not take a suite where it feels like your entering a down market apartment block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilkie950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

First time in Barcelona. This could not have been a better location, perfect setting on a side street near Santa Maria del mar with some lovely shops bars and restaurants nearby. We much prefer this area than further north where the large hotels are located on wide leafy avenues, still nice but we preferred the old town. The hotel itself is very nice, staff friendly and the free water and apples are a nice touch. Our room was small but this wasn't unexpected for the centre of the old town, lovely boutique design, rooms were clean, a little noisy even with the window shut but no great problem for us, we had a lovely view over the street down towards the church. Walking distance of the cathedral, las ramblas, gothic quarter, the beach. Metro station is just at the top of the road to take you further afield. A great stay overall. We took the R2 train in from the airport on 1xT10 ticket, costing 9 euros for 10 journeys. Took 25 mins to passieg de gracia station, then a hop down the metro and straight to the hotel, we used the T10 numerous times and back to the airport, very good value!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 76Intrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Lovely little boutique hotel in the El Born district of Barcelona. Rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. We were in the back of the hotel and room was very quiet. Hotel has a very nice restaurant attached where we had a nice dinner. Would definitely shay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have had the pleasure going to Barcelona a few times and I really lliked this hotel. Close to the port, the Gothic quarter etc. It is a small boutique hotel, my room did not have a view to write about, but it was quiet and lovely. Free bottles of water that came in very handy.
Staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for restaurants (even though I have my favourites - I am always willing to try other venues.) I will definitely go back to this hotel on a future travel

Room Tip: All rooms are different and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a small 4 star hotel that really left an impression on me and my gf.
Rooms are huge and comfortable, frint desk is helpful and the location is perfect for anyone that wants to walk around the Gothic quarter.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#140 of 515 in Barcelona
1,155 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#103 of 515 in Barcelona
759 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#117 of 515 in Barcelona
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#210 of 515 in Barcelona
681 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Mercer House Boria BCN
Mercer House Boria BCN
#338 of 515 in Barcelona
234 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 515 in Barcelona
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banys Orientals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banys Orientals

Address: Argenteria 37, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#191 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $106 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Banys Orientals 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In El Born district in Barcelona, symbol of the city´s history, surrounds this familiar, modern and cozy hotel constructed in an antique building.The hotel is located in an absolutey remarkable position, on a pedestrian street in the very centre of Barcelona old town. Ramblas are only 500 metres away from our hotel that also lies right half-way through the stunning Barcelona Cathedral and the historical Santa Maria del Mar church.Surrounded by our city´s history in one of the most modern district, our guest will enjoy not only their accomodation but also the infinite relax and entertainment possibilities Barcelona offers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Banys Orientals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banys Orientals Hotel
Hotel Banys Orientals Barcelona, Catalonia
Banys Oriental Hotel
Banys Orientals Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing