We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #21 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My 13-year old granddaughter and I just spent 2 nights at the Neri. Location is perfect if you are tour-walking the historic city. The concierge was very helpful, as were the rest of the staff. One of the breakfast servers even gave me the recipe for the anise cake the Hotel serves at breakfast. Our room had plenty of space to afford us each some privacy and was very clean. Given the cost of other hotels in Barcelona and the fact that we saved quite some money on taxi fare, the Neri is well worth the cost.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 819 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and thought it was the best combination of charm and luxury with a few funky twists added in. Its in a nice location in the Barri Gotic down narrow pedestrian (mostly) streets. The room was very large and had 2 balconies. The concierge was very helpful with restaurant and other recommendations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a first class hotel in the Gothic quarter, one of the most picturesque sectors of Barcelona. Considering Barcelona hotel prices, we found this reasonably priced. Service was very good, with staff members from across Europe, all of whom spoke excellent English. Food, as befits a Relais & Chateaux member, is refined and well prepared, though we only ate there at breakfast and tapas. Some may find it a drawback that the hotel is in a pedestrian zone, so the taxi has to drop you off a couple blocks away, in a busy square, and you need to carry your luggage to the hotel. However, one advantage of that is that it's a quiet spot away from traffic noise. Barcelona is a wonderful city and we would stay here again on a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enroute2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We just completed a four night stay at Hotel Neri. The location in the Gothic section - and overlooking a historic courtyard and school was especially charming. Fodors refers to the noise from the courtyard, and that is true - but it was the sound of children playing and we found this enjoyable. Our room was spacious. We had breakfast each morning in the hotel and it was ample. Most notable above all was the incredibly attentive and gracious staff.

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard is noisy - but as I said, we felt it was part of the ambience - though others m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I just spent four nights at this charming hotel and it was perfect. The location is superb, right in the heart of Old Town Barcelona. It is a pedestrian area with all the charm of old Europe. The hotel is in a beautiful historic building and is perfectly run. The rooms are spacious, modern and well equipped. The small breakfast room was charming and the food was good. The staff were extremely accommodating and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank BERFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed there for a long weekend (thursday - sunday) to explore Barcelona. My partner has never been to Barcelona before, and I couldn't have picked a better place. The location is absolutely perfect. Located in the middle of the Gothic part of Barcelona. Couldn't believe how quiet it was. Could easily sleep with the windows open. Advise you to ask for a corner room, which allows you to have two small balconies. The staff was very friendly and helpful in any way possible. Definitely worth taking the breakfast. Really made with love, all small plates assorted on a tray. Really nice and yummie! The roof terrace was simply magnificent. You can order what ever you like up there, and even enjoy a nice nap in the two hammocks which are in one of the corners of this big and beautiful terrace. Also the rooms are equipped with the best thick curtains, which allow you to sleep in if required. The bathrooms are super clean and we had this amazing nice rain shower. Only thing I would do is always take out the electricity card when not in the room. The lamps really heat up when left on. This hotel will definitely be our pick for any future visits planned to Barcelona. Thanks again to all the staff!!

Room Tip: Pick a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vak0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Neri is a not-cheap-even-in-February but really nice small hotel in a fun building in the old historic quarter of Barcelona a few minutes walk from La Rambla – if that’s what you want! Some rooms are much nicer than others – ours on the 3rd floor wasn’t great – and the breakfast is a bit eccentric. You have to scrabble about in a dark cupboard trying to operate the Nespresso machine [and read the Nespresso labels in the dark] but the cake is terrific. There’s no sitting room but any [v.mild!] moans are much more than outweighed by the sheer niceness, friendliness and professionalism of the staff – faultless in every way. They all deserved 11/10 ... if not a bit more. So yes, the Neri is REALLY nice.
[We didn’t try the restaurant but heard v good reports of it]

Room Tip: Be fussy - there is a lot of difference between the nice rooms and the less-nice ones even at the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FussyUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#27 of 515 in Barcelona
893 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 515 in Barcelona
1,375 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#7 of 515 in Barcelona
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#4 of 515 in Barcelona
908 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 515 in Barcelona
514 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 515 in Barcelona
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux

Address: Sant Sever, 5, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $318 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic and exclusive hotel, located in the heart of the old Jewish quarter, Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux is set in two historical and aristocratic houses, being one of them a medieval palace from the XII century. The building's original period charm has been preserved and enhanced by the hotel's sophisticated interior design. Its design blends with relaxing music and sensual aromas to create a unique setting in this ancient area of central Barcelona. Set right beside the city's Cathedral, the Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux lies just a short distance from the bustling Las Ramblas, la Boqueria market, the Picasso museum, ... Is the perfect place to discover Barcelona. The hotel has 22 rooms and suites, some decorated with murals on gold and silver, others with balconies or terraces, each room has its own particular charm, although all come equipped with: free Wi-Fi, kettle and herbals teas, a selection of bed linen and pillows, flat screen TV, DVD and movie directory, Bluetooth loud speaker, minibar, safe deposit box, 24hrs Room Service, laundry service, shoe polish. Bathrooms are finished in quartzite - a stone known for its beneficial health properties- and offer eco-friendly Korres amenities, a bathrobe, slippers and hair dryer. Neri Restaurant brings together tradition and modernity in an intimate, noble and welcoming atmosphere exuding harmony, romanticism and magic. A medieval stone wall with two great arches brings us flavors of the 12th century. Its Mediterranean creative menu is designed four times a year adapting to seasonal products. Next to the restaurant, is located the Lounge Bar, right behind the wall arches from 12th century, where guests - in-house or from outside - may enjoy a coffee, cocktails from over the world, cheeses or other aperitifs and snacks. When the good weather comes, the Lounge Bar opens its terrace in the historical Sant Felip Neri square to enjoy tapas or the restaurant menu from midday to the fresh summer nights. At the rooftop of the hotel, you will find Roba Estesa: a peaceful and hidden place in the gothic quarter, open to everyone to delight cocktails and tapas and shelter from the city noises and enjoy Barcelona's roofs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Neri Barcelona
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing