We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulent, Arty and Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #24 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked a Junior suite (204) for four days to celebrate a special occasion. The Hotel met all our expectations and I am surprised at some of the more critical reviews on this site. The Hotel is small about 25 rooms and this adds to its charm. It is comprised of two historic building tastefully converted into one Hotel. The feel is modern and contemporary with a very high standard of interior decoration and styling. Rooms and public areas have quality artworks and quality furnishings.
The Hotel is not in the nicest of streets, but the area is characterful and has some interesting boutique type shops. It backs onto a particularly historic square bombed during the Civil War. I note a previous reviewer makes mention of vagrants in the square at night; we did not find any and even if this were to be the case it would not be the fault of the Hotel. Being in the Gothic area, means that the roads are narrow and winding and it is not easy to gain access with a vehicle. If you plan to come from the airport, please ask the hotel to book you a taxi. We arranged transfer by minibus shuttle which could not gain access to the Hotel and which dropped us in the Placa Jaume 1 which to be fair was just 3 minutes walk away. The taxi we arranged through the hotel for our return transfer was no more expensive and left from the Hotel door. The Hotel is actually very well positioned, close to the cathedral, Placa Nova and the Ramblas is about 10 minutes walk away. The nearest Metro is 5 minutes walk.
Our Junior Suite was excellent, everything worked efficiently. The bathroom was clad in what looked like iron pyrites stone which was unusual, and decadent. The shower was efficient and powerful and there were no problems with obtaining hot water. There was plenty of storage space, a safe, and good lighting options in the room. For the fussy there is a choice of pillows duvet etc to cater for allergies etc. There is a small minibar should you need it.
Staff at Reception were very helpful especially Claudia and Tim who offered us drinks on arrival and took time to register us, to equip us with a map of the area and to escort us to our rooms. They were welcoming whenever we returned to the Hotel and offered reliable and good advice. Staff at breakfast and in the restaurant were equally friendly and approachable.
Breakfast is served in a small room on the ground floor which also serves as a lounge and library during the day. There is a small buffet, however each table is served a tray containing a selection of meats, cheese, preserves and pastries. Hot dishes are available from a menu and the pancakes are worth trying – whatever cooked eggs or meats you select will be garnished with two slices of cooked potato and two slices of tomato, which is probably unnecessary. Cake, Toast, yoghurts, good coffee, a selection of teas and tisanes, juices and water are all available also.
We had the menu del dia at 22 Euros on our final day and enjoyed it – we had a very generous mushroom soup which was delicious followed by iberico pork served with a fried potato sheet? And beetroot which was well thought out and well presented. The portion size was quite small but it was a lunch dish. The minted pear served for desert was also of high quality. A large glass of wine of your choosing is provided in the cost.
The Hotel has a rooftop terrace, small but pleasant with plenty of greenery to watch the sunset. The first floor has a designer sofa which looks lovely but is probably a case of style over substance – nevertheless if assists the Hotel in its aspiration to be considered a sensual oasis.
Go. It is a wonderful experience in an excellent city.

Room Tip: Room 204 was all we could have wished for - though no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank docvwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Manager at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We first wish to express our thanks for sharing your Neri-experience with the travel community. It goes without saying that we are extremely grateful for your kindness in explaining your opinion of our hotel. Your words on our staff, the building and our services are a great compliment to our cause and are exactly that we wish to convey.
Hopefully we will see you again soon to experience Neri once more whilst being in Barcelona.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 834 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. very old but updated to a contemporary style. I booked through a third party and that was a mistake. I sent the hotel an email to say we wanted a room with a balcony. I had already booked a suite but some did not have balconies. When we got there the rooms with balconies had been taken because they didn't have my name only a booking number. The manager helped and got us a room with a balcony. Very nice of him and we were very happy. One thing though is a suite at the Neri is very expensive and the suites without balconies were suites only because they had two chairs. Lot of money for only and additional two chairs in the room. Everything else was great. We didn't mind the school children playing in the courtyard behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony for value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sailing00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Manager at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Let us start by thanking you for taking the time to write a response here on tripadvisor.
We are glad to have been able to offer you a great stay during your honeymoon here in Barcelona, and it pleases us that you consider our reaction to your room request as a appropriate one.
We hope to see you again soon during a possible following trip to Spain.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This wasn't the easiest hotel to find but once we figured it out we were really glad we were just a few minutes away from the really busy (and noisy) areas in a more tranquil oasis. We walked everywhere in the Gothic quarter from here and also up into the Eixample where we also have stayed, Breakfast was very nice and included eggs/sausages etc as ordered. Coffee was the pod espresso machine type and was fine. The room was really very nice with a greta bathroom and lots of storage space.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkyMarkinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Manager at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

First we wish to convey our thanks for sharing your experiences with the other travelers.
We are very grateful for your explanation of your stay here at Hotel Neri, your kind words on our location as well as our breakfast we consider to be great compliments.
We hope we will be receiving you again in the near future and to offer you the opportunity to explore more of Barcelona.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have had a lovely time in this hotel, it was perfect for us. We have had a quite comfortable rooms with a nice terrace. The staff was very kind to us, they helped us a lot. The breakfast is very delicious, it was great. Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathrine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Manager at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Hotel Neri with the travel community.
It pleases us to read that our hotel lived up to your expectations and suited you perfectly. Your courteous words concerning our staff and property are received with much gratitude.
Hopefully you will again choose to stay in Hotel Neri on a subsequent visit to Barcelona.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff including Claudia and Tim were very friendly and helpful. Our room was quite comfortable with a lovely terrace. Very beautiful quiet street just steps from shopping, squares, and restaurants. The bathrooms lack storage space but the Hotel and excellent staff, not only at the Front desk, make up for that. We enjoyed the small breakfast and having wine on the 4th Floor Terrace at sunset. We highly recommend Hotel Neri.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Manager at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for sharing your Neri-experience here on TripAdvisor.
Your kind words concerning our staff, location and offerings are a great compliment to our cause, as they elaborate on what we wish Hotel Neri to exemplify. We also appreciate your honesty concerning the storage space, we will definitely take this into consideration.
We are looking forward to accommodating you on your next stay here in Barcelona.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I am fuming as I sit in my hotel room writing this review. We book hotels on the basis of service and knowledge of good restaurants in the area and this hotel fails on all accounts. The staff are not up to the standard expected of a hotel selling itself as being of high quality. But having stayed ini several Relais & Chateau Hotels assuming incorrectly that the standard would be high this one is as disappointing as all of the others. So my advice is to avoid any hotels with the Relais & Chateau label. As for location, not very nice view looking on to the little square which seems to be a home for vagrants. They sleep under the tarpaulin of the cafe tables of this hotel. Very sad.

Room Tip: Can't as our Deluxe room looks over the square where the homeless sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wombourne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Manager at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

It regrets us immensely that your stay has not lived up to the standards you were expecting. We will take your notions into consideration as we do take all our travelers' experiences seriously.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

As a first timer to Barcelona, it was paramount that I would leave after my visit, knowing that I have learnt some important history about the city, as well as having a great experience.

This Hotel was perfectly situated in the Gothic regions and it gave me more of a real ambience of the community. Known by many, and being situatiated just a few meters away from The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Barcelona and other establishments in the area; I learnt new things about the city just by roaming around and talking to the locals on a day to day basis. Apart from that, the staff here were very knowledgeable and had great conversations about events that took place in Barcelona's history, apart from being very helpful and friendly to us and others that I witnessed.

The unique blend between the morden interior and the 12th century building features and attributes was perfectly done, as it gave us that cousy feel that other hotels around did not offer.



Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emmanuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Manager at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

First let us express our thanks to you for taking the time to share your experiences with the travel community.
Furthermore we wish to convey our appreciating concerning your courteous words about our hotel and staff, it has most definitely been our pleasure. We are glad to have been able to accommodate you during your first stay in this city, and would very much like to be the hotel of your choice during your second stay.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 516 in Barcelona
926 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#7 of 516 in Barcelona
223 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 516 in Barcelona
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Monument Hotel
Monument Hotel
#16 of 516 in Barcelona
212 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 516 in Barcelona
906 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
#45 of 516 in Barcelona
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux

Address: Sant Sever, 5, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $299 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic and exclusive hotel, located in the heart of the old Jewish quarter, Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux is set in two historical and aristocratic houses, being one of them a medieval palace from the XII century. The building's original period charm has been preserved and enhanced by the hotel's sophisticated interior design. Its design blends with relaxing music and sensual aromas to create a unique setting in this ancient area of central Barcelona. Set right beside the city's Cathedral, the Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux lies just a short distance from the bustling Las Ramblas, la Boqueria market, the Picasso museum, ... Is the perfect place to discover Barcelona. The hotel has 22 rooms and suites, some decorated with murals on gold and silver, others with balconies or terraces, each room has its own particular charm, although all come equipped with: free Wi-Fi, kettle and herbals teas, a selection of bed linen and pillows, flat screen TV, DVD and movie directory, Bluetooth loud speaker, minibar, safe deposit box, 24hrs Room Service, laundry service, shoe polish. Bathrooms are finished in quartzite - a stone known for its beneficial health properties- and offer eco-friendly Korres amenities, a bathrobe, slippers and hair dryer. Neri Restaurant brings together tradition and modernity in an intimate, noble and welcoming atmosphere exuding harmony, romanticism and magic. A medieval stone wall with two great arches brings us flavors of the 12th century. Its Mediterranean creative menu is designed four times a year adapting to seasonal products. Next to the restaurant, is located the Lounge Bar, right behind the wall arches from 12th century, where guests - in-house or from outside - may enjoy a coffee, cocktails from over the world, cheeses or other aperitifs and snacks. When the good weather comes, the Lounge Bar opens its terrace in the historical Sant Felip Neri square to enjoy tapas or the restaurant menu from midday to the fresh summer nights. At the rooftop of the hotel, you will find Roba Estesa: a peaceful and hidden place in the gothic quarter, open to everyone to delight cocktails and tapas and shelter from the city noises and enjoy Barcelona's roofs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Neri Barcelona
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing