We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be the best hotel in Barcelona if they improve their customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #25 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Could be the best hotel in Barcelona if they improve their customer service.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Neri is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. The room is gorgeous. The service can be excellent when they want to be. Miguel was super helpful at the front desk. When they don't want to be helpful it's like they go out of their way not to help. For example - we were going to the Barcelona Cathedral which is steps from their door and yet they could not tell me whether shorts were allowed. I had to go back to let them know shorts weren't and I changed and resumed our touring. This is a MAJOR tourist destination in the city. Did they really not know or not care? Additionally, I sent laundry to be washed. There was no receipt in the bag. We marked "wash and fold, no iron" on the bag. The bag had three yoga t-shirt material cover ups, 2 t-shirts, three undergarments, a hat, summer jersey dress, and a pair of linen pants. When the clothing was delivered the following day they called the cover ups "jackets" 8 euros (12 dollars) a piece, the t-shirts "blouses", 6.80 euros each. Etc. the total bill was 103 euros (150$). The thing is I would've been FINE paying that $ if that is indeed what we dropped off- but it wasn't! Everything was marked up. When I confronted the front desk- they said my husband filled out the paper (he did not- there was no paper). When I told the front desk he basically said I was lying and that he did. Totally not appreciated. Additionally, the room is VERY dark as well as the bathroom. If you're looking to put makeup on, expect it to be very light or as heavy as a drag queen because you Can't tell at all. But the room in total is gorgeous so it makes up for it. The rooftop is probably the best thing about this place overlooking the city and there was a very friendly bartender up top who welcomed us in. In short, great location, beautiful place, if they added better customer service this would be my #1 hotel in Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mermaidst0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Manager at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your experiences with the other travelers.
It regrets us that your stay did not entirely live up to your expectations, we will make sure that the items mentioned will be improved as we speak.
We hope to be able to be offered the opportunity to provide this to you on your next stay here in Barcelona.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    146
    47
    17
    17
See reviews for
115
467
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A great location in the gothic quarter, very well located for walking around without being in the one of the noisier night spots. This is a small hotel with a helpful and friendly staff. Room was directly opposite a private apartment building but not a concern and bed was large and comfortable (as was the room and bathroom). Didn't eat breakfast or meals in the restaurant, tried the rooftop bar which was OK, but returned a couple of times for wine or coffee at the tables outside on the Plaza de Felipe San Neri.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Manager at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review about Hotel Neri here on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to have been able to offer you a stay that has been such a pleasure for you. Your kind words about or hotel, the offered service and our location are much appreciated.
Hopefully you will again choose to stay in Hotel Neri on a subsequent visit to Barcelona.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Delightful gem of a boutique hotel that opens onto the Plaza de San Felipe Neri. Our room on the second floor had a lovely balcony view of the Plaza opposite and the church of San Felipe Neri (a parish church that was open for mass but closed otherwise). Art installations throughout the beautiful hotel, which provides easy access to the Cathedral, Las Ramblas, and the Gothic Quarter. Staff was helpful and efficient. Breakfasts were okay, not much more than that, but didn't detract from our enjoyment of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Plaza de San Felipe Neri.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLPAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Manager at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the other travelers out there.
We would also like to thank you for your kind words concerning our location, atmosphere and service, which we highly appreciate.
Hopefully you will again choose Hotel Neri on your next visit in Barcelona.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is located on the heart of barri Gotic, with terrace on the plaça Neri historical and beautiful peaceful square,great location.
The rooms are good size and well decorated modern stile with little terrace,the service was fantastic friendly and helpful,
Fantastic healthy breakfast selection.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FMCGDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Manager at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our thanks to you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor.
We hugely appreciate your kind words in elaborating on our location, the offered rooms and our provided service. Additionally we are glad to read that the breakfast was also to your likings.
We hope to be able to accommodate you again, on your next stay here in Barcelona.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bentonville AR
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stopped by the interesting properrty for lunch and as per previous reviews it was a mixed bag. We were seated in the restaunrant and the menu was a choice of 2 items, one a 5 course menu and the other a rather forgettable choice. We asked if that had some smaller appetizers and they brought the menu from the bar. Some of us wanted the full menu others just a light snack from the bar menu. Once we commmunicated this we were told the bar menu was not availbale in the restaurant so we would have to move to he bar. OK.

We moved the 12' into the bar (basicallly the same room) and then ordered from both menus - there were 2 other tables in the restaurant that were occupied - silly to move us, pretentious actually. We then ordered and had some drinks. Through all this the staff were the most dourer bunch I have layed eyes on - not a smile and barely eye contact.

The food arrived - generally good but small portioned, had to chase the waiter and request, napkins, silverware and drink refills. All in all underwhelming.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Manager at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience concerning our restaurant.
It regrets us that your stay did not live up to your initial expectations, due to the mentioned items. We wish to convey that our reviews are important to us, and that we are always working on improving our offerings and services, of course also in this case.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in a suite (106). Absolutely beautiful hotel with unusual art installations. The suite was a very good size. The hotel is in a narrow side street very near La Catedral and within easy reach of Las Ramblas, La Catedral and the port. As it's in a side street, the windows are directly opposite private apartment buildings but this was not a major concern. The room was luxurious, loved the bathroom and the furniture. Good service all round, especially room service. Would love to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverLadyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Manager at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding Hotel Neri, here on Tripadvisor.
We are grateful that you have decided to share your experiences and kind words concerning our suite and services. Additionally we thank you for your pleasant description of the atmosphere present in the hotel.
As do you, we hope to be able to accommodate you in the near future again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stepping out of this boutique hotel into the narrow streets of the Gothic quarter is a wonderful experience and feeling. The hotel staff were so friendly, helpful and professional and the room was spacious and clean and the bathrooms was great with a proper shower with a stone floor that was much appreciated after a day of walking around La Rambla and the various cathedrals. The breakfast was plentiful, but similar every day and by the third day was looking and tasting a bit stale. For the price you pay, I expected a bit better, but it didn't detract greatly from our overall experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Manager at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences online.
We wish to thank you in offering us an insight into your stay, and therefore appreciate the improvements as well as we do the compliments. Therefore we have taken your comments regarding our breakfast into account. We are very content with your explanation of our service and offered room, which we consider to be a big compliment.
We hope to be able to accommodate you in the near future for another stay in Barcelona.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,304 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#19 of 513 in Barcelona
869 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 513 in Barcelona
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 513 in Barcelona
879 reviews
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#9 of 513 in Barcelona
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux

Property: Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Address: Sant Sever, 5, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic and exclusive hotel, located in the heart of the old Jewish quarter, Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux is set in two historical and aristocratic houses, being one of them a medieval palace from the XII century. The building's original period charm has been preserved and enhanced by the hotel's sophisticated interior design. Its design blends with relaxing music and sensual aromas to create a unique setting in this ancient area of central Barcelona. Set right beside the city's Cathedral, the Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux lies just a short distance from the bustling Las Ramblas, la Boqueria market, the Picasso museum, ... Is the perfect place to discover Barcelona. The hotel has 22 rooms and suites, some decorated with murals on gold and silver, others with balconies or terraces, each room has its own particular charm, although all come equipped with: free Wi-Fi, kettle and herbals teas, a selection of bed linen and pillows, flat screen TV, DVD and movie directory, Bluetooth loud speaker, minibar, safe deposit box, 24hrs Room Service, laundry service, shoe polish. Bathrooms are finished in quartzite - a stone known for its beneficial health properties- and offer eco-friendly Korres amenities, a bathrobe, slippers and hair dryer. Neri Restaurant brings together tradition and modernity in an intimate, noble and welcoming atmosphere exuding harmony, romanticism and magic. A medieval stone wall with two great arches brings us flavors of the 12th century. Its Mediterranean creative menu is designed four times a year adapting to seasonal products. Next to the restaurant, is located the Lounge Bar, right behind the wall arches from 12th century, where guests - in-house or from outside - may enjoy a coffee, cocktails from over the world, cheeses or other aperitifs and snacks. When the good weather comes, the Lounge Bar opens its terrace in the historical Sant Felip Neri square to enjoy tapas or the restaurant menu from midday to the fresh summer nights. At the rooftop of the hotel, you will find Roba Estesa: a peaceful and hidden place in the gothic quarter, open to everyone to delight cocktails and tapas and shelter from the city noises and enjoy Barcelona's roofs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Neri Barcelona
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing