We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Hotel Neri”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #22 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Neri in October, 2012. It's a beautiful hotel and the location is exceptional. It's on a very quiet, narrow cobble stone street used by pedestrians, not cars. It's close to all the best sights in the older part of the city of Barcelona. My one disappointment was our standard room. If you don't mind spending $400 euros for a very small room in a lovely boutique hotel, then it is the place for you. We don't usually spend that much on a room when traveling, but decided to splurge and so were expecting more for the money. From what I could see while out exploring, there are plenty of other very good options nearby for a lot less. We spent about two weeks traveling through Spain and stayed at some lovely, intimate, charming hotels. Unfortunately, Hotel Neri is lovely, but doesn't have an intimate, charming feel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 805 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have high expectation when I choose a Relais et Chateaux especially one as expensive.The hotel itself is beautiful, old stones and great designs. The rooms were really tiny, the bathroom just had a shower but with great amenities, amazing sheets and bedding.The breakfast not included was good but very expensive especially I had to ask for a new fresh orange juice as the one brought to our room was really NOT fresh!! Then there seem to never be enough staff at the entrance lobby, nice service but u had to wait for ever if u had to ask a question because the receptioniste seemed to have to do it all by herself.
Overall not impressed by this hotel and will probably look for an other hotel in Barcelona next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in a Junior Suite for 3 nights before a cruise and were delighted with this charming boutique hotel. We had a balcony, which was directly across from an apartment building, yet it was private and quiet due to bamboo screens (and it even had a hammock). We used the hotel's private driver pickup from the airport, Armando, who gave us information about the sights during the ride and took us directly to the hotel's door. When we left, the cab that was called for us came just a few feet from the door. The hotel is located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter, and a short walk to Las Ramblas and Metro stations. The Lounge Bar has seating in the Plaza Sant Felip Neri, which was a lovely, quiet and historic location to have a cocktail and snack in the evening. Our room was large, considering most European standards, and soothing, spa-like. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CathyFitz2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Agree with most other recent reviews. Quaint, boutique hotel in excellent location. Easy walk to Ramblas, Born or Eixample. Service friendly; room quiet. Yes, slightly hard to find, but that adds to the old world charm. Yes again, breakfast is expensive - so get out of bed and walk 5 minutes to the Pinotxa bar at La Boqueria- you won't regret it!!! There are limitations to a structure built 1000 years ago - this hotel overcomes them as well as any in Europe. Fantastique!!!!!!! Book us again anytime!!!!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Coloradodiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our first challenge was finding this hotel. We had a little bit of difficulty after being left in a plaza a few small streets away by our cab from the airport. I suggest you print a good map of the area to help you as the cabs are not able to take you to the door. Once at the hotel it was a pleasant surprise. Beautiful is a word that comes to mind. The hotel is beautiful and gorgeously decorated. The rooms are small but this seems to fit the style of the area where the hotel is located. The rooms come with all necessary to enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Tucked away in a quiet corner of the old neighborhood, Hotel Neri is close enough to all of the attractions Barcelona has to offer without making you feel like you are stuck in the middle of all of the loud tourists. The rooms are well-appointed, clean, soothing, even spacious (esp. by European standards). The price is not unreasonable for what you get. Recommend booking ear,y as it is small and availability is limited. Be aware that you are charged up front and there is precious little flexibility in changing dates. Another negative is the breakfast: don't. Even. Go. There.

Room Tip: All seem okay. Maybe the ones with views to the internal square would be better. Hotel does not have...
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank CancerPhysician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Hotel Neri while not cheap was nearly the perfect romantic getaway for my wife and I. The restaurant staff and chef were amazing. The hotel staff was very very good. The hotel itself was incredible. The only slightly negative aspect to the hotel was our room overlooking the Sant Philip Neri square. Lots of activity at all hours of the day and night so was slightly noisy. The excellent construction of the remodeled hotel kept most of the noise away. The location of the hotel was perfect, could not have been better. I highly recommend the Neri and it's staff.

Room Tip: Get a room without the courtyard view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#19 of 513 in Barcelona
882 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#1 of 513 in Barcelona
1,335 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 513 in Barcelona
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
890 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
489 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux

Address: Sant Sever, 5, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $335 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic and exclusive hotel, located in the heart of the old Jewish quarter, Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux is set in two historical and aristocratic houses, being one of them a medieval palace from the XII century. The building's original period charm has been preserved and enhanced by the hotel's sophisticated interior design. Its design blends with relaxing music and sensual aromas to create a unique setting in this ancient area of central Barcelona. Set right beside the city's Cathedral, the Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux lies just a short distance from the bustling Las Ramblas, la Boqueria market, the Picasso museum, ... Is the perfect place to discover Barcelona. The hotel has 22 rooms and suites, some decorated with murals on gold and silver, others with balconies or terraces, each room has its own particular charm, although all come equipped with: free Wi-Fi, kettle and herbals teas, a selection of bed linen and pillows, flat screen TV, DVD and movie directory, Bluetooth loud speaker, minibar, safe deposit box, 24hrs Room Service, laundry service, shoe polish. Bathrooms are finished in quartzite - a stone known for its beneficial health properties- and offer eco-friendly Korres amenities, a bathrobe, slippers and hair dryer. Neri Restaurant brings together tradition and modernity in an intimate, noble and welcoming atmosphere exuding harmony, romanticism and magic. A medieval stone wall with two great arches brings us flavors of the 12th century. Its Mediterranean creative menu is designed four times a year adapting to seasonal products. Next to the restaurant, is located the Lounge Bar, right behind the wall arches from 12th century, where guests - in-house or from outside - may enjoy a coffee, cocktails from over the world, cheeses or other aperitifs and snacks. When the good weather comes, the Lounge Bar opens its terrace in the historical Sant Felip Neri square to enjoy tapas or the restaurant menu from midday to the fresh summer nights. At the rooftop of the hotel, you will find Roba Estesa: a peaceful and hidden place in the gothic quarter, open to everyone to delight cocktails and tapas and shelter from the city noises and enjoy Barcelona's roofs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Neri Barcelona
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing