We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and clean hotel, close to town centre”
Review of Hotel Aranea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aranea
Ranked #239 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Bordon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice and clean hotel, close to town centre”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel is just what you need as a base if you are in Barcelona for a short break. All of the staff are very friendly and speak good English. Towels, toiletries and air conditioning are all great, and the location is just far enough away from the noise. I would definitely use this hotel if I was to come again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind experience during your stay in our hotel.

We recommend you to visit our official website and get our best rates for your next trip to Barcelona.

Sincerely,

Jose A Pamies. - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    445
    189
    49
    30
See reviews for
119
467
41
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 3 nights in November 2013. First stay in this hotel following a friend´s recommendation.

Once we arrived, we received a charming welcome from Reception Staff. The young staff was very professional, kind and polite. They solved all the concierges questions about restaurants, museums …

The rooms are not quite big, but very well cleaned. The size of the room was not a problem for us because we use the room just for sleeping. Barcelona is an amazing city with a lot of things to do!!!!
The internet connection is wireless in the entire hotel and it is free!!! It didn´t fail during my stay despite the hotel being fully booked.

Tip: Ask in reception for all the tickets you may need and avoid queues :)

To sum up, we strongly recommend this hotel. For our purposes it was perfect. Very good rate on their website. We will come back to this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your time in sharing your kind experience in this web. You are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Jose A Pamies. - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights before catching a cruise ship. We have been to Barcelona before, and the only thing we hadn't seen was Gaudi's La Sagrada Família which is why we chose this location. Also, we arrived late on Friday and we chose to take the train from the airport to Passeig de Gracia. We walked to the hotel (pulling 2 x heavy suitcases!) and it took us around 25 minutes, but we did walk slowly. The roads were well lit and we didn't feel scared at all. The entrance to the hotel was impressive but our room was really basic, with our window opening out onto a brick wall! However the bathroom more than made up for the room as it was really big with a powerful shower. I would rather have a good bathroom personally. Other reviews have said the bed is hard, it is more firm than hard but we had a good night's sleep as usually we roll over and wake the other one up in hotel beds. Our second night we were woken up by people in a nearby room moving furniture around. We didn't eat at the hotel but found a little restaurant across the road called Bar Barreilo which was good quality at really reasonable prices. The first day we walked to the cathedral within 5 mins and then decided to take a leisurely stroll to Las Ramblas. Unless you like walking, rather take the Metro which was 5 mins away between 2 stations in each direction. I preferred this location to the busier parts of Barcelona and would definitely stay here again on my return. All the staff we encountered were very friendly. Taxi to the port cost 30 euro with a tip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyFroggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind experience during your stay in our hotel.

We recommend you to visit our official website and get our best rates for your next trip to Barcelona.

Sincerely,

Jose A Pamies. - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This little hotel is well located. We were able to walk to the main places in bcn and save a lot of money in taxi. The room is just ok, and the bad thing is that you can hear when others are taking a shower. The service was the best of this hotel. All of the were very helpful, specially a girl named Eva.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind experience during your stay in our hotel.

We recommend you to visit our official website and get our best rates for your next trip to Barcelona.

Sincerely,

Jose A Pamies. - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur Province, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Not a prime location but not too far from the centre either (underground at 5 min walk distance). Quiet (although insonorisation of the rooms could be better), clean, friendly and efficient service. Lunch menu for 10.90€, drinks included.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Herve1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your opinion about our hotel.

You can visit our official website and discover our best rates to visit us again.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies. Director Hotel Aranea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Myself, my daughter and grandson stayed at this hotel from 14th - 18th October and were very impressed. The rooms although small were exceptionally clean and the twin beds very comfortable. We had booked a triple room but the one we were allocated was obviously a twin room with a 'guest type' bed which took up a fair bit of the room but we were out all day so this was not a problem. Complimentry toiletries (soap, shampoo and shower gel) were provided and replaced when required. There was also complimentary comb, toothbrush, razor and shoe cleaning sponge in the kit. I have stayed in more expensive hotels who do not provide this service. There were no tea/coffee making facilities but there was a mini bar (fridge) that we used to store soft drinks. There is also a soft drinks machine at reception. Breakfast was buffet style and plentiful. Staff were friendly and helpful. There are left luggage lockers which cost €2 and on checking out there is a local tax to pay which I think was 60 cents per person per day. We walked into Plaza Catalunya and La Rambla and it is a fair hike but also a very enjoyble walk along the side streets with all the beautiful buildings. There are various small restaurants close to the hotel, our favourite being the Anauco in Carrer de Valencia close to La Sagrada Familia. All in all this was a really enjoyable holiday and if we return to Barcelona would certainly stay at the Aranea again and I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet if you don't mind looking out at a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gr00vygran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind experience during your stay in our hotel.

We recommend you to visit our official website and get our best rates for your next trip to Barcelona.

Sincerely,

Jose A Pamies. - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here 8th and 9th October 2013.
Staff at reception were very friendly and spoke English well.
The rooms were spotless as was the bathroom with enough nice toiletries included if you needed them. There were a few English TV channels to watch when back in the room at night time. We had a good view onto the front street which was lovely. Plenty of places to go for something to eat and drink from small bars and cafes to restaurant's or snack bars.
We asked at reception for extra pillows as we only has one each and they were sent up to our room within ten minutes.
The breakfast's were good with plenty of choice, the only downfall was the coffee/tea machine as you had to queue to get a drink and it wasn't very good, probably due the water never being boiling only hot.
The hotel location was good for visiting the sights and landmarks or catching the hop on hop off tourist bus.
There are plenty taxis passing by when you need them but the taxi driver who dropped us of when we arrived advised us if we needed a taxi to go out and stop one yourself as if the hotel calls for one they will charge you 15 euros.
I would definitely stay here again if it were only for a few nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triciafifife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel in this specialized website.
We take note of your experience at our hotel to evaluate and improve our services.

Now , you can visit our official website and get our best rates for your next trip to Barcelona.

Sincerely,

Jose A Pamies. - Director Hotel Aranea -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#161 of 513 in Barcelona
758 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Auto Hogar
Hotel Auto Hogar
#286 of 513 in Barcelona
1,510 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#110 of 513 in Barcelona
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Teatre Auditori
Hotel Teatre Auditori
#175 of 513 in Barcelona
757 reviews
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#246 of 513 in Barcelona
1,265 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Century Hotel
Barcelona Century Hotel
#236 of 513 in Barcelona
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranea

Property: Hotel Aranea
Address: Consell de Cent, 444 | Esquina Napols, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranea 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and cozy hotel located right in the middle of Eixample, just a short walk away from Sagrada Familia and Passeig de Gracia. The perfect place if you are visiting Barcelona for pleasure or business The Hotel Aranea has a nice restaurant specialized in Mediterranean cuisine, a business centre with internet connection, two meeting room up to 25 persons each one, TV room and solarium terrace on the top of the building. The 84 light rooms are equipped with air conditioning, full bathroom with hairdryer, TV with international channels, safe deposit box, minibar, exterior telephone line and wire less internet connection. The meeting rooms "Girona" and "Ático", are totally sound proofed. They both have natural light, audiovisual equipment and high speed internet connection. They are the perfect place for your business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, BookAssist, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Aranea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apsis Aranea
Apsis Aranea Barcelona
Hotel Aranea Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing