We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Aranea
Nearby Hotels
$526
$499
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wilson Boutique Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Catalonia Port(Barcelona)
$352
$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Arts Barcelona(Barcelona)
$584
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Oriente Atiram(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
$197
$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
B-Hotel(Barcelona)
$195
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Barcelona Ramblas(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
$175
$137
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$465
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$436
$410
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$145
$140
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (989)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveler rating
230
467
204
57
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
467
204
57
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssagrada familiaminute walkthe hotel staffclean hotelair conthe nearest metro stationeasy walking distancetour busstayed here for nightsroof terraceshort staymini barla ramblagothic quartercityeurostaxi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 990 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What to add to previous reviews?

Well, no worries about the hotel as such. Good-sized rooms, we had a very nice bathroom, quiet even though front-facing. Good sound insulation between rooms, though not from the corridor in. Very clean (cleaning staff to be commended). International TV channels, but only one or two for each- a choice of BBC World (with no sound), and Bloomberg for English, though got to watch a fascinating Greek version of 'deal or no deal'. Slightly disappointed at the edge of ripping-off (as mentioned by others, 2 euro just to leave luggage if you arrive before check-in, and exorbitant mini-bar prices compared to shops nearby- not to mention the breakfast price!), but otherwise no worries.

Big thing is location. It is away from the centre, in a much more residential area- so while you escape the tourist crowds and get much better prices in bars and cafés as used by locals (1 euro for beer? Yes please!), there isn't anything gourmand nearby, and the trek to and from the centre isn't ideal. Airport train drops at Passeig de Gracia, about 10-15 mins walk away, but it takes a good 20-30 mins to walk into the centre. Though you get a great idea of life in the city from this, you don't want to make this trek more than once in a single day, which meant some evenings wandering the local area trying to find food to avoid the trip back into the centre. No idea about metro as we are devotees to shank's pony.

So no problem with the hotel at all. As regards location, if you value the quieter life- local bars, bakeries, supermarkets- where you stay and are happy to trek out for the sights or an evening out, particularly on foot, this place is pretty good value. If you want to be in the midst of the tourist buzz, or you don't like to walk but also don't want to spend a fortune on transport, might not be ideal.

Fairly happy overall, certainly nothing to complain about; but would I stay here again? Probably not- there are similar places further in to the centre where you would still get this experience but shave 10-15 mins off the walk to the centre. But certainly, a reasonable hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millenniumperegrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your opinion about our hotel.
We take note of your experience at our hotel to evaluate and improve our services.

You can get our best rates visiting our official website.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

As soon as i arrived at the hotel aranea, i was greeted by a friendly receptionist.Then when i checked myself in my room at level 3,the room was clean and quite spacious.İt came with two single beds.Using the internet was no problem.The receptionist just gives you the wifi password,then you can use it in your room or anywhere else in the hotel.The hotel was in a good location, just 15 minutes walk from la sagrada familia and from there you can get the double decker bus tours, which can take you everywhere, which is a must when visiting barcelona. Please note that taking the taxi in barcelona is expensive. İt cost me 35 euro from the airport to the hotel. Didn`t do that again,lol. On the way back to the airport, i took the taxi to placa de catalunya which cost me 6 euros and from there i took the coach which takes you directly to the airport for another 6-7 euro.A much better option if you ask me:) Would i stay at this hotel again, in a heartbeat..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamer748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your opinion about our hotel.
You can get our best rates visiting our official website.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

They say this hotel is very close to la Sagrada Famalia Cathedral. But You have to go across the broad road from the hotel to there. and the accessibility is poor to the other sites to travel in Barcelona.

The hotel is in the middle of Monumental station and Sagrada Familia station of Metro Line L2. The distance from the either station to the hotel is not short, you have to take taxi to move your baggage with you.

The the room in the hotel is so-so. the bathroom is out of date, camparing with other hotels. Especially in my room, the inside part of the bath tube was slippery and there was dangerous steel handel on it, so that I fell down accidently and broken my ribs.

I recommand you to find and get some good hotel for you around Catalyuna Plaza where the most transportations are available.

Room Tip: You must watch slippery bath tube in the bathroom in the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitebirch294197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Mr whitebirch294197,

Thank you for your time sharing your opinion about our hotel.
We take note of your experience at our hotel to evaluate and improve our services.

You can get our best rates visiting our official website.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely 3 night stay in Barcelona. Not ever having been before we we not sure where to stay and picked this hotel at random. We asked for adjoining twin rooms and that is what we got so we were very pleased. The rooms them selves were an adequate size as was the bathrooms and all very clean. We were on the 7th floor so not a lot of traffic noise on an evening if the window was closed. It was dissappointing that the sun roof closed at 5pm but we didn't feel the need to use it anyway as we we out and about. Breakfast was buffet style and had a good selection on offer, what I would say is the toaster could do with replacing as it took ages just to get a bit of colour on the bread on the highes setting and only two slices at a time. I like a mug of tea when I wake up of a morning, with no amenaties it the room I had to wait for breakfast but only tea cups availiable so several trips to the machine was required. (maybe something to look at in the future hotel management).

Yes it was a hike in to the centre but only a 5 min walk to the Sagrada Familia and the Agbar Tower, there were pleanty of shops and places to eat withour going to far from the hotel on an evening.

Taxi's were on par with home so we used them a few times, we also used the hop on hop off bus a little expensive in my opinion 26 euro's for the day but very handy.

All in all our stay was a good one, we found all hotel staff very pleasant and willing to help with a smile on there faces even if they hadn't got a clue what we were saying :-)!!

We would return to this hotel and might well do so in the next year or two.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEWBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your opinion about our hotel.
We take note of your experience at our hotel to evaluate and improve our services.

You can get our best rates visiting our official website.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Situated in a safe area with good access to Sagrada Familia, Gaudi buildings and park. Its clean and tidy but the rooms are smallish and unexciting. No electric jug suppiled. Reasonable eateries are within 15-25 minutes walk. You must try La Rita Restarante and Paco Meralgo. You don't need to have a hotel breakfest because many cafes are situated within 3-5 minutes walk and you should eat like a local....cafe and a pastry or a roll with ham and cheese.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbournetraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your opinion about our hotel.
We take note of your experience at our hotel to evaluate and improve our services.

You can get our best rates visiting our official website.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews