We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easyjet trip”
Review of Hotel Aranea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aranea
Ranked #242 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We had a twin room that was comfortable and clean. Disappointed that no tea/coffee making facilities or English channel on the TV. Staff very helpful in all area. The hotel close to Sagrada Familia. We walked to the zoo, which is terrific, Las Ramblas, the port area for a boat trip. Enjoyable 2 night break, but very cold.

Room Tip: We had a 7th floor twin room, as smokers, the next floor was the sun deck, view of top of Sagrada Fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 965 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

We were booked in this hotel via Gate1 Travel (who usually has good picks) and were disappointed in the quality and service as well as the remote location - 11 long city blocks+ to get to the city center and Ramblas. Hotel room was small, walls dirty and bed hard a a board. Breakfast buffet was so bad, we ate elsewhere all 3 days.
The front desk staff was cordial and spoke English, however very indifferent to my problems connecting to the in hotel wi-fi. I would not recommend this hotel - it is a 2 star, if that, certainly not 3 stars. You can do better.

Room Tip: I asked for an upgraded room at check in, but was told none were available. Ask for extra pillows an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaineUSA1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Good basic hotel in the centre of everywhere. 20mins walk to all major attractions. Reception and restaurant staff helpful and pleasant.
Visited old stomping ground plus new sights. Did a hop on/off sight seeing bus did the red and blue route to get back to the Sagrada Familia Cathedral which was only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Award-winning sense of disenchantment here. More of a glorified motel - definitely not a hotel: one-person reception at night, can’t call down to reception, they couldn't bring anything up (like a pillow or blanket). If you’re happy to throw away good money for such little service, then you have enough money to book somewhere else. Someone is making good money just renting rooms with no added extras, like staff. Thanks to Flight Center again for such a poor booking choice - I wouldn't trust their recommendations again - second bad hotel. Breakfast – you won’t get powdered scrambled eggs like these anywhere else since WWII. The hallways are all timber so you hear every 'clack' of people walking by and rolling their suitcases, luckily we were mid week. Good luck. Help them improve their business and service – don’t go there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wombat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for new year and were very impresses at how nice the hotel was. We didn't pay a lot to stay there so we were very impressed at how modern the rooms were and found the location to be great for getting to most places in Barcelona from. The only downside was there was no dressing table to get ready at and the noise from other guests or cleaners could be heard quite early on account of how thin the walls were. We would definitely return to this hotel despite this.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kerrymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night on the day before embarking on a cruise. Front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. Check in was efficient and as an added bonus we were able to check in quite early after having arrived on a morning flight. The hotel emailed us directions using public transportation from the airport. However the 3 block walk from the metro was a bit confusing as the streets aren't marked that well. I would recommend asking the hotel for more specific directions after getting off the metro.
Our room was very clean and a good size. We were quite comfortable. Breakfast was not included in our room rate so we had a quick coffee and croissant at a local cafe which was much more reasonable. The hotel was only about 4 blocks from Sagrada Familia where you can also catch the Barcelona BusTuristic (hop on/off). Ask for a discount coupon at the hotel.
The hotel also has a small lounge where one can use the computer. We enjoyed our one night there even though the hotel is in a quieter area. We felt that the hotel was in a safe area and did a lot of walking. We would not hesitate in returning.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor on the right side of the hotel overlooking a side street. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dickens052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

this was a very nice hotel located in a pleasant neighborhood. it was near some of the major sites we wanted to explore and close to public transportation that we used to go everywhere. i would recommend though that they invest in a machine to squeeze fresh orange juice as well as good coffee or espresso machine. They had an instant machine that made horrible coffee and the orange juice tasted like cool aide. This was totally unacceptable. however, the staff was friendly professional and helpful. overall my experience was quite good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marial27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#241 of 516 in Barcelona
1,326 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#182 of 516 in Barcelona
835 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#118 of 516 in Barcelona
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#169 of 516 in Barcelona
1,295 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Auto Hogar
Hotel Auto Hogar
#277 of 516 in Barcelona
1,571 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Teatre Auditori
Hotel Teatre Auditori
#194 of 516 in Barcelona
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranea

Address: Consell de Cent, 444 | Esquina Napols, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $62 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranea 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and cozy hotel located right in the middle of Eixample, just a short walk away from Sagrada Familia and Passeig de Gracia. The perfect place if you are visiting Barcelona for pleasure or business The Hotel Aranea has a nice restaurant specialized in Mediterranean cuisine, a business centre with internet connection, two meeting room up to 25 persons each one, TV room and solarium terrace on the top of the building. The 84 light rooms are equipped with air conditioning, full bathroom with hairdryer, TV with international channels, safe deposit box, minibar, exterior telephone line and wire less internet connection. The meeting rooms "Girona" and "Ático", are totally sound proofed. They both have natural light, audiovisual equipment and high speed internet connection. They are the perfect place for your business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Aranea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apsis Aranea
Apsis Aranea Barcelona
Hotel Aranea Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing