We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
Ranked #274 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely :)”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We came for a girls long weekend and had a great time here :) The pool was a little small but no big deal as the hotel wasn't very busy so on one occasion, I got it all to myself! Fantastic! Very welcoming staff and great facilities. The only issue was the ice machine not working on our floor but again I'm sure this was looked over in error and I didn't mind going to the next floor to grab ice! Would definitely recommend and would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cltd_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,


I really appreciate your comments towards our establishment and our staff. Make sure that I will pass on this comment to them, as our main interest is to achieve that all our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their stay.

We will take in account all these aspects you mentioned in your review and we will work to improve it.

We are at your disposal and hope you can come to visit us soon. In the meantime we will keep working to achieve all our guests enjoy their stay at the hotel.

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    570
    272
    93
    74
See reviews for
346
539
51
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

On arrival, I stood in front of Mar, the receptionist, for what seemed an age as she chatted amiably with someone on the other end of the telephone. This was clearly not a business related call ,obvious from the tone of voice being used even though it was in Spanish. Eventually, the porter intervened and checked us in, collected our luggage from the taxi and took it to our room where he proceeded to deliver all the hotel information that should be the prerogative of the receptionist. However, on seeing our dungeon (oops, sorry room), we asked for a change to a brighter accommodation. Sadly, the porter saw fit to try to convince us that a room upgrade would not improve things. When pressed, he said no rooms were available as the hotel was full!
Beds were essentially clean enough I suppose and the bathroom was adequate however the towels were so thin they were almost see-through. Barely adequate for drying after a shower, particularly for a larger chap such as myself.

The restaurant was big enough to accommodate an army. Sadly, it was empty, bereft of life or any sign of culinary activity during the hours publicised for dinner. Instead, we were directed to the bar where, after what seemed yet another lengthy slice of my life had been consumed standing idly at the counter, a waiter appeared. Expressing interest in food, he gave us the bar menu and busied himself elsewhere. The choice on the menu was poor with choices between the usual suspects of paella, pasta and about three or four other choices. Limited in the extreme. Even worse when served. I have yet to discover what needs to be done to penne pasta to turn it into small pieces of a bicycle inner tube, however, this was managed effortlessly at the Senator. I suspect all the bar food is pre-cooked and portioned, frozen, and then reheated by said waiter before he serves it. Fair play to him, he does all the work and is a very amiable chap. I still think it was a good job there were only six diners/drinkers at the time we were there as he was doing everything.

Breakfast finally saw activity in the dining room. A very reasonable buffet breakfast, however, items soon ran out at peak times as there were only two staff members waiting table. The chef was present only intermittently and although happy to customise eggs to your taste really should be at his/her station throughout service.

Checking out, Mar was again too busy on the telephone to even acknowledge my presence even though I was standing immediately in her sight and her colleague was forced to intervene after I had been standing, waiting yet again, for her to deign to attend to my needs. Overall, all staff were happy to oblige, which made the extremely poor service from Mar at front of house even more notable.

Overall, the hotel was akin to a mausoleum due to the large empty and poorly/indifferently lit spaces which is a pity really as it has the potential to be far better than it currently is. Competition in Barcelona is fierce and the Senator is in danger of becoming history if things don't change.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravellerDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,


I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

Once I have read your review and about our service, I think that each of these aspects should be mentioned.

We apologize if you didn’t have the welcome you expected. It´s surprising for us to have a bad review from our staff, normally we have good commentaries from our guest. Anyway, we regret not having shown to us all those aspects, making feel uncomfortable during your stay. In this case, we were tried taking all the measures necessary to make your stay more comfortable.


As you can see all the facilities in our Web-site. We have a restaurant buffet but it is only opened for breakfast or groups. We are sorry, if the dishes you tasted were not what you expected although I assure you that we just buy products of high quality.


We are sorry because you couldn´t offer you an upgrade to a better room but as you yourself have said, we were fully booked.

Once again, we apologize for your bad experience with us, we will take in account all your impression and we will keep working to achieve all our guests enjoy their stay at the hotel.

Regards,

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Three nights B&B in this hotel during August 2013, recommended by Thomas Cook. We found this hotel to be average at best and although listed as 4 star we only saved it from a 2 star rating by a good breakfast!

It's located near the Nou Camp football stadium and a good walk from any half decent shopping areas and a taxi ride from the main city. We got a sight seeing bus from outside of the Nou Camp which we thought was good value for money at 26 euros each for the day. It took us right into the heart of Barcelona, shopping and great sight seeing on both the blue route and the red route.

The hotel wasn't the cleanest and had a very uncomfortable bar/lounge area with only one member of staff serving from the bar which also had a small range of snacks. There is a nice reception area but the room was very average although it did boast a free mini bar but don't get too excited because it only had two small bottles of coke, two small bottles of water and two milk capsules for your tea/coffee. There was a nice tv with loads of channels but the only English Channel we could find was BBC World news. We were also amazed to be have the cleaners ignoring the do not disturb sign and knocking on the door at 10am to clean the room!!! The pool area was disappointing, on the roof top with a large plastic bath tub full of cold water on a raised area surrounded with some wooden slatted sun loungers. The pool bar was closed but there was supposed to be a telephone somewhere for you to ring with any bar orders which were brought up to the pool area. We didn't see any one with any drinks while we were up there. The restaurant serving breakfast was very nice, clean and tidy with plenty of friendly staff and a very good selection of hot and cold food choices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo_11186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thanks for your opinion because this is the best way to get our main goal, the satisfaction of all our guests.

We are sorry for your disagreement regarding your point of view of hotel; we are trying to give the best image.
We regret not having shown to us all those aspects, making feel uncomfortable during your stay. In this case, we were tried taking all the measures necessary to make your stay more comfortable.


We apologize if our free minibar, was not what you expect, normally it´s something that our guests really appreciate. Anyway, if you need some drink or snack we were happy to serve you at our reception, 24h or in our Bar from 10:30 to 24:00 and on Friday and Saturday until 1am (even if you stay on the pool area).
Concerning the tv channels, we will take a note about your request, and we will pass the information to improve this service.
Once again, we apologize about not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Yours sincerely.

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is spacious and roomy and we were lucky enough to have a larger room than most with a beautifully large bathroom and dressing area. The room had efficient air con and unusually tea and coffee facilities and a free fridge with soft drinks and water. The spa itself was 13 euros for 90 mins (Sept 2013) so we didn't bother using it. However the reception area was also spacious and smart and the staff very helpful. Perfect for a proper coffee! The pool on the roof is disappointingly small and not particularly well appointed with no bar or dressing rooms up there (though there are toilets); but there is a very large area with sun loungers so you can soak up the rays (sadly no cushions makes the slats a little uncomfortable but we were in Barcelona to see the city so we didn't use this area much).

The hotel is about 30 mins from La Rambla by Metro. The nearest stop is Collblanc which is about a 10 min walk away at most and this is on Line 5 on the Metro. The hotel reception staff are happy to help and marked on a map where to find the station. Any trip is 2 euros but if you come out of the metro system, you are charged again. We bought a 3 day pass for 18 or so euros which also covered the bus.

From Collblanc you can stay on this line for about 20 mins or so and you reach the stop Familia Sagrada where you can enjoy the basilica and also many eateries and bars in the area. But if you want to visit the interior, remember to book on line and avoid the 2 hour+ long queues! The basilica is a fantastic assault on your senses - in a good way! The metro runs all night on Saturdays and the last train appears to be around midnight other evenings.

To go into La Rambla, change metro lines to Line 1 (red) at Placa de Sants and head south to Catalunya. This brings you pretty much to the top of La Rambla where you can walk down (but watch your bags and wallets) the centre towards the marina and the sea. To the east and west are many old historic narrow lanes with shops and eateries and to the east is the Cathedral, Roman wall and the Gaudi Museum which is well worth a visit.

If you stay on the metro one more stop you come to Urqinaona (come out at the north exit). Walk down the hill and to your left you will see the Palau De La Musica Catalana. It is the most unusual building and if you are lucky you may be able to see a show there. We pre booked and were delighted to see Catalan music and flamenco dance. A special evening in a great building!

Alternatively a short 3 min walk from the Hotel and on the same side, for 2 euros you can get the bus in to the area Universitat. Cross the road from the university square and take the left road but walking dead ahead. This takes you to the top of La Rambla. The bus route saves a long link underground between lines 5 and 1 on the metro and if you buy a 2 day or more metro ticket, the bus rides are included in the ticket price, though not on the single trip ticket.

The hotel, though a bit of a ride from the centre was so worth staying in as for the price it was good value and offered a luxurious feeling rather than being crammed into a smaller more central hotel. Nearby Marios bar/cafe served us with late night drinks to finish our evenings; although this was one of only a few bars or restaurants locally.

We would recommend this hotel if you are happy to journey using the tube or bus. Perfect for us but perhaps a little far out for the less mobile.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guests,


First of all, thanks for your opinion because that´s the best way to get our main goal, the satisfaction of our guests.

It´s nice to hear your opinion about a strong point like the location. Although our hotel is not situated in the heart of Barcelona, as your review said, you could find many public transports around the hotel.
We are glad to know you could enjoy the Spa and our outdoor pool, although it was not what you expected. Anyway we will take into account your impressions and will work to improve these points you mentioned so your perception of our product will be completely satisfactory next time you visit us.

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us about your stay because it´s very useful for all the staff and other clients that wish to stay in our hotel.

Regards,

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Venezuela
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Internet connection, though free in the room, is dreadful. We stayed in an apartment in Alicante prior to coming to Barcelona, and Internet speed there was terrific, so it's not the country. I will complain, and report back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LiteraryTourist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest,
We regret not having shown to us all those aspects, making feel uncomfortable during your stay. In this case, we were tried taking all the measures necessary to make your stay more comfortable; however, I would like to give you some information about our Internet service.
We offer to our guest a basic wifi service free of charge just to surf the web, but if you need to use any special system, or program to watch videos, or mails, our staff will be glad to inform you about the different possibilities you can have, using our Business Corner, or having a prepaid card.
Finally thank you for all the time taken to express his experience will take a note about your impressions and will continue working every day to offer our guests a better service.

Regards,

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is quite difficult to find and a journey from the city centre. The hotel bar was unable to cater for food intolerances however, the hotel restaruant really gave an exceptional service and the food was fantastic. A few teething problems to start with, room full of ants after dropping our bags. Hotel offered us another room though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyrosWoodnymph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Our aim is our guests have a pleasant stay and that is what we work for, trying to improve every day.

We regret the initial impression of your room, but fortunately informed us on arrival and we could fix it.All our guests are informed that, it is not possible eat in the rooms just to avoid this kind of situation.

Concerning the food intolerances, we would like to inform you that for next stays, you just need to contact us in advance, and we will do our best to offer you several products.

The whole Playasenator team is at your disposal and we hope you come back to visit us on another occasion. Meanwhile we will keep working to achieve all our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Regards,

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived at this hotel and were disappointed with the very very old fashioned room decor and bed. However we only paid just over £50 for a double room so weren't expecting too much.

However, do not think that because you are staying in a spa hotel, that you have access to a spa. We thought this because nothing told us we didn't. Turns out the spa is like 15 euros for a couple of hours of something. We could not believe it when we arrived and were told that the spa was extra cost. Very very disappointing.

The pool sunbathing/table area was nice and good size. The pool was small as we expected so that was fine. The whole area was sunny all day which was nice as the rooftop hotel we were in before was very shady.

We were aware the location was out from the centre so that was fine and it was 5 minutes from metro.

However we were disappointed with past reviews which said there were nice restaurants and bars nearby. Unless we were looking in the wrong place we did not find 1 restaurant to eat in at nice so ate in main areas in Barcelona each night and got the last metro back.

There are nice bakeries near by so we ate breakfast in them each day which was lovely and cheap.

So based on the above, the hotel was good value UNTIL you bring service into it. It was the worst service I have ever had in a hotel. There were always queues at reception and only 1 staff member so we kept having to queue. This wouldn't have been a big issue if we didn't have to constantly follow up on complaints.

Firsly we had a kettle lead but no kettle on arrival. Therefore we asked for one on the first day. This took another 2 trips to reception to obtain one and therefore we didn't have one for the first day or two.

We then didn't get our toilet roll replaced for 3 days in a row resulting in us running out. We had to chase this up and were told we may not get any as the reception man could not get access to a supply cupboard. After a few hours we were given 1 roll meaning we were without toilet roll for nearly a day. This is completely unacceptable.

However what was worse was that the man I asked for toilet roll was unbelieveably rude and in no way apologetic. We usually stay in budget hotels and have never expected too much but expecting toilet roll should not be an unreasonable request.

We then came back one day from a long day and the local supermarket was closed so we decided to order a pizza from the restaurant/bar. Ordered a 4 cheese pizza which was not cheap (9 euros or something). We waited 45 minutes for this pizza but noone told us to expect a delay. I had to chase this up twice. Then was told that the reason it was late was because they had to turn all the appliances in the kitchen on and wait for them to heat up before putting the pizza on. Had they have warned us of this we wouldn't have ordered it as we were starving and ordered the thing on the menu that we thought would be quickest. Again, no apology whatsoever. Then when it came out we couldn't believe it, it was a piece of bread with cheese on it, which was dry and burnt. I complained and stated the wait was unacceptable especially for the quality of food we were given. We were simply told that it was a pizza. It was not. So we did not eat it, refused to pay and again the 2 staff members were extremely rude.

The service was terrible and really affected our stay, particularly the response to the lack of toilet roll. I would not return despite the value and the rudeness of the staff really put a downer on a couple of our days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburgh186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to apologize for not being covered your expectations.

According to your comments we believe appropriate to clarify any of the points mentioned.

Our Spa is open at the disposal of our guests from Tuesday to Sunday from 10.00 to 14.00 and from 17.00 to 21.00. As you could see in many websites, Spa is not included in your room rate, although just for stay in our hotel, you could enjoy special discounts.

The bar is open every day from 10:30 to 24:00, Friday and Saturday until 1am. There, you we offer to our guest a prepared Menu, but we suggest to our guest to book in advance. We regret you had to move to the center and did not ask anyone from our staff, because we assure you that around the hotel there are several restaurants with very good service and quality.

We feel sorry you felt uncomfortable during your stay. We remember you asked for the kettle and we personally spoke with our housekeeping manager, who went to your room to check it and gave you directly two paper rows every day.

Apparently, all this measures we try to take were not enough to offer you a comfortable stay.

Anyway we really thank you for all the time taken to express his experience and will take a note of each one of these aspects and will continue working every day to offer our guests a better service.

Regards,

Ruben Martin
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Stadium
NH Barcelona Stadium
#208 of 513 in Barcelona
711 reviews
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#336 of 513 in Barcelona
2,729 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#213 of 513 in Barcelona
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#120 of 513 in Barcelona
2,516 reviews
Madanis Hotel
#264 of 513 in Barcelona
475 reviews
Les Corts
Catalonia Rigoletto
Catalonia Rigoletto
#207 of 513 in Barcelona
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
Address: C/Cardenal Reig 11, 08028 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#169 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Senator Barcelona
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing