We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but that's about it............”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel HCC Regente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel HCC Regente
Ranked #270 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location, but that's about it............”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, which is why we chose it, but, definitely overpriced and should be rated a 3 star at best.

The rooms are clean, but very basic and dated. The walls are ridiculously thin - we could hear someone in the next room zipping up luggage............

Breakfast is average continental style.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family_Traveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    246
    81
    25
    10
See reviews for
104
218
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great hotel...rooms comfortable with all required...upgraded to a room with a balcony for a small fee of 15 Euros a night...well worth it. Great location and very helpful happy staff. Breakfast was good with fresh fruit and can ask for hot option if required.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We have just enjoyed 3 nights in Barcelona and this hotel suited us very well. We had our son travelling with us and the staff were happy to arrange nearby rooms on the same floor.

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and, as others have mentioned, will happily store luggage before and after your stay and arrange taxis etc.

The breakfast was good but, again as others had mentioned (thank you!), you do need to ask for the cooked items such as omelettes as they are neither advertised or offered.

The location is great for exploring the city with good connections to the Metro and train services etc.



Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had a weekend break to Barcelona and spent 2 pleasant nights at The Regente Hotel. The location of the hotel was great, in a quiet "local" area with lots of nice designer shops and patiseries, but still only a 10 minute walk to the Ramblas.
We booked two rooms and checked in early, therefore the rooms were not ready. The staff stored our luggage, while we took off to explore the city. Once we returned to the hotel, one of the rooms had been upgraded with a balcony view. Our room was a good size, immaculatley clean.
We found the staff to be helpful and friendly throughout the hotel & the free bottle of wine in each room on arrival was a nice touch!

This hotel is my hotel of choice upon my next visit. I loved Barcelona, Spain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel is rated a 4 star and is NOT deserving of this rating. The beds are hard, and uncomfortable. The pillows are flimsy, and the attire in the rooms are tired. The terraces are a waste of money. This hotel was a big disappointment for my husband and I, especially since this was our first trip to Barcelona. I recommend that you spend a little more money and stay at a hotel that is reputable up to standards.
Did I mention that we had to change rooms after the first night because the room had an ant infestation? I wouldn't return to this chain of hotels ever - no matter how great of a location this hotel has. Location isn't worth this discomfort and disgust.

Room Tip: Rooms are outdated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweet_escape76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just got back last night. Been to Barcelona before. This hotel is in a good location for most places really. Got train from Airport to Pasage de Gracia. Easy 4 stops on the train and about a five minute walk to hotel from there. 10-15 mins pleasant walk to Placa De Catalunya and then on to Las Ramblas. About 30 -40 min walk to beach. We did loads of walking so it didnt bother us. Loads of bars, tapas bars and restaurants close to hotel. This time we did Miro museum (excellent) and Barcelona Zoo (very good) . The staff are multi-lingual, friendly, and really helpful on reception.Air con good in rooms and quiet. Our room on 7th floor was excellent, we did ask to see a room with a balcony but was 15euros a night more, and our room (we thought) was better. Had rooftop view over Barca.Used small pool which was lovely and little roof terrace, where you could have Sangria, drinks and small meals.Breakfast good but a bit samey but all hotels are like this. You could ask for scrambled eggs, or omlette, no charge but just ask for it as you wouldn't know otherwise as its not mentioned. All in all great hotel and facilities, even kept our cases locked away on last day as we had late flight. Would go back and stay here tomorrow and will defo stay again on our next visit. Should at least be higher up in the Tripadvisor ratings than it is at least in top 30.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malibu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

On arrival late in the evening we were informed that no room with a view was available to accomodate us despite several emails back and forth running up to our arrival. We were put into a room with an internal view that was pleasant enough and clean.

We were moved the folowing day and the staff were all very apologetic and helpful. For the rest of the week all the staff were great and helped hugely with our first trip with our baby daughter.

Rooms are in good order although not particularly large. The roof terrace (don't expect a large swimming pool as you'll be disappointed) is a pleasant way to get away from it all if need be and the staff here and in the breakfast lounge were always very helpful and friendly.

Position is great with several good restaurants close by. A good place to explore Barcelona!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBees13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
HCC St. Moritz
HCC St. Moritz
#281 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Eixample
HCC Taber
HCC Taber
#301 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Eixample
Hotel America Barcelona
Hotel America Barcelona
#267 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
HCC Montblanc
HCC Montblanc
#218 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#51 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Eixample
Condes De Barcelona
Condes De Barcelona
#133 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel HCC Regente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel HCC Regente

Property: Hotel HCC Regente
Address: Rambla de Catalunya 76, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#180 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel HCC Regente 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel occupies a modernist building constructed in 1913 and given the name "Casa Evarist Juncosa". The building retains its original facade and modernist elements, which include the colourful glass and the wrought iron work. Hotel HCC Regente completely renovated in 2012, is located on one of the main streets in the city centre, Rambla Catalunya, in Barcelona's historical, business and shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel HCC Regente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hcc Regente Barcelona
Hcc Regente Hotel
Hotel HCC Regente Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing