We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive , very good location, small rooms”
Review of Hotel HCC Regente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel HCC Regente
Ranked #254 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive , very good location, small rooms”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The most negative characteristic of this hotel is that you don't have the possibility to choose your room.There are rooms that are at the fifth floor with balcony and nice view and rooms facing a white wall. But you pay the same (high) price .
Another strange thing is that the lavatory pan in some rooms is so close to the wash basin that it's impossible to sit comfortably ! Unbelievable!
Anyway the personnel is very helpful all the time .Location is perfect close to metro station and the whole area looks safe. Breakfast is rather poor.
In conclusion is a 3,5 rather than a 4 stars hotel

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elenisavvopoulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    268
    85
    25
    11
See reviews for
109
232
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We chose this hotel partly because of the mention that it was an Art Nouveau building, which we thought would have some character. Unfortunately it did not. Apart from a few stained glass windows dotted around, there was nothing interesting about the hotel. The decor in the hotel generally was bland and, after looking through the door we didn't even go into the bar.
The bedroom on the 7th floor, although having a view towards the mountains, was quite small and very average. The ceiling needed painting and the whole room could have done with some redecoration. The bathroom was adequate and clean, although the towels were often very thin, and I discarded a number daily in an effort to find some better ones, something I don't normally like to do.
There was wi-fi in the bedroom but the code had to be renewed every two days. Trying to use it early in the morning sometimes required me to dress and go to reception for a new code and password. Perhaps another system could be devised so that guests had access to the internet for the duration of their stay, without having to keep renewing.
The good thing about this hotel was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, who answered all our questions knowledgably and tried their best to help, even though there seemed to be a lack of staff in the dining room at times. Our overall impression was that the management were trying to save money, to the detriment of the guests.
from GKA

Room Tip: Do your homework - do not always believe the blurb on the website. Is it near the main part of town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I'm writing this review sitting in Room 401 on our first night here. On a 10-day trip in Spain with the last 2 days in Barcelona, we picked this hotel because of the location and the generally positive reviews posted here. And thus far our experience has been nothing but TERRIBLE. We checked in at 8 PM and got what is probably *the worst* room in the hotel - Room 401.

1) The room overlooks an elevator shaft or some other shaft on the interior of the building, which probably has a drain opening somewhere. The view from our room consists of a bare wall with metal pipes and the stench of a dead otter. (Another review has specifically commented on this room as well). Fine, I can understand that not each room will have a view, and we're willing to settle on this.

2) The AC does not work, and the room feels like the inside of a marathon runner's shoe. Being a Sunday, the staff refuses to do anything except call the service engineer tomorrow. When I asked "what about tonight? How do we sleep in this heat?", the response was - "Well, it's not like this is summer. The weather is good outside. You can sleep".
Yes, I would even be willing to sleep with the windows open if that damn shaft didn't stink like a dead otter.

3) The electronic lock on the main door malfunctioned, locking us out for 30 minutes. The receptionist called the security guard, who was generally helpful and let us in, but again "We will call the service engineer tomorrow".

Yes, this is all in the first 4 hours of being in this hotel. I don't know what else to look forward to.

DEFINITELY never staying here again.

Room Tip: If you book this hotel, INSIST on a balcony room, and do not accept any room facing the interior of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
076, Gerente at Hotel HCC Regente, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Sir,

I´m really very sorry for the problems we might caused during your stay in our hotel.

When you checked in ,you had an interior room. We don´t know our guest preferences unless they inform us before arrival . Unfortunately the day you arrived was fully booked and it was late so it was impossible change your room. Our staff inform you the day after would be possible change room. The day after you had a room facing La Rambla as you prefered.

The electronic lock on the main door malfunctioned so we open your door and to avoid inconveniences, because it was more than 23.00 h. our staff inform we would check the day after.

Our front desk manager was speaking with you the day after in order to apology about the inconveniences about the electronic lock and inform about your new room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Well presented hotel in good location. The staff were friendly and helpful, and, on the desk, English speaking. (In fact, throughout the city we found restaurant staff etc. to be very amiable in dealing with non-Spanish speaking Brits.) We were given rooms opening on to the internal shaft, but put up with it for the sake of the absence of noise. Apart from someone banging about for a short period one night, it was peaceful even with the window open. The aircon was fairly unobtrusive at low level, and the temperature comfortable despite the warmth outside (even in October). The rooms and bathrooms were clean, of decent size and comfortable. We had an Airmiles 3 nights for 2 deal with breakfast thrown in, so it all seemed pretty good value: the breakfast was very good with lots of choice. One minor quibble: the coffee came out in jugs with just a flap on top and lost heat quickly, so if you want your coffee really hot, pounce on a fresh jug.

The terrace bar and pool (which is tiny) were closed, but it was worth making our way up to the roof for a look at the views. And there was a vending machine if you are desperate for a soft drink.

There are plenty of eating places in the centre strip of the Ramblas within staggering distance of the hotel, and we tried one out one evening when too tired and hungry to go further. It was expensive and, to be kind, mediocre; perhaps we were just unlucky. We did much better in the Gothic Quarter with two higher quality and cheaper dinners and a good tapas lunch at three separate places. But it's a bit of a walk from the hotel, and you may find yourself wandering round a maze of medieval streets at night.

We found the the Gaudi "temple" wonderful, including a slightly scary descent from a tower by foot (you can take the lift). But, my dear, the noise and the people! I gather that you can avoid the coach parties by arriving early, but with us that was never going to happen.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have stayed here now about three times in all. The only issue I have is that when booking, we always ask for a balcony and they always say they cannot guarantee one which, of course, is ridiculous. But, we have always had one. The first time we booked the top floor with the huge terrace which had views of the Pedrera. Barcelona, like any other Spanish city, is noisy but the Regente is located a bit further up the Rambla and consequently a bit quieter. Especially as you go higher up the building. We love sitting on the balcony, glass of wine in hand and watching everybody underneath. I had bad food posioning the last time we stayed - not from the hotel, I hasten to add, and I spent the whole day in bed. The staff were really helpful and bought me water, when I asked for it. Give it a go; it really is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Do insist on a balcony and try to get a room on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goonergirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great 4 Star Hotel VERY centrally located at say 150 Metres from The Ramblas, so ideal for city centre sights, metro for further afield and smack bang in the middle of all the shops. Despite this, it feels very quiet. Beautiful stained glass windows all over the place. Rooms are very good if now dating slightly. Mini Bar, Safe etc etc. Breakfast Buffet EXCELLENT QUALITY & VALUE if included in your rate, quite expensive if it is not in which case you should dine out. As with most Spanish hotels no TCMF which drives me bonkers as I need coffee upon waking, but the Regente is not alone in not providing these. The hotel has a roof terrace with Bar/Dining and a Pool. Lets be honest here. It's more a plunge pool at say 3 metres long but great to cool off if it gets too hot for you. The terrace is a bit silly. White garden furniture and astroturf BUT it opens 11 to 11, the staff are super friendly and helpful. Great for a ciggy if you smoke and don't fancy the street. Price of a Gin and Tonic is beyond mad at a shade over 10 Euro. Overall this is a great Hotel, well located, great staff, clean, safe and with a great breakfast buffet. I will definitely stay there again if I can get the price right. Aim for 80 to 90 Euro per night for a single with breakfast and 90/100 for a double with breakfast and I guarantee that you will feel like you got yourself a great deal. A very pleasant experience indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony overlooking the Rambla.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyonantrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was our second trip to Barcelona and the Hotel Regente. If you are looking for a value for money hotel in an excellent location, with friendly, courteous staff, then the Regente will be hard to beat. This is not a 'boutique' hotel, but it is clean, the rooms are comfortable, and the free wifi and the rooftop pool and sundeck is a bonus (especially welcome after a busy day of sightseeing). The first time we stayed at the hotel we were given a room at the back of the hotel with a view of the lift shaft - this time we asked for a room at the front - overlooking the Rambla and were really pleased that our request was granted, it made a big difference to our stay. We will certainly visit Barcelona again - (it is a fantastic city) and will happily stay at the Regente. Our booking was made through airmiles and included breakfast - if I was going to book the hotel direct I think a room only option would be the best value for money choice as there are so many excellent bars and cafes serving breakfast within a short stroll from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view. Better still request a balcony - although these do get booked quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
HCC St. Moritz
HCC St. Moritz
#260 of 513 in Barcelona
489 reviews
Eixample
HCC Taber
HCC Taber
#285 of 513 in Barcelona
486 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
HCC Montblanc
HCC Montblanc
#226 of 513 in Barcelona
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#126 of 513 in Barcelona
1,172 reviews
Eixample
Hotel America Barcelona
Hotel America Barcelona
#235 of 513 in Barcelona
162 reviews
Eixample
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel HCC Regente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel HCC Regente

Property: Hotel HCC Regente
Address: Rambla de Catalunya 76, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#180 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel HCC Regente 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel occupies a modernist building constructed in 1913 and given the name "Casa Evarist Juncosa". The building retains its original facade and modernist elements, which include the colourful glass and the wrought iron work. Hotel HCC Regente completely renovated in 2012, is located on one of the main streets in the city centre, Rambla Catalunya, in Barcelona's historical, business and shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel HCC Regente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hcc Regente Barcelona
Hcc Regente Hotel
Hotel HCC Regente Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing