We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend! As 2 Females, we were wary of young asian men on street.”
Review of Abba Rambla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abba Rambla Hotel
Ranked #269 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were initially disappointed that our room was not ready at time of check in and the lady behind the desk was not at welcoming as comparison to precious experiences.

We had clearly stated that we would like a non-smoking room so were again, disappointed to be located on a fully smoking floor.

Regardless, staff became friendly and were happy to look after out bags after check out due to a late evening flight. This was much appreciated.

It is fair to say that everyone's experiences of the location are different. Rambla de Raval is a lovely local square (rectangle) with a choice of bars. Being 2 females, we were wary of the young male Asian community to the right of the hotel and chose to walk down the middle pedestrian area for safety & comfort. No problems with Carrer lHopital, it's as busy with locals as the rest of Barcelona so just be as careful throughout your travels.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Brycie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Abba Rambla Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 413 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our final leg of our Spanish honeymoon. While the reviews cautioned that this was in a more dangerous neighborhood, we found it to be lively and delightful. It was nice not staying directly on Las Ramblas, as the commotion there could get to be a bit much. We were a quick walk from Las Ramblas (less than ten minutes) and to a few metro stations as well.

They did offer a continental breakfast, but at 12 euros or so, we never made that our breakfast place.

There is a cute cafe next door for an affordable breakfast and a cafe con leche. We dined there each morning for about 5 euros per person. There are also many other little restaurants nearby that were quite good within a 5 minute walk. We appreciated that so we could avoid the tourist traps on Las Ramblas serving overpriced mediocre food.

Prices were fair for the space. I think we paid approximately 125 USD each night for our room, which was pretty reasonable. The hotel was modern and clean. The rooms were comfortable and spacious for European hotel standards with newer bathrooms. Wifi was free. My only gripe was that for each time you wanted to log on, you had to be in the lobby and get a password. While I appreciated not having to incur an additional fee for this service, the passwords often didn't work, leading us to not have internet access. There is a desktop computer in the lobby for guest use, which is convenient.

All in all, I'd stay here again. I can see why some might find the location a bit seedy, but I appreciated the fact that we glimpsed many vibrant cultures that make up the truly European city of Barcelona. Be cautious, and take a taxi if you don't feel comfortable. That being said, we didn't use taxis, aside from to get to the airport the morning we left. The hotel was kind enough to call us one that morning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ajzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Excellent location in the Raval del Ramblas, about 8 mins. comfortable walk to Las Ramblas - and don't worry about "hospital road" as it appeared to us quite safe, very busy with all sorts of shops and cafes open until v.late and people about their business. Latest we walked down was around midnight and not a hint of trouble - certainly no drug dealing or hookers.
Hotel was comfortable with helpful English speaking staff and a good breakfast buffet. Lots of toiletries and extras in bathroom, wine glasses and tumblers in room and mini fridge (which we emptied a bit so we could squeeze in bottle of wine).
We discovered that if you walk straight down the square Raval del Ramblas, more of a rectangle really), away from hospital road end, you can get to the Marina much quicker than going to Las Ramblas and then walking down to the water.
Raval del Ramblas is v.nice square, full of palm trees with green parakeets flitting about, lots of benches (one evening a little animated film was being shown to a small audience). The Restaurant Kapodokya serves v.good and excellent value sis kebab, doner, etc. etc. Tastes really fresh. Don't bother with La Fragua, rubbish tapas and meals. In fact sad to say we didn't find any decent tapas anywhere, not to say they don't exist.
The "St.Joseph" Market just up the road in Las Ramblas is wonderful and stays open in the evening. We found little "bar" serving fino sherry at 2 euros (and plate of Serrano ham for 4 E)
Would also recommend visit to Palau Guell, one of Gaudi's buildings, which is v.close by and not at all crowded (unlike Sagrada Familia, where we gave up on idea of queuing). The Palau Guell is abs.stunning inside.
Its. v.short walk, other side of Las Ramblas, to the gothic quarter, where there are lots of shops and restaurants. We had really good 3-course lunch with wine and bread for 12.5E, opposite an art gallery but unfort. can't remember restaurant's name.
Boat trip around harbour and coastline, 1.5 hrs, worth doing although sadly no commentary.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We got in the hotel around 4pm, and a lot of business is closed from 4-8pm in Barcelona. Since there's graffiti everywhere in Barcelona, the street seemed a little scary during that time. Plus before booking the hotel, I read some reviews about the Hospital street next to the hotel, we were a little bit worried about the safety. Well, as it turned out, it was as safe as any streets in Barcelona, at least when we were there, there was no sign of danger at all. The streets came to life at night and when we got back to the hotel, the street was hustling bustling and all our worries were totally gone. :)

The room was very nice and modern and clean. The staff was so helpful with everything. They speak great English. We took their recommendations to some of the restaurants and they turned out to be great. We rented bikes while visiting, they were very nice to accommodate parking our bikes in the hotel overnight.

Overall, great experience with the hotel. Definitely recommended!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank daisyyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The hotel location was great, near enough to La Rambla without getting the noise, close enough to the Marina and plenty of cafes and bars on the doorstep. The hotel itself is very clean, the rooms were great and the staff were helpful. I went for a short break with the girls and we visited La Sagrada Familiar, Guell Parc, Casa Batllo, Fountains of Mont Juic and rode both routes of the city tour busses so that we saw the Olympic Stadium, Barcelona Football Stadium, the beach and all the other famous attractions. There really is so much to see in Barcelona! I would definitely return to Barcelona as we didn't get enough time there to see everything and I wouldn't hesitate in booking the Abba Rambla as my accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dairymilkYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Rooms- Fantastic!!! Clean, comfortable, clean.
Staff- Friendly, helpful and could speak english
Location- Just off Ramblas- which is great!!! But the 5 min walk to Ramblas is through a street with hookers and looked unsafe.

If you are in a bigger group with guys- the hotel is recommended. I wouldnt suggest just girls to be there by themselves.

Room Tip: there are tiny balconies with rooms facing the hotel front
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnishaIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed overnight. Very friendly helpful staff whatever their job. All were attentive and professional. The room was simple and very clean. We appreciated the in room safe.
The underground car park was very hard to negociate but with care it was fine for our stay. Why do people have to be so inconsiderate and park badly thus makng the next space unusable. The staff should call them and ask them to park properly.
The location was good although I would say that there is a seedy area nearby and not to walk that way at night.

A varied continental breakfast completed our most enjoyable stay.
I would certainly look to the Abba chain again. This is our second experience and I really don't think it is worth looking at a higher grade hotel if there is an Abba in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Niu Barcelona Hotel
Niu Barcelona Hotel
#361 of 513 in Barcelona
14 reviews
El Raval
NH Barcelona Ramblas
NH Barcelona Ramblas
#133 of 513 in Barcelona
1,186 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
#393 of 513 in Barcelona
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Auto Hogar
Hotel Auto Hogar
#285 of 513 in Barcelona
1,543 reviews
El Raval
Leonardo Hotel Barcelona Las Ramblas
El Raval
Alba Hotel 3
Alba Hotel 3
#458 of 513 in Barcelona
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abba Rambla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abba Rambla Hotel

Address: Rambla del Raval, 4C, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $93 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abba Rambla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abba Rambla Hotel is set in the Raval District, 500 metres from Las Ramblas and Liceu Metro Station. It offers free Wi-Fi and a sun terrace. The modern, air-conditioned rooms at Abba Rambla feature satellite TV, a safe and minibar. The private bathroom comes with a hairdryer and amenities. Some rooms have a balcony with views. There is a café-bar, where guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast. Room service and a pizza delivery option are available. There is a 24-hour reception, and you can hire a bicycle or car from the tour desk. Parking can be reserved near the hotel for an additional charge. Attractions including La Boqueria Market and the MACBA Museum are 5 minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Abba Rambla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Abba Rambla
Abba Rambla Barcelona
Abba Rambla Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing