We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific city hotel with fabulous breakfast buffet!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catalonia Eixample 1864
Ranked #213 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
chicago
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrific city hotel with fabulous breakfast buffet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at this wonderful hotel for one week while touring Barcelona and was very pleased
with quality of service and location! Centrally located, this hotel offers easy access to public transportation. Very comfortable and surprised with bountiful breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traviscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for the time you spent writting this comments in Trip Advisor. My staff and me are so proud of it and of course, we look forward to welcoming you soon in Catalonia Berna. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    327
    124
    43
    36
See reviews for
124
285
60
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Good location and centrally located in Barcelona. You can walk to many attractions from here. It is farther from the beach. Breakfast very good in the morning. The rooms are a decent size for Europe. Bathrooms are on the small side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoertli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments about our Hotel. I am so proud of. I will pass them through all my staff , which will be more than pleased to welcoming you again here. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We just came back from spending 3 nights in Barcelona and stayed at the Catalonia Berna Hotel. I can't say enough good things about the staff (both reception and dining room), They were very friendly and helpful with all of our questions.
The room was just fine Everything you need for a city holiday. For the toiletries bath gel and shampoo are in one and there is no body lotion, so keep that in mind if you prefer them separate or like to use body lotion.
The breakfast was more than fine. Everything you could need from a breakfast and then some extra. There was also a chef making fresh omelets.
The location of the hotel is really convenient if you, like ourselves, plan to go and see several different parts of the city. Metro is close and convenient, but there are plenty of things to do nearby that are walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments about our Hotel. It is a great pleasure for us knowing that we satisfy your expectations. We wait for you on your next visits to Barcelona. Ypu will be more than welcome.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mevaseret Zion, Israel
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

A nice hotel, 10 minutes walk from Catalonia square.
Rooms are little small, and in the morning you hear the staff carts in the corridors.
The reception and the bellboy were nice and very helpful. Breakfast meets the ends, good coffee.
It was what we needed for our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mn8364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for the time you spent writting about us. We are so pleased with. We would like to see you soon in our Hotel, and in the city of Barcelona. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel with a nice service, small rooms but ok. It is not a 4 Star hotel but a nice max 3 Star from my point og view. The restaurant is very poor with bad service, we didn't get what we ordered and the waiter was rude about it... Breakfast buffet was perfect.....

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Solvej1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for the time you spent writting our comments about our hotel. It has a great value for my staff and me. Of course, I will pass throuhg my F&B department your note with the bad experience in the restaurant, in order to improve in the future. Do not hesitate to contact us in your next visits. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Catalonia Berna hotel for a recent business trip, extended with a night for pleasure/sight seeing the following day for convenience.

The hotel is of a modest size and is comfortable. Not the best I have stayed in but certainly not the worst, and for business use I would stay again.

The hotel is well located, central, with easy on foot access to most of the main sightseeing attractions and shopping areas and good metro link access. It is very near to our Spanish office hence using for business trips.

The staff are friendly and have a good knowledge of English.

When I stayed here the hotel was fully booked and unfortunately this meant that the option of an early check in / late check out was no available which was disappointing.

The only compliant I would have is the lack of organisation at breakfast. With the hit so busy they seemed very ill prepared for guests. Lack of seating for the number of people meant long queues at breakfast for a table and when you finally got seated there was a long delay for drinks due to insufficient cups and a broken coffee machine. The service was not great in the breakfast area either. Once you were luck enough to be seated the restaurant did boast a good variety of morning food and the chefs egg white omelette was a knock-out! Good selection of food and fresh too so no complaints there.

The rooms are well kept and comfortable although you cannot sleep with the windows open if you are sensitive to traffic noise. Best to keep them closed and use the air con. One niggle with the room was the lack of proper pillows. 1 per person and not a standard size/shape they were also hard.

A nice set of toiletries are in the room and are replenished daily. The minibar is also well stocked - and the bonus...it even has haribo!

On the nights I was working after venturing out for dinner an earlyish night in the room was made easier to stomach as I could understand the tv - a good choice of channels in both Spanish and international languages.

All in all the hotel is ok if you are only after somewhere to rest your head at the end of the day one especially if you want somewhere quite central. Anyone wanting luxury or who plans to spent a significant amount of time in the hotel/room may wish to look elsewhere.

Top tip : make sure you get down to breakfast early ahead if the queues if the hotel is booked full.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kitty_katt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments about our Hotel. It helps to other travellers, and also your experience is the best quality barometer that we have. Sure, your comments will help us to improve many aspects of our service. Thank you so much and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Business in Barcelona, booked this hotel via the agency. 10 minutes walking to the main plaza and 30 minutes to the beach. I had a few nice warm late summer days, I even took a swim in the ocean. Wonderful architecture (go Gaudi, go!), great shopping, gazillions of tapas bars and restaurants and a cozy old town.
The hotel was a little disappointing. My room had no view at all and the sound insulation to the corridor was poor. The breakfast buffet was decent but not up to par for a 4 star hotel. There is no swimming pool or spa in the hotel, but you have free access to swimming pools at two hotels 10 and 15 minutes walk away. The hotel bar staff was extraordinary whimsy, forgetting orders, mixing tabs and overall not very friendly. In contrast, the desk staff and breakfast staff was always helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for all the time you spent writing about our Hotel in Trip Advisor. Your comments help us to improve in our services every day, so is a great present receive this kind of feedback. I would like you give us the opportunity to show you again we are worthy of your trust. You will be more than welcome. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
#257 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#239 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#49 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
HCC St. Moritz
HCC St. Moritz
#269 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#84 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Eixample 1864? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Eixample 1864

Property: Catalonia Eixample 1864
Address: Roger de Lluria 60, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Berna Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#150 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Eixample 1864 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Eixample1864 is located in the heart of Barcelona, close to Passeig de Gracia and only a few minutes away from Plaza Catalunya and the city's old quarter. The hotel is situated in one of the first residential buildings built in Barcelona's Eixample district by Catalan architect Josep Cerda. Built in 1864 in an eclectic style of classical inspiration, it has been classified as a historic monument. The hotel is furnished in a modern and elegant style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Eixample 1864 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Berna Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Berna
Catalonia Eixample 1864 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing