We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but maybe not a 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Eixample 1864
Ranked #208 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but maybe not a 4 star”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Business in Barcelona, booked this hotel via the agency. 10 minutes walking to the main plaza and 30 minutes to the beach. I had a few nice warm late summer days, I even took a swim in the ocean. Wonderful architecture (go Gaudi, go!), great shopping, gazillions of tapas bars and restaurants and a cozy old town.
The hotel was a little disappointing. My room had no view at all and the sound insulation to the corridor was poor. The breakfast buffet was decent but not up to par for a 4 star hotel. There is no swimming pool or spa in the hotel, but you have free access to swimming pools at two hotels 10 and 15 minutes walk away. The hotel bar staff was extraordinary whimsy, forgetting orders, mixing tabs and overall not very friendly. In contrast, the desk staff and breakfast staff was always helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for all the time you spent writing about our Hotel in Trip Advisor. Your comments help us to improve in our services every day, so is a great present receive this kind of feedback. I would like you give us the opportunity to show you again we are worthy of your trust. You will be more than welcome. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    365
    132
    48
    36
See reviews for
134
315
67
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Claims but does not deserve 4 stars. Wi-fi weak & undependable. Breakfast room chaotic, with tables & chairs sticky. They ran out of coffee cups two days in a row. Rooms cramped & poorly maintained. Lamp loose on the wall in our room, and hand rail dirty. In friend's room, drapes dirty & hanging off their track. Door lock of another friend's room didn't work until repaired after 2 days of complaining.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leonirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments. I regret much that you live certain experiences in our hotel because nothing is further from our goal. Do not hesitate to call us for future visits and we will be happy to assist you again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Two unpleasant gestures:

-First night: very uncomfortable pilot, to the liking of me. I asked for another one, but without any success.
- I lost my sunglasses at room (404). I called twice to recover them before leave Barcelona. 2 days after, when I was at Madrid, they called back me to tell that I could go to the hotel (or send anybody) to recover them. They don´t send anything anywhere, not even charging back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OscarHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much to send us your experience, it has a great value for us, in order to improve every day. I do not understand when you write about the pilot, maybe was the light of the smoke security detector switched on. I take note of all your experience and do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. Thank you very much for the time you spent writting. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Exactly as Tomer wrote before, the hotel has great location, walking distance for everyrhing you need.
the breakfest was very good with wide variety altough there weren't enough vegetables.
the rooms were very clean (little bit small) and quite.
in over all very recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sasmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for all the time you spent writting all this comments in Trip Advisor. My staff will be so pleased to know it. We are so proud you liked our Hotel. Do not hesitate to contact us in the next visits to Barcelona and we will be more than pleased to receive you again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

-very Close to train station to get out of barcelona
-very close to paseo de gracia metro station.
- walikng distance to the Rambla
- very close to bus stations :24&150
- very close to excellent restaurants.
- very good service, clean.
- need to improve - instructions from front desk for how to get to specific locations...dont count on these guys, google is much better.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tomer W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,
we are so pleased with your comments in Trip Advisor, it helps other travelers and also our staff which will be more than pleased to know they satisfy your expectations. For the information desk we take note to improve it. Thank you so much. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel was exceptionally quiet , esp as we had a room with a view over the street, double glazed doors , that we could open and embrace the city, The location was awesome only 3 blocks from the main street , and attractions. Safe to walk home to. Only complaint and its not really a complaint but we arrived at 1430hrs , to be told room wasn't ready, however a phone call to house keeping and we were checked iin very quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for all the time you spent writing this comments. The travelers point of view is so important for us in order to improve our service. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

ideal location and a practical choice for business travel to city centre. felt safe for women travellers. hassle free, good selection of restaurants within walking distance. not run of the mill chain, but a little character and a bit dated (not jarringly). would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments about our Hotel. We are so pleased we could satisfy your expectations. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future for new reservations, you will be more than welcome in our hotel. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
#294 of 512 in Barcelona
513 reviews
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#198 of 512 in Barcelona
524 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#88 of 512 in Barcelona
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#45 of 512 in Barcelona
1,602 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#71 of 512 in Barcelona
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Eixample 1864? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Eixample 1864

Property: Catalonia Eixample 1864
Address: Roger de Lluria 60, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Berna Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#150 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Eixample 1864 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Eixample1864 is located in the heart of Barcelona, close to Passeig de Gracia and only a few minutes away from Plaza Catalunya and the city's old quarter. The hotel is situated in one of the first residential buildings built in Barcelona's Eixample district by Catalan architect Josep Cerda. Built in 1864 in an eclectic style of classical inspiration, it has been classified as a historic monument. The hotel is furnished in a modern and elegant style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Eixample 1864 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Berna Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Berna
Catalonia Eixample 1864 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing