We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Queit, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Eixample 1864
Ranked #214 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Queit, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel was exceptionally quiet , esp as we had a room with a view over the street, double glazed doors , that we could open and embrace the city, The location was awesome only 3 blocks from the main street , and attractions. Safe to walk home to. Only complaint and its not really a complaint but we arrived at 1430hrs , to be told room wasn't ready, however a phone call to house keeping and we were checked iin very quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for all the time you spent writing this comments. The travelers point of view is so important for us in order to improve our service. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    326
    124
    43
    36
See reviews for
124
285
60
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

ideal location and a practical choice for business travel to city centre. felt safe for women travellers. hassle free, good selection of restaurants within walking distance. not run of the mill chain, but a little character and a bit dated (not jarringly). would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments about our Hotel. We are so pleased we could satisfy your expectations. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future for new reservations, you will be more than welcome in our hotel. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

i have been there on this summer where i found the location of the hotel is quite and safe. it is closed to the attractions.staff are friendly, polite and helpful.restaurant is clean and well organized
my family enjoy to stay in that hotel and it recommended to family trips

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Ahmedreyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments in Trip Advisor. I am so proud we satisfied your expectations. I pass your comments through all the departments you mentioned above. They will be so glad to receive it. Do not hesitate to contact us if you visit Barcelona again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I was here a lot of time and was pretty good.
Location is very good to walk and safe.
The hotel is perfect for visit the city, close to all attractions.

It's not five stars but it's very good for low budget.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaMariaMacovei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks for the time you spent writting this comments in Trip Advisor. It helps to new travellers and also to our staff, which will be so proud of it. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future. Kind regards from Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

we are here (at the moment) for 7 nights.
for the last 2 days we keep asking for somebody to come and fix a broken toilet seat (the cleaning staff broke it while cleaning) - the answer is always the same - "i am sending someone to fix it" - but nothing! we are using a broken toilet seat for 3 days now!
the cleaning staff keep throwing away our used hand soap - but dont give us a new one! even after i asked him for a new soap - nothing. no soap.

the location is good, the rooms are crowded, not ment for staying at the hotel. the cleaning staff make way to much noise from early morning.
the internet connection is really slow.

maybe if the treatment was better my review was better - it means that much when you give service to people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much to inform us about your experience. Under your nickname I do not know if you are till in the hotel. Please if you are in, I would like to give you personally my apologizes. Of course, we will arrange it with the Housekeeping department and the Maintenance service.
I am so sorry about this inconveniences, but please, let me show you that we deserve
your confidence. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
377 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had quite small room in the second floor. Cleaning staff kept noise early in the morning.
Hotel room was clean and staff was very helpful. The opposite of the main door was nice small cafe with very good pastries and sandwiches, coffees and teas.
Hotel was good enough to go again, but nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eero N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for all the time you spent writting all this comments. This is the best quality barometer that we have, it has a great value for us. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future, you will be more than welcome here. Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights last week . Before leaving for my trip I had read some great reviews so I thought that the hotel would be great . Unfortunately I was a bit disappointed as I'd expected more from a 4star hotel . The lobby was very small and the Nespresso bar almost in the same area . My room was clean of course , but if you want to be a good 4star you need to spend more money and more often on decoration . The breakfast was below average and if it hadn't been included I wouldn't have spent 16 euro for it. The location was very good, near to Av. de Gracia and Plaza Catalunya. I think it's very expensive for what you get .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments about our Hotel, I am more than pleased with, because it helps us to improve . We love the constructive and positive opinions which help us to become every day better. Thank you very much. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
#256 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#253 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#49 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
HCC St. Moritz
HCC St. Moritz
#273 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#84 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Eixample 1864? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Eixample 1864

Property: Catalonia Eixample 1864
Address: Roger de Lluria 60, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Berna Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#150 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Eixample 1864 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Eixample1864 is located in the heart of Barcelona, close to Passeig de Gracia and only a few minutes away from Plaza Catalunya and the city's old quarter. The hotel is situated in one of the first residential buildings built in Barcelona's Eixample district by Catalan architect Josep Cerda. Built in 1864 in an eclectic style of classical inspiration, it has been classified as a historic monument. The hotel is furnished in a modern and elegant style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Eixample 1864 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Berna Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Berna
Catalonia Eixample 1864 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing