We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Eixample 1864
Ranked #205 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Nice clean hotel in a great location, about 10 mins,walk to cataluyna square. Very central, you can catch metro from catluyna sqare to all the main attractions in the city.
Rooms standard for large european cities, well maintained,clean.best rooms on inside, not on the road side, no airconditioning in the winter months, including march, not very cold so you must open the window for air,so best to get a room on the inside, no noise from the road
Breakfast very good andservice is great and very friendly. It is a small hotel, so no overcrowding.
All the staff speak good english. I recommend this hotel. Great features for central hotel in a very big and popular city.

Room Tip: Room on the inside not facing main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackbuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malamany, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for writing in Trip Advisor. It helps to my staff and also to new travellers who wants to reserve in our hotel. We are so pleased with your comments. Thank you very much. Do not hesitate to contact us if you visit the city again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    372
    134
    51
    36
See reviews for
138
325
70
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was recommended this hotel by a local. It is clean and the rooms are spacious and well equipped. I can't comment on location as I am here for business but other comments indicate it is well positioned for a tourist.
Breakfast was excellent, plentiful buffet with a good selection of hot and cold food.

Only downsides for the business traveller are;

Internet access while free is extremely slow. I peaked at 15 kb/s which is slower than dial up speed.

Also I had travelled for 29 hours from New Zealand to arrive just about midnight. They put me in a smoking room, which I was too tired to change until the next day. I asked for an iron and ironing board. This was a major problem. Apparently a previous guest had ironed on the bed and almost burnt the hotel down, so no irons were available.

This just doesn’t work for a business traveller. Apparently they have not heard of ironing boards here. All other hotels I stay in, budget to expensive manage to supply an iron and ironing board, but note here. Ironing board exporters, Spain could be a completely undeveloped market as they have not heard of them here.

So reasonable hotel let down by lack of minor amenities a business traveller takes for granted.

Room Tip: Try for an interior room as the road noise can be loud, even with double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonBunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malamany, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments in Trip Advisor. It has a great value for me. I am really pleased and I take note about your suggestion with the iron boards. In fact, for the moment we have not a good experience with the iron in the rooms. Please, contact us for your next times in Barcelona and we will show you we are worthy of your confidence. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

The location, half way between plaza Catalunya and Sagrada Familia, couldn't be better. The staff is very helpful and speak good English. Breakfast is delicious, fresh and abundant. The hotel is neatly maintained, clean and worm. I asked for an inner room, facing a patio, and it was quiet like a tomb. It was a little bit too warm, but I opened the window and problem solved. I'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank David__Haifa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
malamany, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments about Catalonia Berna in Trip Advisor. It helps new travellers know better our staff and services. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future. You will be more than welcome. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

In February 2012, I (in my late twenties) stayed at Hotel Catalonia Berna for two nights during a business/leisure trip. Hotel Cataloia Berna is located in the Eixample quarter, only a 15-minutes walk from both Sagrada Familia and Las Ramblas. My room (503) was quite spacious with a nice bathroom. Everything was clean.

A negative thing about the room was the fact that the only window in the room opened to an inner courtyard – and other hotel guests would be able to look directly into the room, if the curtains weren’t closed. Also, according to a hotel employee, the temperature in the room was at constant 24 degrees and couldn’t be changed which was quite uncomfortable. Last but not least, the walls were very thin and you could hear everything that was said in the neighboring rooms.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful: I was even led to my room, where an employee explained the air conditioning, minibar, etc. Breakfast was great with various things to choose from – and a cook would prepare fresh omelets, too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_us_worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malamany, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments in Trip Advisor. As you explain, we have rooms placed to a courtyard and placed to the street views but all of them have positive aspects. The rooms placed inside are more calm and a lot of travellers request this kind of room. But please, do not hesitate to contact us in the future if you visit the city and request us an exterior room if you prefer street views. We will be more than pleased you come back to our Hotel. Thank you very much. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I cannot say enough about this hotel. It is located close to the center of the City, it is clean, and the exterior is beautiful. The best thing about it is the super friendly staff. I want to mention specific people that made our stay great. Sintu, Diego, Berta, and other front desk staff were always professional, helpful, attentive, and spoke excellent English. The housekeeping staff was friendly. The people who work here love their jobs and that makes a difference.

My only advice is to try to get an Exterior room. Yes, it is more noisy, but the natural light is better. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Request and exterior room, non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastieSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malamany, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments in Trip Advisor. We are so pleased with. It is the best quality barometer: receive our guests opinion!!! Do not hesitate to contact us if you come back to Barcelona. We will so pleased to assist you. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We'd been in Spain for nearly 3 weeks when we arrived from Madrid by train. The hotel had been recommended by friends and the Catalonia Berna turned out to be our favorite! What a nice surprise. From the moment we arrived, the reception clerk took special interest in what we wanted to do while visiting Barcelona and told us -- in perfect English -- more than we could have hoped for. We upgraded to a balcony room and are glad that we did. The extra room and views of the neighborhood were a delight. A new "Nespresso Bar" had been added several weeks before our arrival, and what an added benefit it turned out to be. The barman (we called him "Elvis") provided great service (in fluent English) for coffees, snacks, light dinners and good advice. He went out of his way to provide little extras (like ice in a plastic bag when my roommate injured her wrist). The room was spotless and well appointed. The WiFi free -- it drives me crazy when hotels nickel and dime their guests with extra charges for the service. One hotel charged 18 Euro per night for WiFi so when the Catalonia said it was free, we were thrilled. The breakfast was excellent and served early enough to be helpful. The food was fresh with great variety and good flavor. A chef was willing to make omeletes to order at no extra charge. This hotel is well located, close to the sights and easy to get to the Metro. The staff are very willing to explain how to get to various points of interest and will provide excellent instructions for the metro or walking. We will definitely return and will sing their praises in the mean time!!! Excellent pricing too!

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony, it makes the room seem so much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Califia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malamany, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for the time you spent writting your experience on Trip Advisor. We are more than pleased with and we hope you visit the city soon and you come back to Catalonia Berna Hotel. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stay in too many hotels, and I still look forward to this one. Good service with no fuss.

The hotel is modern and very clean. The rooms are spacious and quiet with efficient double glazing, so outside noise is not a problem as it can be in many city centre hotels.

The restaurant is good but not excellent, but there are many other choices nearby.

I am bothering to write a review because the experience that I have had there on all three visits has been consistently excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace room on the top floor - not an expensive option off peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kftgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malamany, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments. I am so pleased for the time you spent writting great things about my staff work. They make it possible, they cover your expectations and when they receive this information will be more than glad. Thank you very much and do not hesitate to contact us in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
#293 of 513 in Barcelona
521 reviews
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#210 of 513 in Barcelona
537 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#87 of 513 in Barcelona
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
339 reviews
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#147 of 513 in Barcelona
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Eixample 1864? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Eixample 1864

Property: Catalonia Eixample 1864
Address: Roger de Lluria 60, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Berna Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#150 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Eixample 1864 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Eixample1864 is located in the heart of Barcelona, close to Passeig de Gracia and only a few minutes away from Plaza Catalunya and the city's old quarter. The hotel is situated in one of the first residential buildings built in Barcelona's Eixample district by Catalan architect Josep Cerda. Built in 1864 in an eclectic style of classical inspiration, it has been classified as a historic monument. The hotel is furnished in a modern and elegant style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Eixample 1864 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Berna Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Berna
Catalonia Eixample 1864 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing