We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, big rooms, great service - stay here!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Eixample 1864

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Catalonia Eixample 1864
Ranked #217 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, big rooms, great service - stay here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We lucked into staying here when our planned reservation at a nearby hotel was not up to standards.

We were greeted by a very warm and pleasant staff, who offered to show us 2 rooms before we booked. We only needed to see one!

Large rooms with two single beds together makes for a good sized, firm and comfy bed.

Large bathroom with great counter space. Generous toiletries. A full tub and standup shower.

One problem: the nozzle doesn't clamp well and fell when the water pressure was high. So we had to hold the nozzle I hand to shower.

Internet access free and decent strength. But annoying to have to log into a web page every time to gain access.

Plenty of closet space. And several shelves. A built in wall stand for a suitcase. Good size Samsung flat panel with lots o channels.

And an in-room AC control. A tip: get an extra room key and leave it in the slot by the door while out to enable your AC to stay on.

Good desk for working too.

2 sets of window doors overlooking street. Can get a little loud when opened. And hard to close. But nice to have.

Would definitely stay here again. And again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammerabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comment in Trip Advisor. My staff will be so happy to receive this present. If we covered your expectations, we achieved our goal. Your comfortability is our commitment. Thanks and do not hesitate to contact us in the future if you visit again Barcelona. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    313
    120
    43
    35
See reviews for
119
275
56
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

we stayed at the hotel August 6 to 13. although the staff was pleasant, spoke pour English, we had problem to communicate with them, that was the same everywhere in Barcelona, even on their museums, no one spoke English!!!!! When we asked why they told us that on their schools the second language they learn is the language of Catalonia and not English!!!!! The room was very dirty, the bathroom was not cleaned properly, the floor was filthy and for all the period of time we were there was not cleaned even once – one little piece of red clothe that I throw down on August 6 was there even on August 13 when we left. The sheets were full of men hair and cloth hair, which for a 4 star hotel is unacceptable. We complained for that but there was no action from them. The next day the room was still not cleaned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinna139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear guest,
first of all I would like to send you my apologizes for all the inconveniences and I would like you could contact me in the future to know more details about your impression. As you supose, as a hotel of 4 stars we cannot allow your experience to be a standard. We have comprehensive audit quality periodically and the truth is that we can not explain what happened this time. In the housekeeping log, we note you left the cartel of "do not disturb" 2 days (9th and 12nd) . But in any case, I would like you contact us and we invite you to check that we are worthy of your trust. Thank you very much for your comments. Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay in this wonderful hotel. The staff is very very friendly and professional. The location is optimal, nearby all important places in Barcelona. Our room was very clean and comfortable. (modern bathroom, good insulated windows, good aircondition). The breakfast was very rich, but a little bit expensive. At night the restaurant offers a very tasty menu.
When we arrived, there was a personal welcome card, some frutits and a bottle of water in our room. Thank you for this pleasant suprise. We will recommend this hotel to all our friends, when they planning a trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverH961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear guests,
on behalf of my team, I thank you for having written your experience. This helps us of great and other travelers who want to book our hotel in the future. Do not hesitate to contact us again if you visit Barcelona. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butzbach, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed one week with my 21-year-old son here. We enjoyed wonderful hot weather, the beach and my son vastly the night-life. But even when he returned at 6 a.m., he rarely missed the breakfast, because the buffet had a good variety and quality! The staff especially at the front desk was friendly, helpful and polyglott. At the buffet we were treated like family. The room had a perfect size and contained everything we needed. I caught a cold due to the air condition and was glad, that we could sleep with the window opened to the silent atrium court! I'll recommend this jewel of a hotel in a quiet quarter of Barcelona, half way from "sagrada familia" and city center to every friend I have, and wish staff and management good continuation!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 777Andreas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your comments in Trip Advisor about Hotel Berna. My staff and me are so pleased with. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future and you will be more than welcome in our Hotel. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed for five days. Bedroom is basic and very small, even on sixth floor. Many rooms face inwards with no external view, only into other rooms. One of the hotels lifts was broken during our stay causing huge delays as only one lift was serving 6 floors. "free" internet is very unreliable. Signal dropped 16 times during one day. I would rather pay for a reliable strong internet. Complaints dont get resolved. Spend your money wisely and stay elsewhere....

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments in Trip Advisor and thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve. We feel so proud of clients like you, who tell us also the bad experiences. Certainly, sometimes the machines failed and we try always work to solve the problems as soon as possible, because we have a commitment with our guests. I send you my apologizes if in July you had a poor wifi connection but for your comments we have solved. Do not hesitate to contact me in the future if you visit the city and we will be so pleased to receive you. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had managed to get a good deal and we got a Great Deal. A classy hotel with a friendly face. Our bags were taken to our room by Mohammed the porter and we were acquainted with the air conditioning controls which was invaluable. The first day we took the special offer of the 10 euro breakfast for the first day and it was excellent value but I prefer a lighter breakfast that we took across the road at Marti which was Barcelona with style. A baker/patisserie/cafe that bakes on the premises with freshly squeezed orange juice ( I am in heaven)

The location of the hotel is excellent being near to the underground and the fast link to the Airport with no changes. Within walking distance of many attractions and so close to the underground which was well policed when I used it and saw no problems.

My only fault with the hotel is that there was no tea making facility in the stylish spacious room with mini bar and air conditioning. Next time will take mums travel kettle as I am a tea Jenny. Often there was only the one lift working which got you acquainted with fellow guests.

We had access to our room at midday with no extra charge and we saw a price list for early check in and late check out. Didn't need WiFi but Marti across the road did advertise the facility.

It travelling back to Barcelona would try and book the hotel and take the mother in laws travel kettle for that early morning cuppa before I go across the road to Marti

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulineGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments in Trip Advisor, and thank you very much for the time you spent with. We are so pleased to cover your expectations and we remain at your entire disposal for your needs in the future. You will be more than welcome. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, good location, breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shlolvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear guest,
we are so pleased for your comments in Trip Advisor. Thank you very much for your gesture, it has a great value for all my team. Do not hesitate to contact us again if you visit Barcelona. We will be at your entire disposal. Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
#265 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#252 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Eixample
HCC St. Moritz
HCC St. Moritz
#268 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Grupotel Gran Via 678
#128 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#52 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#65 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Eixample 1864? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Eixample 1864

Property: Catalonia Eixample 1864
Address: Roger de Lluria 60, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Berna Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#150 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Eixample 1864 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Eixample1864 is located in the heart of Barcelona, close to Passeig de Gracia and only a few minutes away from Plaza Catalunya and the city's old quarter. The hotel is situated in one of the first residential buildings built in Barcelona's Eixample district by Catalan architect Josep Cerda. Built in 1864 in an eclectic style of classical inspiration, it has been classified as a historic monument. The hotel is furnished in a modern and elegant style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Catalonia Eixample 1864 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Berna Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Berna
Catalonia Eixample 1864 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing