We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the center, good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Eixample 1864
Ranked #203 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Very good location - almost walking distance from Plaza de Catalunya. Friendly staff. Room big enough, even with big terrace. Good buffet breakfast. Rooms clean, although here and there the hotel needs some refreshment. Air condition a little bit too noisy (but maybe this was only in my room). Still good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertARz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear guest,
thank you very much for sending us your comments. We are so pleased with. Meeting your expectations is our commitment every day. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future when you visit the city again. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 974 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

The Hotel Catalonia Iberna is very bad. Be' prepared! Very poor service , unconfortable rooms, my room was without the door of the batroom, my collegague in the room on the same floor was not able to open the door of his bathroom and had to wait 1 hr in the evening for a support. Very noisy. Young people drunk late in the night. Heating system in my room was not working. My lavatory was not working well. I will never come back to this hotel. Last but not least it is reported at the entrance that this hotel is recommended by TripAdvisor!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maurypol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear guest,
first of all thank you very much for sending to us all this comments, our guest's feedback is the best way to improve in the future. I am more than surprised with your experience and I am so sorry and sad for. I send you all my apologizes and I am at your entire disposal. I would like to meet you if you come back to the city and I am sure we can compensate this, and then show you that our Hotel and staff deserve your trust.
Thank you very much for your attention and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is not a four star hotel. The only good thing about this hotel is its location. It is a bit overpriced and rooms need refurbishing. Air condition was not working, and the closet door were broken. Nevertheless, rooms are clean and tidy. Stuff is not well organized, you spend a lot of time waiting for check in/out. Breakfast was also below expectations. This hotel should be considered as three star hotel with excellent location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vedrana_Belgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear guest,
thank you very much to tell us your experience. I am so sorry if in any aspects we did not cover your expectations. Sure we will improve in the future taking note of your impressions and we will be worthy of your confidence again. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

In general the hotel was good.Apart from the fact that the fridge did not work for the first three days of the four we stayed,despite several reporting.
There are no kettles in the rooms which I thought was rather odd as having stayed in all types of hotels,they all provided tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.
The rooms were a good size and very clean and the staff were very obliging.The location is excellent and very close to all aminities and subway.Value for money!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank jack a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear guest,
first of all, I would like to thank you for the comments on Trip Advisor. It has a great value for us, in order to improve in the future. I am so sorry for the inconvenience with the fridge and I take note of your opinions. Do not hesitate to contact with us if you visit the city again, we will be so pleased with. My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Very good hotel. We where upgraded to top floor with terass and spectacular view over the city. Very good service. Great breakfast. We had a business dinner at the hotel, which was quite nice (about 10000 times as nice as the next nights dinner at W! Don't eat there!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dunkershall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear guest,
thanks in advance for your special comments in Trip Advisor. My staff and me are so pleased with it. Thank you for the time you spent in writting. We hope see you again in the city and in Catalonia Berna Hotel. At your entire disposal. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I really did not expect much from Barcelona or its people ... everyone talks so much that I thought they would be conceited... But I tell you they´re the nicest people of all Spain!! And the Catalonia Berna is the greatest hotel of all the 6 I´ve stayed at on this trip. Do go there!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 977Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear guest,
thank you very much, all my staff and me are so pleased with your comments, we are so glad that we could meet your expectations during your stay. In fact, it is our commitment. Do not hesitate to contact to us if you need again a reservation in the city of Barcelona. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

During the MWC I stayed at this hotel and felt quite impressed. Plenty of meeting rooms, nice breakfast and I enjoyed the magnificent Les Finestres de Lluria restaurant. Mediterranean cuisine at its finest, I specially recommend the rice dishes.

From the hotel it was very easy to move around, subway station close by, and a 10 minute walk to plaza de Catalunya.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranagustavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,
en el nombre de mi equipo y del mío personal, le agradecemos enormemente el tiempo empleado en escribirnos. Para nosotros, las críticas de los clientes que pasan por el Catalonia Berna es de gran valía, es el mejor barómetro a la calidad de nuestros servicios y nos indica el camino a seguir. Mi saludo más cordial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#52 of 515 in Barcelona
361 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#122 of 515 in Barcelona
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#86 of 515 in Barcelona
969 reviews
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#94 of 515 in Barcelona
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Eixample 1864? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Eixample 1864

Address: Roger de Lluria 60, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Berna Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#150 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $97 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Eixample 1864 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Eixample1864 is located in the heart of Barcelona, close to Passeig de Gracia and only a few minutes away from Plaza Catalunya and the city's old quarter. The hotel is situated in one of the first residential buildings built in Barcelona's Eixample district by Catalan architect Josep Cerda. Built in 1864 in an eclectic style of classical inspiration, it has been classified as a historic monument. The hotel is furnished in a modern and elegant style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Eixample 1864 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Berna Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Berna
Catalonia Eixample 1864 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing