We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Ranked #110 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in an excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Firstly I want to apologise for my one and only photo. But unfortunately this was the only photo that I took. This photo should not make you to say "no" to this hotel. Acta Atrium Palace is a very nice hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful. All of the receptionists spoke English very fluently and on our first day they gave us a map and advice on where to start our walks. When we asked them about areas of shopping, they gave us genuine information.
The room was clean and spacious. I liked the furniture. There is also a mini bar, hair drier and clothe's iron in the room. My room was cleaned and tidied up every day. When we wanted clean towels, we were just putting the used ones in the bath tub. The cleaners did not speak English but they were very friendly and they were a bit noisy in the mornings but not during the rest of the day. However my sleep was not really disturbed.
The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. There is a tube station 2 minutes away. Placa de Catalunia is 5-7 minutes away and Passeig de Gracia (really nice street to walk on with all the clothe&accessories designers shops) is on the same block. We were walking till late without any issue.
The only negative of the hotel is the spa. We were really disappointed. The swimming pool is sooooo unbelievably small and the water is very cold! I know it is indoor but still I felt really cold when I got in. The jacuzzi is also very small. So me and my friend couldn't even try it because a couple was in it on that day and there was not enough space for other 2 people except if you wanted to be reaaally close to the other person. The sauna is ok but a bit too hot. There is usually no staff to help you in the spa area. And be careful with your things, because if you are not close to your things, the cleaner may take them to the reception area as "lost items" by accident. Oh and when I asked how they clean the water of the swimming pool, they told me that they change it every 6 days! So basically the same water remains in this small swimming pool for 6 days! They said that they add chlorine every day but I do not know even how safe is this. And I noticed that the water was not really flowing (it was stagnant) when noone was in the swimming pool. So I am not even sure if there is a filtration mechanism for the water. I actually went in the evening and stayed there till approximately the closing time and I saw that they did not change the jacuzzi water. So the only negative was the spa. Apart from that the hotel is really nice.

Room Tip: Be careful when they assign you a room because some rooms do not have any view. The only view is bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinaS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    792
    172
    52
    23
See reviews for
392
953
58
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

together make for an excellent choice of a place to stay in Barcelona. The rooms are clean and the toiletries on offer are of high standard. Wifi is a bit erratic indicating that there is an underyling problem with their servers but this the only downside to what is a value for money hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have no complaints about this hotel from when we checked in early an got an extremely warm reception to the moment we left. Staff were welcoming and extremely helpful at all times. Our room was fine - facing the street at the front, adequate space and good bathroom. Wifi reception came and went and they had to keep rebooting the system. We didnt eat in the hotel as the location was so central everything you needed was just round the corner Las Ramblas, buses to airport and Placa Catalunya and Passeig de Gracia all within a few minutes walk. Hotel pool very small. All in all great for seeing the sights and a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: We had a standard room but were hardly ever in it as everything was so close at hand but clean and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Auchingarrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

stayed for 4 nights early February 13 Room was at the front of the hotel on 3rd floor, however requested higher floor due to street noise and was accomodated no problem by helpful staff. yes the other side is quieter but more atmosphere on this side and you are after all in a city.
the hotel is in a safe and central location, walking distance to a lot of sights but also very close to a metro station. Price was good value for quality of the hotel

the room was clean, spacious and nicely decorated, bathroom good size and good selection of shampoo etc also extras like razors, toothpaste, cotton buds which was a nice touch.
the pool although small was lovely after a day's sightseeing and a novelty in a city hotel.
Yes there is only BBC world news and CNBC as the english stations, but you are in Spain after all!

the only thing i did not like was no tea/coffee making in the room which would have been nice and the beds, I like a firm mattress but this was like sleeping on a board, no give at all and resulting in a sore back each morning, put towels under the sheets and that helped somewhat.

Other than this I would recommend this hotel the only issue being the bed!

Cara

Room Tip: if you want a very quite room request one at the back,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caramck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Main things you look for in a hotel are : location= brilliant. 10mins (max) walk to the ramblas. Central to many metro stations and walk to sangrada familia
Rooms= very clean. Great space. Comfortable with all the necassities
Breakfast= decent considring this is a european city.
Facilities= small indoor pool. Jacuzzi and a small gym. They do not have in hotel massage options although a massuesse could visit for an in room service.
The slight and very slight down side. Behind the hotel is a primary school. So you wont get any peace and quiet during the day

During the winter the air con does go cold. Its either warm or off.

Other then the small issues we were here for 4nights and had no problems. If these small issues werent about it certainly deserved 5 stars.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sabertoothtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Atrium Palace with another couple in mid September, 2012 prior to our cruise. Please do not hesitate to stay here! Upon our early arrival the front desk put our luggage safely in a room behind the desk. We decided to wait for rooms at the front with balconies. We went sightseeing for the day and came back to two lovely rooms (and very quiet). The bus ride in from the airport was fast, really reasonable, and dropped us off a few blocks from the hotel. The hotel is in a very safe, well lit area, and easy walking distance to most things. The hotel arranged hop and go bus tours for us, and gave us information on everything from restaurants, sightseeing, to buying wine, stamps, etc. They arranged taxis for us to the port the night before, helped us out with our luggage, and made sure of what we were going to be paying for the taxis before we left. This was an excellent start to our vacation! The staff were fluent in English and could not have been more helpful. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We were in the front fairly high up with a balcony. Twin beds are made up together. They kindly adde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just came back from a excellent weekend stay in Atrium Palace Hotel. The hotel was very clean, stylish, with fabulous rooms to boot. Rooms had tv, hairdryers, safe and great bathrooms. We asked for top floor (7) at back with balcony after reading TA reviews and were given lovely quiet room with views of schools and rooftop. Where you could watch sunrise and set lovely. Only draw back was no tea facilities in room but that's seems normal in Spain. Breakfast included the lot along with Cava, wines for those with that habit. Had meal in restaurant on one evening as ran out of steam to find somewhere. For €15 good selection of main, dessert, wine or beer and coffee. Very nice and great value. The staff could not have been More Helpful. For English there is a nice, very reasonable pub just around the corner Bobbys Free wine and bottle of strongbow was €6.50 not bad we thought. Good music and relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again and give it 10/10 for quality and value. Sorry never tried the Spa but sounded great.

Room Tip: took advice from other TA reveiws and asked for top floor at the back with balcony and thats exactly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Negresco Princess Hotel
Negresco Princess Hotel
#54 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#40 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#68 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#58 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acta Atrium Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acta Atrium Palace

Property: Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 656, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#48 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Acta Atrium Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acta Atrium Palace is a 4 stars hotel located in the Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, one of the main roads of the city of Barcelona and just few minutes walk from Paseo de Gracia and Plaza Catalunya.Acta Atrium Palace has 67 rooms decorated in a modern and subtle style and feature parquet flooring and Venetian stucco, with a cream and brown colour scheme.The variety and quality of the facilities of the hotel are among the best in its class: swimming pool-spa, sauna, meeting room, "Espai Acta" (free entry business center with computers, media and library). The hotel has bar as well and a restaurant "L'Atrium" with the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Acta Atrium Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acta Atrium Palace Barcelona
Acta Atrium Palace Hotel Barcelona
Apsis Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing