We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Continental Palacete
Ranked #331 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed February 18, 2014

What a find! Frequent traveler and to be so pleasantly surprised is a fast diminishing occurrence for us. We stayed for four nights and the food, rooms, fellow guests and above all staff made this a most memorable stay. Location and ice cold beer on tap were the icing on the cake. Will make this our first choice for any future stays in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Continental Palacete during your recently stay in Barcelona. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, Very special thanks for pointing out our free 24 hours snacking buffet with variety of foods and drinks.

Thank you also for mentioning our great customer service. Our team takes great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 469 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed here last month with 15 friends for the football. Very good hotel with very friendly staff. The location of the hotel is perfect as it is only a 5 min walk to the Ramblas.
Free 24 hour buffet went down well with our party as you can just help yourself when you want.
Rooms nice and clean.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback after your stay at our Hotel Continental Palacete. We are happy to hear that you appreciated your stay, especially our 24 hours free snacking buffet and also our staff treatment.

Thank you again for keeping us on mind for your next visit in our Barcelona

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel has a 24 hour buffet! The food is simple but good. Beer, wine, juice and soft-drink on tap, as well as soft serve ice-cream. It has an amazing (ornate & pink) lounge/dining area with plenty of seating and table and seats on the balconies which overlook the main street (la Ramblas). The staff are friendly and very helpful. The lounge and bedrooms are pretty pink, but if you guys can see past this it's a great place to stay. Very central, loads good shopping close by, and a lovely walk down la Ramblas. Wi-Fi available, but a bit slow.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions after your recent stay at Hotel Continental Palacete. We are happy to hear that everything was more than fine and that you will choose us again next time you visit Barcelona.

Your opinion regarding our free 24 hour snacking buffet is invaluable for us.

Looking forward to your return visit.

Always at your service,
Viviane Komze and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Loved the quirkiness of this hotel. The juxtaposition of public rooms which were meticulously restored Louis XIV with the bedrooms which were tired French Provincial 1960s was quite endearing and certainly added an individual touch - definitely not your bog-standard modern chain hotel. The lady of the house and all her staff were charming, helpful and friendly and the location of the hotel could not be better.
Pricewise, we had a pretty good special offer but I think I would have found the bedrooms definitely below par if we had paid the full price.
We live in the province of Barcelona and often book a hotel when we go to the city for concerts, theatre etc and the main reason I would not book into this hotel again would be that I found the bed far too hard.......if they provided a couple of rooms with softer beds available on request, I would certainly return whenever they have a special offer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dinah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our Hotel Continental Palacete for your past stay in Barcelona. We are sorry to hear that you felt a little disturbed by the bed. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Hoping to have the opportunity to host you soon again.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Even if we live in Barcelona, we booked one night due to a celebration nearby.
Nice building on an unbeatable location.
The only good thing at this property was the staff. Everyone was helpfull and professional.
All the rest was aweful, tired, ugly and not in acordance with such a historic building.
Everthing is plastic, too many chairs and small tables, rose cloths, towels, duvets, sheets...
The room which was second best category in the hotel and well over 100€ was just adecuate for sleeping.
I have never seen such a terrible design in all my worldwide travels.

The buffet is clean but the presentation is like in the 70-ies with plastic and paper cups and plates. The kitchen cloths and the small towels you get on the fridge in the room were worn and washed. My grandma had similar onea about 35 years ago!!!
Horrible experience!
There are lots of excellent and more modern hotels nearby for half the price.
We would definitely never come back even if we were paid to do so.


  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

it was nice having you as a guest and we appreciate your feedback about our property!
A very special thank for mentioning our great customer service.
We feel sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations.
We hope to welcome you soon again in one of our Continental Hotels.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had a wonderful week at the Continental Palacete Hotel .The location is excellent, the food bar is exceptional and the décor of the hotel gives you the feeling of being in a small palace. But what really makes this little hotel so special is the caring staff. All of them do their best and more to make you feel comfortable . They truly aim to please.
Thank you Viviane, Peter, Luisa, Irene. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OraIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice review after your recent stay at our Hotel Continental Palacete. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we could exceed your expectations.
Looking forward to your return visit.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Located very near Plaza Cataluna, in the heart of Barcelona. Short walk to Gaudi's Casa Battlo and more. Near 2 Metro stations, but if you like walking this is the place to be. Thanks to Pater and Viviene we were well taken care of. They go above and beyond their duties to make you comfortable. The rooms are all pink this being the owners favourite colour. Very cosy and comfortable. Snacks, wine and beer available the whole day so no need to go out for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be very cosy, ok when travelling with a spouse. Ask for a larger room when travelling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xatita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your lovely feedback, we appreciated all your observations and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Continental Palacete.
We hope to welcome you soon again.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona
#170 of 515 in Barcelona
1,033 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#169 of 515 in Barcelona
672 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#77 of 515 in Barcelona
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#230 of 515 in Barcelona
573 reviews
Eixample
Balmes Residence Derby Hotels
Balmes Residence Derby Hotels
#370 of 515 in Barcelona
46 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Roma
Catalonia Roma
#321 of 515 in Barcelona
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Palacete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Palacete

Address: Rambla de Catalunya, 30, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $112 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Continental Palacete 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel. Best location in Barcelona on las Ramblas. Rooms perfectly equipped. All day buffet, soft drinks, internet and wi-fi access for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Continental Palacete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Palacete Barcelona, Catalonia
Continental Palacete Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Continental Palacete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing