We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for groups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continental Palacete
Ranked #332 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for groups”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

You just can't beat the location, and the staff is wonderfully helpful. The layout is quirky, but that is part of its charm. I was traveling with a group of crafters, and we enjoyed the public spaces, including a commodious patio, because it gave us a space to gather, knit, and share our daily experiences. The buffet didn't look inviting, but it turned out to be more than adequate for breakfast, or a snack later in the day. And how generous to have espresso, juice, wine, beer and sodas available throughout the day.
The rooms are small, but no more so than many European hotels, and they were well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience with all of us.
We sincerely apologize that our 24 hours free snacking buffet did not meet your entire satisfaction as it is one of the best amenities we offer.
But we understand due to the fact that we are all so different culturally and personally talking, sometimes it is impossible, to meet all the expectations.

We are pleased to read that your whole stay was pleasant and we thank for your special mention of our staff and for the maintenance service.

Thank for your feedback that will help us to improve our service.

Always at your disposition,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    176
    55
    26
    23
See reviews for
99
168
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here 1 night after our 12 day cruise on the Carnival Sunshine.
we were dropped off at the front door of the hotel by our tour.
When we arrived we were met by an elevator being worked on. I started to carry our bags up the stairs, and a staff member saw me, and came to bring our bags the rest of the way.
We were greeted by Peter at the front desk. He was very nice and knowledgeable.
This hotel has a 24 hour buffet, that was well stocked.
It is conveniently located, 2 blocks from Pl. Catalunya. from here we took the Aero Bus to the airport the next AM. There are ticket machines, that you can use a Credit Card, or pay cash to the driver. Be advised that if your credit card, does not have chip&pin technology, you will not be able to use it.

Overall if we were to stay in Barcelona again, we would definitely pick this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest:

We are very grateful to know that we could be your choice once again in the future.
Your satisfaction is our most high achievement and we thank you for sharing this with us.

We will be always here to provide you the most efficient service whenever you decide to be back.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Tucked away in a quiet little corner just above the north end of the Ramblas is the delightful Hotel Continenal Palacete. We stayed there for our 40th wedding anniversary and found the staff, the palace-like room decorations, the 24-hour small buffet, and the location all perfect. (My husband didn't even mind the pink ceiling and decor in our room!) It has all the modern amenities as well as little in-room niceties that made our stay very pleasurable. The management was even thoughtful enough to have a chilled bottle of champagne (courtesy) waiting for us in our little fridge to toast our anniversary! A real gem that we'd recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: We had a room that opened up onto the street with several little tapa street bars. We were worried...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybeeSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

How can we thank you for all your kind words?
Your reviews is really so full of generosity and all the staff of the hotel Continental Palacete is pleased to have been part of your memorable trip in this amazing city.
We just can wait to receiving you back for your 50th wedding anniversary.

We wish you a wonderful life until then.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I came to come to this wonderful Hotel Thur Expedia and because they advertised the 24/7 buffet close to the Plaza Catalenya you cannot imagine how happy l was after a rocky flight which l could not eat during and the aero bus took me from the airport to the plaza and l finally found my way to this hidden gem was a Hotel not only is it a beautiful small hotel the staff was outstanding and the Buffet when l got there the front desk gentlemen helped me with my bags and could tell l needed a drink so showed me my room right by the desk and said go get something to eat and drink and we will take care of business but for me a drink is diet Pepsi and a snack wonderful l was revived checked in took a nap and wentexploring everything you need was near the plaza and hop off and on buses the staff so helpful and friendly l hope to get back to Barcelona and this is the only place l will stay my friend is coming to Barcelona and l told her to stay here but she is not to bad for her she is going to miss out on a Great Hotel and deal plus free internet l had paid more before and not enjoyed a hotel like this one

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypandaNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

No words will never explain how exciting it was to read your wonderful reviews.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience with us.

It is pleasing to note that our location, the team and our 24 hours free snacking buffet did meet your expectations.
We thank you once again for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The position of this hotel is great, on Rabla de Catalunya, but there is no noise coming from the street (from cars, people, sirens etc). The nearest buses or metro station are only 5~6 minutes away. We stayed in the 123 room, just near the reception, and sometimes we heard people talking with the receptionist, but not disturbing. The only noise that was disturbing us was coming from the water pipes from the next room, when they used the shower. The room was rather small , but we had an extra bed .
The buffet is always open , but the food is always the same, for breakfast or for any other hour of day or night: you have an expressor, ice-cream machine, white wine, beer, milk, all kind of pepsi and orange/ pineapple juice, fresh fruits, 3 kind of jam, honey, some local sweets, turkey ham, rice, some pasta,some salads, tomato sauce, etc
The staff is ok and very helpfull.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razvanc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing the Continental Palacete during your last stay in Barcelona.
An also very special thanks for taking your time to share you experience between us with all.

We are very pleased to read your wonderful evaluation about the hotel Continental Palacete and we feel sorry for the iconveniences of noice of the room next to yours.

Regarding the your room’s size, we feel sorry that 14.5 squarre meters did not meet your expectations.

We would like to take this chance to comment on this point:
“It is recommendable if you need space during your stay at the hotel to choose the “room with the Versailles Lounge” which is the more spacious that we have at the hotel.

Thank you once again to thank you for your great appreciation about the other areas of the hotel.

Always at your disposition,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a fun hotel to stay at. Some may call it quirky with everything pink. But the whole place puts a smile on your face. From the time you check in until the day you leave, the staff at the front desk is always willing to help you with your questions. This hotel is a good value for the money. The buffet always has something for you to snack on or to drink. And the location is perfect. You can walk to all the sites. We stayed 4 nights and it was an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbabci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

We just can say that you made our day!
Thank you for choosing the Continental Palacete for your last stay in Barcelona and for taking part of your precious time to share your experience between us with all.

There no words to thank you for the gorgeous evaluation of the hotel you made.

Believe us if we say, we are truly grateful for your appreciation which is a luxurious gift for all.

Always at your disposition,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I travelled with a group of friends to Barcelona at the beginning of April and we stayed at this hotel four nights. The rooms are decorated in a very opulent style with lots of pink frills and froo-froos everywhere. The hotel has a buffet that is available 24/7 and includes items that can be heated up in a microwave. It was adequate for breakfast or a snack. There was a machine that dispensed cold drinks including wine but it wasn't very good. I found the dining room rather tomb-like as there was no background music and it seemed like everyone was whispering. The staff were very accommodating and there was free internet access which was a nice bonus. It had the usual hard European beds which some of our group found uncomfortable but after four nights I was thinking about getting one at home. The outstanding feature of this hotel was the location - just two blocks up from Plaza Catalunya, the centre of the city where you could buy tickets for the hop-on/hop-off bus and other excursions. There were good restaurants nearby as well as good shopping. We went out to eat in the evenings and felt very safe. Although we faced onto a busy street I didn't find it noisy through the night.

Room Tip: I travelled with a group of friends to Barcelona at the beginning of April and we stayed at this hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

First of all for choosing the Continental Palacete between all the hotels of Barcelona.
Secondly, for your positive feedback! We were captivated by your so many generosities in your appreciations. A precious gift for all.

What more could we say?
We are just overjoyed!

Always at your disposition.

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona
#179 of 513 in Barcelona
1,012 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#165 of 513 in Barcelona
663 reviews
Eixample
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
#360 of 513 in Barcelona
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#250 of 513 in Barcelona
560 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#56 of 513 in Barcelona
1,156 reviews
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#94 of 513 in Barcelona
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Palacete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Palacete

Property: Continental Palacete
Address: Rambla de Catalunya, 30, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Continental Palacete 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel. Best location in Barcelona on las Ramblas. Rooms perfectly equipped. All day buffet, soft drinks, internet and wi-fi access for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Palacete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Palacete Barcelona, Catalonia
Continental Palacete Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Continental Palacete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing