We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Continental Palacete
Nearby Hotels
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel(Barcelona)
$305
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$237
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Acta Antibes(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
$154
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Alma Barcelona(Barcelona)
$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
$194
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
$269
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$302
$264
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$466
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$340
$323
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Capri by Fraser Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveler rating
202
184
59
28
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
184
59
28
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshour buffetfree buffetfridge and microwavesister hotelversailles suitegreat locationlas ramblasrooms are smallsitting areacharming hotelfresh fruitloved this hotelexploring barcelonafour nightsstreet noisemetro stationbalconies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 496 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Once again, Rick Steves was right. This hotel is located in the center of Barcelona, right on La Ramblas. It is very well run, with a charming atmosphere and a very friendly and welcoming staff. We went there with children, and had a suite with two rooms. Even though the bathroom was a little small, it was still OK, especially considering the hotel was right in the center of Barcelona. One of the great things was the free breakfast buffet and drinks and snacks available 24/7. This hotel is a big part of our great memories we have from our trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ivana_not_Trump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to our city, we are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope that you will have more memories of us if you decide to come visit Barcelona again.

Warm regards,

Nikki Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I will begin to say that the front desk staff was amazing. They went above and beyound with customer service.

The hotel just wasn't for us. The beds were EXTREMELY hard and the pillows were as flat as pancake - no joke. Showering was an experience, the set-up was a little backwards and the towels were hard. I'm thinkin they hung dried them and the noise from outside was unreal. It was so loud, but I will say we were in the suite that had huge windows that overshadowed the streets. Nice views, but very loud. We got very little sleep and we could hear our fellow neighbors snoring all night.

So, not an overall good experience for us. BUT the hotel is located centrally and the decor is to die for. So, that's why I feel a little bad writing a low review.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank lovetotravel1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Barcelona although we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Our priority is for our guests to feel at home and confortable and if the room was too loud for you, as it was an exterior room, I am sure we could have arranged for a room change to a quieter part of the hotel.
We hope that we can make it up to you on another occassion if you decide to ever come back to Barcelona.
Once again, thank you for sharing your concerns and thoughts with us.

Best regards,

Nikki Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked on line for the Hotel Continental in Barcelona for a couple of days prior to going on a cruise with NCL on their ship Norweigan Jade at end of January 2012. It turned out that the hotel we THOUGHT we had booked into was the sister hotel of the above - there are two hotels in the chain The Hotel Continental which is on Ramblas (the main part very near to the seafront) and then there is the Continetal PALACE which is on the top half of Ramblas, above Playa Catalunya.

We had looked at the Cont Palace a few times when staying in other hotels and we always thought that it looked really charming. anyway, because we thought we had booked into the Palace, we headed there (having caught the service bus from the airport to Playa Catalunya). when we got there, we were confused because the address on our confirmation was not the same as the address we arrived at. We were pretty exhausted by this time having dragged our cases a fair old way so my husband went into the hotel to check out where the Hotel Continental was.

On arriving a reception the manager was very helpful and he said that the Palace was the more superior hotel and if we wanted to stay there instead (guess they had spare rooms as it was January!) we could do so for a reduced rate. so that;s what we did. We were so glad we had as the other hotel looked pretty ordinary compared to this little gem.

It was absolutely charming, as were the staff and the all day / all night buffet and drinks (included in the price) little room. the room was beautiful, the dining room and public areas were absolutely stunning and the whole thing was just a pleasure.

Would recommend this its like staying in a little stately home. !!

Room Tip: We only saw one other room which was a superior room and had a lovely big picture window which was also a seating area to sit and watch the world below go by - it looked lovely but may be pricey. Didnt actually see any other rooms but ours was really pretty.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzifloozi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make it your worthwhile.
We hope that you will come vivit "our gem" sometime in the future or maybe you would like to get to know our other hotel and enjoy a nice view of Las Ramblas form a nice balcony?

Best regards,

Nikki Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

It is the first time I have visted Barcelona and I will definetly be returning and would not think of staying anywhere else but the 'Continental Palacete'. This hotel is perfectly situated on one of the most famous streets in Barcelona Rambla de Catalunya. Easy access for shopping, eating sight seeting etc and, just a few blocks up from the Rambla and in my opinion where this hotel is situated is in the more classy part of the city, as you are slightly out of the hussle and bussle of all the tourists, yet can be inn the thick of things in a second!

The hotel itself is beautifully kept. The rooms are emmaculate and clean and the staff were always on call 24hrs to answer any of my questions and point me in the right direction. There is a 24hr buffet, with various food, wine, beer and other soft drinks on tap! (It also has a great coffee machine). The food is good and serves the purpose before you hit the town to visit some of the more swanky restuarants.

I have been all over the world and have stayed in some beautiful hotels, like the 4 Seasons and the Shangri - La and whilst the Continental Palacete cannot compete with the huge chain hotels as it is a smaller family run boutique hotel, I would highly recommend it as it will make your visit in Barcelona something to remember.

Victoria :)

Room Tip: I stayed in the Sun Room which was overlooking the main street and I had no problems sleeping, so I would think anyroom would be good. But if unsure just call the hotel they will be only too happy to help.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

WOW! Such kind words....thank you. And thank you for giving us an opportunity.
We are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable.
As a small family run hotel we feel the most important is for our guests to be happy and feel at home and we are happy that you embraced that.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Barcelona.

Warm regards,

Nikki Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I loved staying at the place!! We were previously staying at a modern and sleek place, but it had no character to it. We decided to leave the first place so I was excited when we arrived in this interesting and historical place. The staff is extremely nice and helpful! The 24 hour buffet was nice, though I really only used it in the morning. It's centrality to Las Ramblas and the Gothic area made it an ideal place to stay! If you want something sleek and modern it is not the place for you. But if you are interested in history, charm, and character it is the best place to stay! I would definitely go back there next time I am in Barcelona!!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Foodowl316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Barcelona and for reviewing us on Tripadvisor.
We are a small family run hotel with a lot of charm and history as you well pointed out, and therefore our guests opinions matter.
We hope to be able to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Nikki Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews