We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All day buffet included in price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Continental Palacete
Ranked #331 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Cairns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All day buffet included in price.”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We loved it here. Its old world charm and atmosphere. This is a great location for the airport bus and the hop on hop off bus tours. It is within walking distance of Casa Milan and the House of Bones and the Bara Gotic old city and close to Las Rambla so really it is perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepaCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you first of all for choosing our hotel during your visit to Barcelona dn secondly, for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Best regards,

Nikki Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    175
    53
    26
    23
See reviews for
97
167
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The location of this hotel is great especially for anybody wanting to shop. The main square just down the road is great if you want to catch the tour busses around the city.
The hotel itself is a little dated yes, but there is nothing wrong with that. And yes it is extremely pink in the bedrooms but it is 'traditional spanish decor'. We had a sun-sol room which had a view over the street and a lovely large window.
The only problem with the room was one night there was an usual and extremely loud noise coming from what seemed to be above. I couldn't sleep and it went on for about an hour. This may have been a one off I don't know, but at three in the morning it's not exactly what you want.
The hotel does include food and drink. The drinks included are coffee, water, coke, soft drinks, wine, beer, ice tea and a couple other (which were not in use at the time). The wine isn't great but it was nice to come back to a beer after a long day walking around. The food was not anything special, but was perfect for a little six o clock snack (seeing as they eat at about nine in barcelona!). I am a huge foodie so I was always planning on eating out anyway.
The staff were great and very helpful, always greeted with a smile.

Next time I will probably stay in a hotel closer to the port, just so i can explore that part of the city next time. It's not a small place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you fro sharing your review on Tripadvisor and for deciding to stay at our hotel during your vacation in Barcelona.
We are happy to hear that you had a good experience with us, apart from the "unexpected noise" you heard at 3am. This is unusual and we have begun investigating to see what the noise was about so that it ill not happen in the future.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nikki Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for four nights during a recent trip to Barcelona. We wanted a well-located hotel with minimal frills and a reasonable price tag. All of our needs were met. The staff was friendly, we got a great deal, and we were able to easily walk to Gaudi masterpieces, the Gothic quarter, and great restaurants. We wanted to spend our money and time experiencing Barcelona's extraordinary nightlife and dining scenes, and this was a perfectly adequate place to get some rest and refuel. If you keep your expectations reasonable, you'll be very pleased with the value of the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room off the main hallways. I can imagine there being a lot of noise in some rooms as youn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Barcelona as well as taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that your experience with us was good and we hope to be able to serve you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Nikki Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria IL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Two retired couples stayed two nights in late September 2011. I had selected the hotel for its location & excellent reviews on tripadvisor. The hotel was a mansion years ago & the decor is something out of the 18th century with decorative ceilings, walls & chandelier in the sitting-dining room; large mirrors & chandeliers in the hallways, etc. Rose pink is the color of choice for the 19 smallish bedrooms. The virtually 24/7 free buffet of assorted foods, including fresh fruits, salads, warm dishes to microwave, drinks of all kinds, including beer, wine, soda is a real plus. After a long day of walking around the city, we really weren´t in the mood to go sit in a restaurant for 2 or so hours. Sitting on the tiny balcony overlooking the street was a treat in the morning as well as the evening. Staff was very accommodating & helpful. Free internet. We took the Aerobus from the airport & got off at the University stop; the hotel was a short walk from there.We walked a few blocks to Gaudi's Casa Mila; a metro stop is close by.

Room Tip: Both our rooms were on the back side & were quiet. Don't know about the street-front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmercies68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for your kind and wonderful review as well as having chosen our hotel during your trip to Barcelona.
We always try our best in acommodating and helping our guests and therefore feel joy when it is met and appreciated by our guests.

We hope that we will be able to serve you again sometime in the future.

Once again, thank you for your kindness.

Yours sincerely,

Nikki Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Oh my God, which smell! I reserved no-smoking room, but they gave like room with smell of smoking-room! This was their no-smoking room, and I can't imagine what kind of their room with smoking chance! And they didnt agree to change room. At first they promised to give money back, if I go to other hotel. I went to other hotel, but they charged my Visa later. Room's size was like cleaner's cupboard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirjami A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for haven chosen our hotel for your stay in Barcelona even though you had a change of heart in the last moment and for that, we are deeply sorry since we understand that your experience was not satisfying.

On behalf of the Hotel Continental Palacete we would like to clarify the situation as there seems to be a misunderstanding.

Firstly, smoking in any hotel room is forbidden, not only by our hotel policy, but by law as well and that is why ALL rooms are non-smoking rooms. If guests decide to go ahead and smoke anyway, it is beyond our reach to do anything once they have left our hotel. May I remind you that our receptionist offered you a different room and you decided to decline it straight away with no desire to even have a look at it.

Secondly, we have a cancellation policy stating that any cancellations must be notified to us before 48 hours of the arrival date or the first night will be charged. However, we told you that if we were able to sell the room during the day, we would not charge you the first night. In this case, the room was not able to be sold and therfore we charged you the first night as stated in the cancellation policy.

Thirdly, when you contacted us desperately to book a room we let you know that due to high occupancy at our hotel we only had our smaller rooms available and you agreed to this with no questions asked.

As you well know, we sent you a letter stating that we had made the charge and offered you a free night stay at our hotel in the future so as to compensate for any inconvenience and disappointments you experienced.

Once again, thank you for sharing with us your concerns and we hope that we can make it up to you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Nikki Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

No shower cap, no shampoo, they missed our wake-up call, OK location, buffet not worth it, you can hear what was happening in the other rooms

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deperu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and for choosing our hotel during your visit to Barcelona.
I am sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected.
I have looked into the missed wake-up call and due to technical problems (our wake-up calls are programmed) on that day your wak-ep call was missed. We are deeply sorry about the inconvenience that may have caused you.
Regarding the shower caps and shampoo, I just want to point out that they are available to all our guests upon request.
Our snacking buffet has been planned and elaborated by the hotel owner, Mrs. Pilar Malagarriga and has been a tradition for many years. We understand that not everone can like everything, howver we do offer a variety of hot and cold plates as well as fruit and cereals.

Once again, thank you for sharing your concerns and experiences with us.

Yours sincerely,

Nikki Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Continental Palacete July 8-10 and July 13-14, 2011. We absolutely LOVED this location -- steps away from Las Ramblas and the metro -- with cruise ship-style free food and drinks (beer, wine, soda, juice, coffee and water) available 24-7. We enjoyed sitting on the 2nd floor balcony overlooking Las Ramblas and people-watching to our heart's content. We also liked the quirky pink style of the decor in our room -- which was tiny, but well equipped. We look forward to staying at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Tip: Extra towels can be found in the cabinets/dressers in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear guests,

On behalf of the hotel we want to thank you for your confidence in us and choosing to stay with us during your visit of Barcelona.
We are always happy to read about our guests experiences since it helps us improve in all ways possible.

We hope to be able to serve you again in the future.
Once again, thank you for your kindness.

Warm regards,

Nikki Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona
#190 of 513 in Barcelona
991 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#174 of 513 in Barcelona
648 reviews
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#248 of 513 in Barcelona
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
#346 of 513 in Barcelona
139 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#292 of 513 in Barcelona
917 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#57 of 513 in Barcelona
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Palacete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Palacete

Property: Continental Palacete
Address: Rambla de Catalunya, 30, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Continental Palacete 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel. Best location in Barcelona on las Ramblas. Rooms perfectly equipped. All day buffet, soft drinks, internet and wi-fi access for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Continental Palacete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Palacete Barcelona, Catalonia
Continental Palacete Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Continental Palacete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing