We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice located apartment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Apartments Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Apartments Barcelona
Ranked #406 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice located apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The location is great - close to all the interesting stuff, but still a bit aside, so you don't experience loud car traffic.
The huge terrace was definitely a benefit - great for outdoor meals.
Since it has a fully equipped kitchen, I recommend to visit the Boqueria market right before 5 PM - you can get some great deals on seafood and fruits. All the other ingredients can be bought at the nearby supermarket. Delicious!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wojtek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    47
    18
    8
    18
See reviews for
53
25
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The apartment was very well located. It was perfect for 3 people. Very spacious and so well equipped. The interior IKEA style was fine. The self check-in & self check-out was smooth and all the instructions delivered were simple and clear. The staff was helpful and effective as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krzysztof827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The apartment is ideally placed for exploring Barcelona. It is quite central and close to the Metro at Passeig de Gracia. There are many excellent tapas bars on Rambla de Catalunya, just minutes away. A cake shop that also sells bread is only 2 doors away and there are two small
supermarkets in the next block where groceries etc may be bought. The apartment faces the area in the centre of the block so noise from vehicles and people is minimal. It is always interesting to look at the rear of Casa Batllo across the central space. Events take place there most nights but we didn't find the music intrusive and it did not go on late. The apartment was clean and quite well equipped and just right for two people. A couple of minor points - the pillows were smaller and much softer than we were used to. Also, it would have been nice to have had a sheet of information on how to use the equipment such as air-conditioning etc. Otherwise a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

i was very happy with the apartment and location, the amenities were great washing machine 2 bathrooms, 3 bedrooms, dining table, lounge with sofas, tv, dvd etc but the down side one of the double bedrooms was only the width of the double bed plus 1 foot at one side to be able to get in and out it was a very small bedroom for a double bed :-(((

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank joanne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coin, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

The disappointment was that the apartment is NOT in the Old Town, but at least 15 min walk to Plz Catalunya. The apartment itself was good. Specious, clean(exept some black corners in the bathroom). Altough there is checklist for the cleaning-staff, there were two bulbs missing. Because we did not need them, we didn't mention it.
Alltogether: nice apartment but to far from the Old Town. If you advertise as "Old Town Apartments" clients may expect an apartment in the Old Town!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank fredrotteveel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed this year for the second time in an apartment provided by Old Town Apart. in Barcelona. The apartment Villarroel 5 was as good as the last year apartment in Rosellio. The apartment was comfortable and had everything that we needed.Booking of the apartment was easy, the forms for accomodation was simple and precise, everything goes very easy! I will go in December 2012 in Rome and I will also stay in an apartment of the company. I recommend everybody to try the services of the company. You'll be very pleased!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecille2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you very much for the feedback! we are looking forward to hearing from you again.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at this apartment in Aug 2012. There are so many things that were wrong about the apartment. 1. No welcome pack or instructions. 2. Electricity went out when Iron put on. 3. Shower blocked when having a shower. 4. Air conditioning was needed (only fans). 5. Fans broken. 6. Cleanliness was not good. 7. Beds were very uncomfortable. 8. Towels were poor quality and not enough of them. 9. No welcome pack, sachet of tea, coffee, milk, etc. 10. lighting was awful, probably to hide the poor cleanliness. 11. No wifi was offered. 11. TV was of poor quality (no sky tv as well). 12. Apartment was not fresh smelling when arrived.

On a positive note the location was central. We would not go back to this apartment as the value for money was very poor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are sorry for any inconvenience. I'm sure you have been provided an emergency phone number, as well as the office number at your arrival. We always request that our clients call us if they encounter any problems in the apartment upon the arrival.
Also in each apartment we have a cleaning check list with our emergency phone number, so if you found any cleaning issues in the apartment you could have called us and we would solve them immediately.
Kindly let me inform you that we offer a welcome pack service and internet access as extra servicea which are paid separately. We have no information about you having requested it at any moment before or during your stay.
I hope you will consider booking with us again anyway.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#135 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
HCC Montblanc
HCC Montblanc
#209 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#42 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Sant Jordi Apartaments Fontanella
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Aris
Pension Aris
#144 of 325 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Eixample
Izaila Plaza Catalunya
Izaila Plaza Catalunya
#39 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Apartments Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Apartments Barcelona

Property: Old Town Apartments Barcelona
Address: Fontanella 18, Principal - 2 | Office at Fontanella 18, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #406 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Town Apartments Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Old Town Apartments Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Apartment Barcelona
Old Town Apartments Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing