We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mallorca 6”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Apartments Barcelona
Ranked #416 of 735 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The disappointment was that the apartment is NOT in the Old Town, but at least 15 min walk to Plz Catalunya. The apartment itself was good. Specious, clean(exept some black corners in the bathroom). Altough there is checklist for the cleaning-staff, there were two bulbs missing. Because we did not need them, we didn't mention it.
Alltogether: nice apartment but to far from the Old Town. If you advertise as "Old Town Apartments" clients may expect an apartment in the Old Town!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank fredrotteveel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 144 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed this year for the second time in an apartment provided by Old Town Apart. in Barcelona. The apartment Villarroel 5 was as good as the last year apartment in Rosellio. The apartment was comfortable and had everything that we needed.Booking of the apartment was easy, the forms for accomodation was simple and precise, everything goes very easy! I will go in December 2012 in Rome and I will also stay in an apartment of the company. I recommend everybody to try the services of the company. You'll be very pleased!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecille2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you very much for the feedback! we are looking forward to hearing from you again.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at this apartment in Aug 2012. There are so many things that were wrong about the apartment. 1. No welcome pack or instructions. 2. Electricity went out when Iron put on. 3. Shower blocked when having a shower. 4. Air conditioning was needed (only fans). 5. Fans broken. 6. Cleanliness was not good. 7. Beds were very uncomfortable. 8. Towels were poor quality and not enough of them. 9. No welcome pack, sachet of tea, coffee, milk, etc. 10. lighting was awful, probably to hide the poor cleanliness. 11. No wifi was offered. 11. TV was of poor quality (no sky tv as well). 12. Apartment was not fresh smelling when arrived.

On a positive note the location was central. We would not go back to this apartment as the value for money was very poor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are sorry for any inconvenience. I'm sure you have been provided an emergency phone number, as well as the office number at your arrival. We always request that our clients call us if they encounter any problems in the apartment upon the arrival.
Also in each apartment we have a cleaning check list with our emergency phone number, so if you found any cleaning issues in the apartment you could have called us and we would solve them immediately.
Kindly let me inform you that we offer a welcome pack service and internet access as extra servicea which are paid separately. We have no information about you having requested it at any moment before or during your stay.
I hope you will consider booking with us again anyway.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

For the price we paid the Valencia apartment was fantastic. Very roomy, right in the centre of Barcelona with a private large terrace it was the perfect apartment for a group of five girls on a weekend away. We had a fantastic time, the apartment had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you! we are so happy you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Booking the apartment was no problem and all my queries regarding amenities and location of the apartment, were answered promptly by the company. We were given instructions on how to do self check in and that was slightly problemmatic because there was a problem with the safe. However, the company quickly arranged for a cleaner of the building to come and help us and let us in. The apartment was fresh and airy, with good furniture. It is on a noisy street, hence one can hear the sounds of the traffic even on the fifth floor. The kitchen had everything one might need to cook small meals and organize basic breakfast. The bed was comfortable, but is a low level one. The roll out bed in front of the TV in the main living room was also pretty comfortable. The shutters were very effective in blocking out the fierce light and the airconditioning worked very well.
The apartment has a public parking right next door, which was convenient for us to park there and get our stuff up to the apartment. However, eventually we parked our car near the railway station.
The apartment building has an elevator, which is a good sized one, although it goes up pretty slowly.
The TV had cable network and my toddler was delighted to even find Disney channel programmes in English. We had internet connection provided to us free of cost.
All in all, we had a great stay and I would definitely recommend this apartment to my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VS2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you so much for the feedback. Hope to see you again in Barcelona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our family of 4 (2 kids, 12 & 9) stayed in one of their 2-bed apartments at Rambla Catalunya for five nights. Kitchen had everything we needed, incl a washing machine. Great to have wifi too. The location was great for sightseeing &, even better, overlooked the rear of Casa Batllo. Luckily for us, a summer festival meant we got to listen to live music, 9-10pm every evening, from the courtyard below. We were on the 5th floor so, as others have posted, we kept the external window shutters closed in the kids' bedroom for safety. The staff in the main office were extremely helpful & friendly. Overall, a very positive experience & we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your review! We often have some great festivals in Barcelona, so if you like that one, we hope to see you again to experience even more of our beautiful city attraccions in different seasons of the year.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

What low standards!! We stayed at the apartment on roselló and it was a freakin joke. The double bed has springs that stick into your back and it dips in the middle. I was almost impossible to sleep with 2 people as we kept rolling into each other. The single beds were just as bad. We all woke up with neck and back pain. On top of that we didn't even use the blankets because they smelled like other people. There were no covers on the duvets. And the color looked like sweat color of you know what I mean.

And then there's the no hot water!! We all needed a nice shower after spending the day walking in the Barcelona heat getting all sweaty and sticky. What a horrible surprise to find out we would have to take cold showers. I'm not talking about luke warm. I'm talking about straight up freezing cold.

We've never had such a bad experience in our lives. Check out Easysleep BCN instead. They have much higher standards.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#234 of 515 in Barcelona
1,615 reviews
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
El Raval
Catalonia Ramblas
Catalonia Ramblas
#144 of 515 in Barcelona
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 515 in Barcelona
3,858 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Aparthotel Arai
Aparthotel Arai
#1 of 735 in Barcelona
685 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#25 of 735 in Barcelona
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Apartments Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Apartments Barcelona

Address: Fontanella 18, Principal - 2 | Office at Fontanella 18, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #416 of 735 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $163 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Town Apartments Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Old Town Apartments Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Apartments Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Apartment Barcelona
Old Town Apartments Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing