We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Villaroel 5 : Wonderful stay, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Apartments Barcelona
Ranked #401 of 754 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Villaroel 5 : Wonderful stay, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Booking the apartment was no problem and all my queries regarding amenities and location of the apartment, were answered promptly by the company. We were given instructions on how to do self check in and that was slightly problemmatic because there was a problem with the safe. However, the company quickly arranged for a cleaner of the building to come and help us and let us in. The apartment was fresh and airy, with good furniture. It is on a noisy street, hence one can hear the sounds of the traffic even on the fifth floor. The kitchen had everything one might need to cook small meals and organize basic breakfast. The bed was comfortable, but is a low level one. The roll out bed in front of the TV in the main living room was also pretty comfortable. The shutters were very effective in blocking out the fierce light and the airconditioning worked very well.
The apartment has a public parking right next door, which was convenient for us to park there and get our stuff up to the apartment. However, eventually we parked our car near the railway station.
The apartment building has an elevator, which is a good sized one, although it goes up pretty slowly.
The TV had cable network and my toddler was delighted to even find Disney channel programmes in English. We had internet connection provided to us free of cost.
All in all, we had a great stay and I would definitely recommend this apartment to my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VS2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you so much for the feedback. Hope to see you again in Barcelona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    47
    18
    8
    18
See reviews for
53
25
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our family of 4 (2 kids, 12 & 9) stayed in one of their 2-bed apartments at Rambla Catalunya for five nights. Kitchen had everything we needed, incl a washing machine. Great to have wifi too. The location was great for sightseeing &, even better, overlooked the rear of Casa Batllo. Luckily for us, a summer festival meant we got to listen to live music, 9-10pm every evening, from the courtyard below. We were on the 5th floor so, as others have posted, we kept the external window shutters closed in the kids' bedroom for safety. The staff in the main office were extremely helpful & friendly. Overall, a very positive experience & we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We often have some great festivals in Barcelona, so if you like that one, we hope to see you again to experience even more of our beautiful city attraccions in different seasons of the year.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

What low standards!! We stayed at the apartment on roselló and it was a freakin joke. The double bed has springs that stick into your back and it dips in the middle. I was almost impossible to sleep with 2 people as we kept rolling into each other. The single beds were just as bad. We all woke up with neck and back pain. On top of that we didn't even use the blankets because they smelled like other people. There were no covers on the duvets. And the color looked like sweat color of you know what I mean.

And then there's the no hot water!! We all needed a nice shower after spending the day walking in the Barcelona heat getting all sweaty and sticky. What a horrible surprise to find out we would have to take cold showers. I'm not talking about luke warm. I'm talking about straight up freezing cold.

We've never had such a bad experience in our lives. Check out Easysleep BCN instead. They have much higher standards.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Perfect apartment for our needs with great facilities including tv, wi-fi, air con, cooker, fridge, washing machine, iron, hairdryer and balcony for hanging out laundry.

Quick walk or metro ride to pretty much everywhere in Barcelona.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Overall an excellent experience that made our holiday perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aandkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for such a nice feedback! Hope to see you again in Barcelona!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We took 3 apartments on ARAGO street for one night. Those were on very noisy street, and in one apartment the air conditioner did not work

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Xela1 S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#137 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#124 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
HCC Montblanc
HCC Montblanc
#218 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#44 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#62 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Sant Jordi Apartaments Fontanella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Apartments Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Apartments Barcelona

Property: Old Town Apartments Barcelona
Address: Fontanella 18, Principal - 2 | Office at Fontanella 18, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 754 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Town Apartments Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Old Town Apartments Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Apartment Barcelona
Old Town Apartments Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing