We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat near Room Mate Emma hotel.”
Review of Bodega Joan

Bodega Joan
Reserve with
Bodega Joan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #409 of 9,689 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Eixample
Description: Opened since July 1, 1942, Bodega Joan is one of the oldest restaurants in Barcelona and always has belonged to the same family. Joan's grandfather, actual director of the local, was the founder, and since then,it passed from father to son until today. Specialists in Spanish food and catalan food. Here you will find the true experience of a catalan restaurant bar, where we support the FC Barcelona with pasion and where the movement of people and joy are our dishes every day.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place to eat near Room Mate Emma hotel.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Found Bodega Joan from TripAdvisor and what a gem of a place. Have a drink, tapas or a 3 course meal. Very nice atmosphere, friendly staff, good Catalan food at reasonable prices and heavily used by the locals. My kind of place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    283
    81
    25
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“El sabot local....”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We popped in whilst on a wee walk through the area with my the teenagers, three hours later we left with full bellies, a smile and genuine feeling of bonhomie!! Great food at good prices, very friendly staff and the home of real FC Barcelona penya (supporters club) to boot.

Whomever didn't like the food has never lived, we had rabbit, churasco steaks and a handmade picante burger for my youngest son, all of the best quality and served with a smile.

Venga... a great wee local.....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a place”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I felt that this was a truly typical Spanish bar. When we went, and we visited many times during our stay we were outnumbered by the locals who had just stopped in. Had breakfast and lunch here and both were fine. The breakfast was worth it just for the freshly squeezed orange juice, the tapas was lovely and the Iberian ham sandwich was to die for. We were always made to feel welcome by all the staff who were very helpful even though I butchered their language! A big thank you to one waitress who was very helpful with our little boy, Rhona - you're a star! Well worth a visit even if its just to see the fun shaped beer tap.

Helpful?
Thank Egonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freising, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Disappointing service. Croquettes were the best thing of the Tapas. Breakfast not good. Give it a miss and go to Nello's down the street.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank swissmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welcoming and good value!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was the obvious place to eat after arriving at our hotel Evenia Rossello which is across the road. We all had the menu of the day which comprised of a starter and main course from a choice of about 5/6 each for little over 10 euros. The soup and pasta starters were enjoyed by the group of 9, the mains were simple, we opted for barbique chcken with fries and I had the minute steak and fries. Both were again really tasty, the fries were not like any fast food joint, they were proper potato fries and delicious.... The youngster of our group enjoyed the pizza but could not finish it all, however found room for desert!!! The options were coffee, a Catalan rice pudding or a creme caramel / bruele both of which were tasty. We ordered wine with the meal and were offered a nice bottle of red, in fact we had two at 15 euro each, however we were not told about the 'vino da casa' which was a great deal cheaper (we found out in our next visit!!) but none the less the wine and meal were very much enjoyed by all and the bill was less than 100 euros for 9 of us.

We made numerous visits over our 3 day stay, having a few glasses of the local beer which we found to be the cream of the crop, and less than 2 euros per glass, the house wine was 3 euros 80 per bottle!!! we enjoyed tapas which were fresh made and very reasonable in price (we loved the garlic prawns!!) they also do an English style breakfast for 8 euro 20 cents.

Most of all we have to thank the staff, they made our visits warm and welcoming and shared jokes with us, nothing was too much trouble!! Will definately return, both to Barcelona but also to Bodega Joan Gamper!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth8186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Joan also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Bodega Joan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing