We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, spacious room but small improvements would help” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Martinval

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Martinval
Ranked #23 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, spacious room but small improvements would help”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel is in a cool old building with an unique lift! Room was clean and tidy and really quite spacious for European standards. We had a room with the double bed and a single. Not very sound proof but thats only an issue if you have noisy people next door! Close to Sagrada Familia and there are plenty of food choices around. Supermarket right next door. Metro stops close by which is really great in Barcelona.
Small details would really improve the rating for this hotel though. There was no blanket on the bed - just a sheet. This was ok the first couple nights but then it got quite a bit cooler. The toiletries are only given to you once on check in and not replenished. For a 4 night stay we would have appreciated a top up! Had to ask for extra toilet paper which you kinda expect would just be topped up.
Overall though good value - you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mousey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    244
    71
    11
    8
See reviews for
94
298
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed for two nights in one of the double rooms with a shared bath on the floor one level above the reception. I was very pleased with the shared bath - very large with double sinks and a nice walk-in shower (perhaps the largest shower I have seen in Europe!). We did not have to wait to use the bathroom since it seemed to be shared by only 3 or 4 rooms. The room itself was fairly spacious, with a closet, a desk as well as 2 night stands plus the queen sized bed. It had a nice TV and good wi-fi. It faced the street and so suffered from street noise. But with the French windows closed, the noise was not a problem. The problem is that Barcelona was having an early hot spell in mid-June and it was difficult to keep the windows closed, although we had a fan which helped a lot. If I were to return to Barcelona in the cooler months, I would be happy with this room and this hotel. In summer, I would certainly choose a room with A/C (although some reviewers have said that the A/C is not perfect - I do not know.) But there are other advantages to this hotel - the location is excellent for visiting La Sagrada Familia and the other Gaudi sites. It is not that far to walk to Las Ramblas and I enjoyed the walk down Passeig de Gracia which leads you to Las Ramblas. There was also the best restaurant we found in our 3 weeks in Europe only 1 block away from this hotel. (El Palermo). We ate there twice. The hotel staff here are very nice and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for the value that it offers. My only concern would be with the noise in the summer in the rooms without A/C.

Room Tip: Choose a room with A/C in the summer if street noise is an issue. Otherwise, the rooms on the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great location, clean, comfy bed, helpful staff and very reasonable price. Would recommend unless your looking for something fancy, then keep looking. Restaurant recommendations were very good . We would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vvegas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for three days on our trip to Barcelona. We were looking for a budget friendly place that was not exactly a hostal. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and very decent for the price. Unfortunately the hostal says they have airconditioning but really it is central air that does not transmit into some of the rooms since their is no ventialtion in the room itsself. Luckily it was not too hot outside and we opened the door to our porch and we were okay. The hostal brought us a fan and was very accomodating. The location is around 25 minute walk to Las Ramblas and 20 minute subway ride. Too far for my liking and I think one could get a similar room closer to Las ramblas. Only 2 min walk to casa mila and 10 min walk to Las Sagrada familia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed three nights on a short trip to Barcelona with my niece - we had a double room and she had a single room. Clean, comfortable, basic accommodation - nothing fancy, no frills, but more than adequate for what we required. For my niece's room, she initially had problems with her shower head spraying everywhere, plus the drain/plughole was draining very slowly, so that her bathroom became flooded (hers was essentially a wet room - no shower curtain or door). However, upon explaining this to housekeeping, these problems were quickly corrected. There was also a brief power outage another morning, which was not really explained. Apart from these issues, we enjoyed our stay. It's in a good location, near to public transport, shops and cafes. Only a short walk from the Sagrada Familia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Excellent hotel, clean, brand new rooms, safe and secure, staff is very helpful from receptionist to cleaning lady. 15 min away from key places by foot, 5 min from metro and buses, right next to a Spar and plenty of great restaurants... Go for it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InghaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
199 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

This hostal is in a nice area of Barcelona & close to many of the attractions. The rooms are nice and clean & the staff were very helpful! If you like hostals then you will like this facility. It wasn't cheap, Barcelona is not a cheap city. There is grocery very close to this hostal so you can pick up grocery to cut food costs.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle_SD_308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#179 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#94 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
Gracia
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Generator Barcelona
Generator Barcelona
#26 of 760 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Argo Barcelona
Hostal Argo Barcelona
#32 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#10 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Martinval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Martinval

Property: Hostal Martinval
Address: Bruc 117, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Martinval 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Martinval is a two stars, pleasant and exclusively modernized. In the heart of the Eixample Neighborhood Next to the famous Passeig de Gracia and 10 minutes walk from Plaça Catalunya. The area is well connected with public transport, metro, train and bus, very close to Barcelona´s architectural wonders, "Segrada-Famila", "La pedrera" and "Casa Batilló". The historic city center, the Gothic quarter, is also just 15 min walk. Martinval is a boutique Hostal, we offer 10 private rooms, all the rooms have elevated ceilings and beautiful interiors, most of the rooms are patted with balcony. Rooms have attached private bathrooms which are modernly designed. The rooms have televisions in it with the entire regional and national television channels. At Martinval you feel at home with our exceptional quality services of rooms. We are aimed to offer tourist, backpackers and group an economical and modernize accommodation with best room services and facilities which can be found at any high level hostals in Barcelona. Have a great experience in Barcelona by staying at the most innovative and economical hostal: Martinval Barcelona!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Martinval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Martinval Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing