We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveler rating
322
297
82
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
297
82
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssagrada familiaancient liftspar supermarketcasa millahot waterown bathroomrooms are nice and cleannoisy neighboursminute walkfirst floorspacious apartmentstayed here for nightstriple roomfacing the streetcleaned every daythin wallspublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 728 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Helpful staff, wonderful position in the Eixample, lovely building, big room and free wifi. Reception is open 24 hours and they are really warm. The position is ideal, not too touristic and exactly between Plaça Catalunya and la Sagrada Familia. The building gives you the idea to actually live in Barcelona, since the hostal shares the building with other families.

Room Tip: Fifth floor is nice and quiet. enjoy
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Lovely hotel. Such friendly staff who were so helpful immediately upon arrival.. Our room was lovely, clean and bright and the bathroom spacious and very clean. Would definitely stay again.The only negative thing was my WiFi connection wasn't very good.

Room Tip: A private bathroom was nice.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were a little sceptical that this place was called a hostel rather than hotel but this is definitely a hotel and a really nice one too! The hotel staff are tremendously friendly and didn't mind that our arrival was really late. The location is perfect. You can walk to most places or to get there quicker it's so close to the subway. It's also in a quiet location. The lovely old fashioned lift took us up to our huge room with gorgeous bathroom. There was a huge walk in shower! It was a fantastic surprise. They even gave us a bottle of wine in the room as it was my boyfriend's birthday. It was super clean, super spacious and super comfortable. One of the best value places I've ever stayed i and if I ever went back to Barcelona i would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annah1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hostal is located in a wonderful old building!
Very good location in the center of Barcelone, (especially only 5minutes away from Sagrada Familia and next to metro station Girona), clean and big room, free wifi, great hositality from the staff and the prices were also great!!
We strongly recommend Martinval Hostal for your holidays in Barcelona!!! Just do this! ;)))))))))

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christina399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great location! the room was very large and clean and the bed was excelent for a good night of sleep. All of the Hostal's employees were very kind and always available to give all kinds of tips and/or directions. I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews