We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bed, Good Shower, Clean Room, Great Stay”
Review of Hostal Martinval

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Martinval
Ranked #19 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Claremore, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Bed, Good Shower, Clean Room, Great Stay”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

WE stayed at Martinval for 4 nights. We arrived early and they helped us find a place to eat while we waited for the room to be cleaned. Our room had a balcony with a nice view of the neighborhood. The room was very clean, bathroom was roomy and had plenty of hot water. Not lavish but very nice, since we were only there to sleep. Very quiet, and the beds were comfortable. Metro stops are just two blocks away and we were in great position to walk to all the sites, especially Sagrada Familia Church and Casa Mila. Lots of little cafes/coffee shops close by. The staff at the desk were especially helpful when we inquired about touring sites. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archi-jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    256
    75
    11
    8
See reviews for
105
307
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Hostal is in a reasonably good location and neighbourhood, and only a 8 - 10 minute walk from La Ramblas and 5 minutes to the metro. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly all speaking very good English and offering good advice on what to see, where to eat etc. Our room was simple, but clean and spacious, for the money it was good value. Just a note: If you do sleep in past 12 (because you have been out enjoying the great nightlife) your room will not get serviced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
서울, 대한민국
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We are staying here 5 nights.
Location is really good so you can walk around the city.
Staff are very kind and speak english well.
The room are clean, we can use hot water anytime.
This hostal is very gorgeous. If we come back barcelona, we will stay this hostal again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My friend and I stayed there for 4 nights and it was very good. The stuff was polite and friendly. The room was very clean and lovely. It even had a small balcony. The bathroom was nice and comfortable. We never had any problems with hot water or something like that. Free WiFi sometimes wasn't very strong but it didn't ruin the main impresson of our visit to Mrtinval: it is very good hostel with great service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrinaPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The room is very clean, the receptionist is very friendly, but the door of the washroom was hardly to open. We stayed here for 3 nights, the second night we didn't have hot water when we came back to the hotel, but the receptionist fixed it quickly. We all loved this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An1ta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badhoevedorp, Nederland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We (female 45 and male 16) stayed for 43 nights on the 1st floor with small balcony facing the street. Noisy (traffic) but we were to tired so no problem. Free Wifi was sometimes weak in the room. It is simple but good. Very helpfull and friendly staff! Nice shower with good hot water. Location is very central and nearby big shopping street Paseig de Garcia and Ramblas de Catalunya and Placa de Catalunya (10 min walk) and to the metro stations. They give 10% discount for the touristic bus and if you want to see a lot of Barcelona you should do this! 3 routes in 1 day, you can get out wherever you like. Every 10 minutes there comes an other bus. Staff gave lot of good advices: metro, locations, restaurants. Best one for tapas is Cerveseria Catalana!! Very nice food and not expensive. Only you have to wait for about 30-40 minutes for a table, but worth it! Accrose the Hostal is a good simple little restaurant to have breakfast: Itaca. We had a great visit in Barcelona and a good nice stay in Hostel Martinval.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chietje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly, helpful staff and comfortable rooms. This hostal is in a good location, slightly out of the main hustle & bustle, but a short walk to some of the main tourist sights and the metro. The room i had was for three people, so there was plenty of space and it also had a lovely terrace you could go out onto and see a little of raw Spanish life!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaPhotopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,742 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#204 of 512 in Barcelona
881 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#185 of 512 in Barcelona
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#194 of 512 in Barcelona
1,900 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#30 of 512 in Barcelona
3,887 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#46 of 512 in Barcelona
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Martinval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Martinval

Property: Hostal Martinval
Address: Bruc 117, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Martinval 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Martinval is a two stars, pleasant and exclusively modernized. In the heart of the Eixample Neighborhood Next to the famous Passeig de Gracia and 10 minutes walk from Plaça Catalunya. The area is well connected with public transport, metro, train and bus, very close to Barcelona´s architectural wonders, "Segrada-Famila", "La pedrera" and "Casa Batilló". The historic city center, the Gothic quarter, is also just 15 min walk. Martinval is a boutique Hostal, we offer 10 private rooms, all the rooms have elevated ceilings and beautiful interiors, most of the rooms are patted with balcony. Rooms have attached private bathrooms which are modernly designed. The rooms have televisions in it with the entire regional and national television channels. At Martinval you feel at home with our exceptional quality services of rooms. We are aimed to offer tourist, backpackers and group an economical and modernize accommodation with best room services and facilities which can be found at any high level hostals in Barcelona. Have a great experience in Barcelona by staying at the most innovative and economical hostal: Martinval Barcelona!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Martinval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Martinval Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing