We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hostal- great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Martinval

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Martinval
Ranked #24 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent hostal- great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at hostal Martinval for 5 nights. Our room was on the third floor with a balcony facing the street. It is a very basic room, so dont expect any phone, place to store much clothes, AC etc... Wifi in the room was also quite weak. The rooms are kept clean, and there's always hot water at great pressure in the shower. The hotel is located in a quiet street, so we easily slept with our balcony doors open. And its only about 10minute walk away from plaça catalunya, la rambla and other places you wanna visit! Its also just a few blocks away from the metro and the famous passeig de Gracia. We also got a 10% discount for the touristic bus :) finally the staff were truly extremely helpful, helping us with directions and advice for moving around... For what we paid, it was a very good experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gl0betr0tter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    243
    71
    11
    8
See reviews for
94
298
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

It was a little hard to find at first, but thanks to Google Maps we found it. What a great bunch of people that run this little Hostal / mini Hotel. There is a 24 hour rotation of staff, and every single one of them was so helpful, and friendly. Our room is just as it looked in the review pictures. The bed was really comfortable. I had asked for an extra pillow, which was delivered to my room no sooner that requested, plus an extra for my hubby as well. We had a room facing away from the street, with a little balcony. Nice shower, water always hot and water pressure very good. Central location, and easily accessible to public transport etc and many sights. To top this all of, this little gem was so reasonably priced. Thanks Hostal Martinval staff for making our stay in your beautiful city such a pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The room was simple, without a wardrobe and windows cannot really to be opened, however it was clean and nice.
The bed was very soft and nice.
Towels and sheets could be a bit fresher.

Unfortunately, bad wifi connection.
Location is quite central and in a safe area, though requires a walk to the real central parts, close to Sagrada Familia.

Great service! They really tried to help us with some questions we had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whocares61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, I was apprehensive as it was a hostal but it is more like a hotel. The room was fresh, clean and large. The ensuite had a powerful shower, and the towels were changed once during our stay. The reception staff couldn't be helpful enough, on our arrival they told us the places to avoid and the transport tickets to get. We decided to go to the ice bar on the sea front and I recommend you buy your tickets from reception as they will make you a reservation and you get a free drink. There was a free meal at a local restaurant included with our stay at a local restaurant, the food was outstanding and we only had to contribute 4 euros!
The only downfall was the thin walls, but hey its an old building.

Room Tip: Don't buy food on the Rambalas, go to resturants off the strip as the food is better and cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H5221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Everything is wonderful of Martival Hostal except that there is no living room or any other public space. There is a lobby but it is small and of little funtion.
Despite that little complaint, the location is great. It is close to famous Passeig de Gracia but still in a quiet and safe neighbourhood. However, for the same reason, there is not as many interesting shops or restaurants as in Gotrico or other more crowded part. But it doesn't matter because the traffic is very convenient.
The staff are very helpful and interesting. They helped to finish my online checkin and gave good recommendations for food. They were offwork late at night but it is easy to call them back by phone if you need any help.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey_Shen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in June. Lovely hotel not far from La Ramblas. The staff are very welcoming and happy to with any queries. Their is a lovely muscle restaurant next door which had some of the nicest muscles I've had in a while. I would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamminB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

A kind of accomodation that really was value for money, basic but reasonable. Location superb, in a safe neighborhood. Staff was very helpful and friendly, from the beginning to the end. Only negative was noise from the road when windows were open at night, temperature required this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeGe_sthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#179 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
Gracia
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Generator Barcelona
Generator Barcelona
#26 of 760 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Argo Barcelona
Hostal Argo Barcelona
#35 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#10 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Martinval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Martinval

Property: Hostal Martinval
Address: Bruc 117, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Martinval 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Martinval is a two stars, pleasant and exclusively modernized. In the heart of the Eixample Neighborhood Next to the famous Passeig de Gracia and 10 minutes walk from Plaça Catalunya. The area is well connected with public transport, metro, train and bus, very close to Barcelona´s architectural wonders, "Segrada-Famila", "La pedrera" and "Casa Batilló". The historic city center, the Gothic quarter, is also just 15 min walk. Martinval is a boutique Hostal, we offer 10 private rooms, all the rooms have elevated ceilings and beautiful interiors, most of the rooms are patted with balcony. Rooms have attached private bathrooms which are modernly designed. The rooms have televisions in it with the entire regional and national television channels. At Martinval you feel at home with our exceptional quality services of rooms. We are aimed to offer tourist, backpackers and group an economical and modernize accommodation with best room services and facilities which can be found at any high level hostals in Barcelona. Have a great experience in Barcelona by staying at the most innovative and economical hostal: Martinval Barcelona!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Hostal Martinval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Martinval Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing