We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not quite great”
Review of Hostal Martinval

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Martinval
Ranked #24 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My partner and I spent 4 nights last week at this Hostal. There are many things to praise about it, but too many small problems to give it an excellent rating. The good things are the location, about equidistant from La Rambla and the Sagrada Familia and within easy walking distance of both. Close to a Metro station (if you're not big on stairs, avoid the Metro!) on a line that runs direct from Sants railway station and with useful bus stops close by too. Several nice cafes and restaurants, bars, a convenience store and two huge flower and plant shops are withing two minutes walk.
The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, the shower one of the best I've found when travelling. Everything seemed really clean although when we mopped up some spilt water we discoverd the floor could do with a good mopping. It was great to have the balcony, both for the views and fresh air, and also because my partner was allowed to smoke out there.

One really annoying thing was that despite my having booked through Venere and being assured on the hotel site and in the confirmation email that I would not be billed until the time of the stay my credit card was debited immediately. The hotel told me that was policy for non-refundable bookings, which may be logical, but it did upset my budgeting as it put the charge through a month earlier than scheduled. Venere has yet to respond to either of the two emails I have sent them, even more annoyingly.
The quibbles: reception is not 24-hour and although the people were friendly there is not the range of advice available that you might expect. We asked for extra pillows, the ones provided being quite flat, but these were not available. No soap is provided for the shower and, apart from the basin surround there is not a single shelf or hook in the whole bathroom or shower area - nowhere to hang towels or put shampoo or soap down. Our room wasn't serviced the first day which I accepted as we had slept very late, but there was no offer of fresh towels or supplies. It also wasn't serviced two days later which I queried and it seemed to have been an oversight - not acceptable especially as it was suggested we might have had a 'do not disturb' sign out even though there was no evidence of one in the room!
None of these things are deal breakers, just annoyances, and I'll just mention one thing that seems to bother other people but not me - there can be quite a bit of traffic noise. The Hostal is on the first floor (there's a fabulous tiny period lift) and there are big recycling bins outside which are emptied every day, as well as normal traffic. But you're staying in the middle of town so enjoy the experience and be glad it's kept so clean!
Final word - I will definitely go back to Barcelona and this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bronze42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Martinval
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 656 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hostal Martinval covers the basics. Clean room, enough space, excellent shower. Location is good, prices are fair. Quality of sleep highly depends on the civility of guests in adjoining rooms, as walls seem very, very thin.
We enjoyed our stay and would gladly return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinpaiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay here over New Year. It was perfect and had everything we needed for a city break (i.e. not spending much time in the actual hotel itself) Once thing that struck me was the lovely fresh, clean smell, which you don't often associate with hostels. Rooms were spotless and much bigger than what I thought. The shower was huge with awesome pressure. We were in a street view roon which was great as it had the balconly but it is quite noisy in the mornings, especially with glass bottles being emptied from local bars/flats etc after NYE! But really, a city break in Barcelona is not for having long lies in, so it did not bother us at all. Bed was very soft, which I love however if you have a bad back, maybe not the best for you. Friendly staff, room cleaned and bed made up daily. TV with English channels, Very spacious. Would definitely stay here again.

Location is a 5 minute walk to the main shopping strip Pg de Gracia and about 10/15 min walk from Pl de Catalunya. We just got airport bus to Pl de Cat. then taxied to the hotel as we arrived at night. Oh also a lovely restaurant directly across the road on the corner and some great little bars for a nightcap. If you are into International beers there is an awesome shop/restaurant called Bruc 72 or 74 can't remember. Basically turn right when you go out the front door and keep walking for about 5 mins and it's right on the corner.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scozzie2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in this hostal for 4 nights and had a lovely time. Rooms are basic and clean, with a small (French) balcony. The room was cleaned every day, and towels and bed linen were changed during our stay. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is walking distance from the Sagrada Familia and Casa Battlo and Milo. The old town can also be easily reached on foot (about 15 min walk). The hotel does not serve breakfast, but we did not think this was a problem, as it is easy to find a place nearby for breakfast.
In short, we would certainly recommend a stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel is much more bigger than we imagined.And very clean,comfortable.We also have a balcony,which we can dry our washing,though the wind is a little bit strong.It is located in the city center and near to Casa Battlo.If we go to Barcelona next time,we will definitely choose it again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yimei Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

we only spent one night in this hotel but next time our stay will be only there! Very nice and clean hotel, nice people and nice white new room with a little terrace. We would stay here absolutely again. And a very good price too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We (2 couples in their early 50's) recently stayed at the Martinval Hostal in Barcelona for 3 nights 23-26 October 2012.
We booked online back in August which was very easy.
Perfectly centrally located for a visit to Barcelona.
The hostal is basic but all that you need for a few nights : friendly staff,good bed,very clean bedroom & bathroom,quiet with no street noise & there were complementary hot drinks in the small cantine.
All in all very good value for money.

The hostal does not have a restaurant which we thought was a bonus as in BCN there are more than enough places to eat & drink morning,noon & night.Those we experienced were very good,exceptional quality & reasonably priced.
We would definately stay in the Martinval again & recommend it to anyone looking for a basic,comfortable place to stay in the fantastic city of Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viviane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#178 of 513 in Barcelona
586 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,823 reviews
Gracia
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#24 of 732 in Barcelona
1,539 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Argo Barcelona
Hostal Argo Barcelona
#29 of 308 in Barcelona
288 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Colkida
Hostal Colkida
#35 of 308 in Barcelona
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Martinval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Martinval

Address: Bruc 117, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $40 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Martinval 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Martinval is a two stars, pleasant and exclusively modernized. In the heart of the Eixample Neighborhood Next to the famous Passeig de Gracia and 10 minutes walk from Plaça Catalunya. The area is well connected with public transport, metro, train and bus, very close to Barcelona´s architectural wonders, "Segrada-Famila", "La pedrera" and "Casa Batilló". The historic city center, the Gothic quarter, is also just 15 min walk. Martinval is a boutique Hostal, we offer 10 private rooms, all the rooms have elevated ceilings and beautiful interiors, most of the rooms are patted with balcony. Rooms have attached private bathrooms which are modernly designed. The rooms have televisions in it with the entire regional and national television channels. At Martinval you feel at home with our exceptional quality services of rooms. We are aimed to offer tourist, backpackers and group an economical and modernize accommodation with best room services and facilities which can be found at any high level hostals in Barcelona. Have a great experience in Barcelona by staying at the most innovative and economical hostal: Martinval Barcelona!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Martinval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Martinval Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing