We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Barcelona 02-08.10.2012”
Review of Hotel Medicis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Medicis
Ranked #279 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We want to thank for the very pleaseant stay in your hotel. The breakfeast was excelent. The people at the reception also. And Barcelona is a real dream. It was very nice and we have seen almost that we have planned. Cohen concert and Montserrat monestery trip

Rodica & Tudor Radulescu

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tudor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Medicis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 400 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Room was clean and linens were crisp and clean too. Thin walls and you could hear people on the next room. Good walking distance to La Familia Sagrada which was very nice. Very helpful front desk people as they explained the area, points of interest and transportation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MireiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked this hotel mainly due to free Internet access (wifi) only to discover that you HAD TO PAY for it very disappointing. The staff are lovely and cannot do enough for you, location is also great if you don't want to be directly in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knockabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just spent 4 nights in that hotel in Barcelona, not too far from the Sagrada Familia (one metro station or even better you can walk down Avenida Gaudi). The rooms are small with only a small TV, a hairdryer and a phone. Some of the floor tile is also a bit worn. However the furniture and linens are always impeccable. The walls are thin, but we did not have many problems with that. We could not hear the road too much either. Breakfast was good with enough selection so everyone can be happy. Best part is the staff. They are all multilingual and very friendly and helpful. i had an injury and required a magic bag to be reheated once in a while and they were more than happy to help. Upon arrival we were given the Barcelona summary with a complete map and directions by metro to everywhere we wanted to go. They even offered to help us with directions after we had checked out. All in all, I would recommend this hotel and would go back if I decide to return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTLcyclebuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The room was clean and comfy, but a bit noisy. Personnel was nice and ready to help. I'm pleased with this accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Eszter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Cannot find many ways to fault Hotel Medicis. When we arrived we were welcomed by a very friendly woman; their computer system was down but she gave the key to us anyway to go up to the room. The room was very clean and perfect for two women to spread out belongings etc; nice spacious bathroom.

Taxis back from Catalunya square and even the beach are perfectly priced; the most we paid was €10...some places in Spain start the rate at about €5! The metro system was extremely good and I would advice using this throughout your stay as its cheap and only a 5 min walk to the hotel.

Breakfast had a lovely selection; we'd even take a few pieces of fruit for the day. It was also great to have someone who spoke English in a city where very little do; receptionist also suggested a fantastic seaside restaurant for dinner (great paella).

Worth a stay if you're looking to eat breakfast and then spend the day sightseeing to come back and then sleep, ready for the next day.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Okay... this review was a long time coming... we were at Hotel Medicis in January 2012. First, about the location: really faaar away from the city centre and no one seemed to know where it was even one block down the road....we roamed around for almost forty five minutes within the block before we could find the place. Even during the stay, once we a were at Catalunya Square in the night and there is no direct bus to the place. and also all the buses do not run in the night, so most of the nights we had to catch cabs back to the hotel and that was expensive. Moreover, after six the area becomes deserted and there is no one around. we used to be scared to go out and we were told that the area is really unsafe (thieves, robbers,etc.). The only good thing about the location is that it is walking distance from La Sagrada Familia.

The staff seemed to be polite but inexperienced. In the sense that in Barcelona we faced an emergency (we were robbed!!!!) so we had to make calls to India to block our credit cards, arrange for duplicate cards, etc. and it was urgent. So i asked the lady at the desk whether their phone had international calling facility and she said yes. so we kept on trying to call India and we just couldn't connect. so other guests at the hotel also tried and even they couldn't connect. later on we discovered that the hotel had some limited calling plan where one could only call international mobile phones, not landlines and the reception staff were not aware of that. How can the hotel staff be not aware about the facilities at the hotel? it is indeed ridiculous. if only they had told me we would have just stepped out and called from a calling booth and not wasted hours!

During our stay, every time we wanted directions to any site in Barcelona (and these were not rare sites but popular attractions) the reception staff would not know it and even if they did provide us with directions, it would invariably be the wrong route/ wrong bus number/ wrong direction. and i am wondering how are the staff so unaware of the tourist attractions in Barcelona being in the hospitality business? In fact, we had started joking that if we had to find out which route not to take we should ask at the reception! This was also a huge negative since in all good hotels and guest houses our experience has been that the staff are supposed to help out with their local knowledge and directions.

The rooms were very small because our rooms in European hostels were larger than this but the washrooms were very spacious,which was a good thing since in some hotels they make the rooms large but the bathrooms are just a hole in the wall. The breakfast was alright, not much of a breakfast room though. The walls were paper-thin and we could even hear people sneezing in the next room and speaking to each other in the common area.

To conclude, would not really like to be back. Sorry.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aishee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#225 of 513 in Barcelona
1,147 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#200 of 513 in Barcelona
1,961 reviews
Amrey Sant Pau
#245 of 513 in Barcelona
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SmartRoom Barcelona
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
410 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#395 of 513 in Barcelona
246 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#384 of 513 in Barcelona
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medicis

Address: Castillejos 340, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Horta - Guinardó
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $59 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Medicis 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and intimate hotel situated in the vicinity of the Hospital de Sant Pau and La Sagrada Familia, well connected to the center by subway and buses day and night. Our facility is stipulated Nonsmoking, we do not allow pets or children unless accompanied by parent or guardian. Our rooms have satellite TV in several languages, telephone, air conditioning and / or heating, kettle for tea / coffee, hairdryer, hot and cold water. Optional buffet breakfast service. Parkin payment prior consultation availability. 24 Hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Medicis
Best Western Barcelona
Hotel Medicis Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing