We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average 3 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of HCC Taber

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HCC Taber
Ranked #301 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Zadar, Croatia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average 3 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

It was what we expected: a basic 3 star hotel, clean, normal sized rooms, polite staff and a decent breakfast (some days poorer, some days richer-depended on the time we came to the restaurant, earlier-richer). One particularity-we had the stationary bike in our room!!!! like we needed some exercise after so much walking around Barcelona! :) The main characteristic of the hotel-excellent location!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivacub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcctaber, Gerente at HCC Taber, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your opinion. We will consider your point of view to improve service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    245
    108
    20
    13
See reviews for
70
150
33
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the HCC Taber. The hotel provides basic (3 star) amenities...a clean room of a decent size with two twin beds (pushed together), solid surface flooring, a fair sized bathroom with a tub/shower combination, a hair dryer, an in room safe (additional €5/night), a closet with some storage shelving, a television, and free wifi. The air conditioning was not great (and the weather was pretty temperate while we were there). We had a room with a terrace and needed to leave the door open for the room to be cool enough. The hotel breakfast was also very basic...not worth the price charged. It was all or nothing...no way to just purchase coffee or a single breakfast item. We had the breakfast the first morning, but cancelled it for the rest of our stay. There are many restaurants, coffee shops, etc. open for breakfast in the immediate area. We found a great place just a half a block away.

The front desk staff were extremely cordial and helpful (5 stars...thanks, Carlos and Gabriel!). They answered many questions, provided maps and detailed directions for walking and/ or using public transportation to get where we needed to go, assisted with an ATM issue, suggested places to get snacks, ice cream, or dinner. The location is also 5 stars. It is a very short walk to the metro, the hop on hop off bus stop, the Placa de Catalunya, and Las Ramblas. We actually walked with rolling luggage to the hotel from the AEROBUS stop at Universtat...took about 10 minutes, It is also located in an area with many eateries of all kinds nearby.

I have rated the hotel 4 stars...the average of 3 star amenities and 5 star location and staff. The Taber met my expectations and needs. I would stay there again and recommend it to others with similar requirements.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcctaber, Gerente at HCC Taber, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for yor comments and your perfect explanation.
In reference of breakfast and for future you could order for example only a coffee and we will charge just for it. It not necessary that you have all the breakfast buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Would be Solid 4 stars: nice rooms, very roomy and comfortably furnished, air conditioned and bathroom well built. Professional reception and cleaning staff, good breakfast, good location (no view though). Actually i remember toilet was not cleaned properly in the beginning -1 star

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcctaber, Gerente at HCC Taber, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your point of view. I am so sorry about the toilet in the beginning. Please, next time tell us at the time to act accordingly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is perfectly adequate for a short stay in Barcelona. We were there for 2 nights. Its about 25 euro in a taxi from airport, check in was smooth, staff friendly, rooms were quiet and clean and location is excellent in the middle of a lot of good bars and restaurants in a very nice part of town. If you are looking for a good hotel as a base for this great city, that is quiet and clean and good value, look no further. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcctaber, Gerente at HCC Taber, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
I appreciate your kind opinion. Thank you very much for your point of view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

There is not too much to write about this hotel but it's great location right off the upper part of Las Ramblas. Also the metro station is close and it's easy to navigate around.
Hotel has 3*, so , it's nothing special but has all you need for a short city-break.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcctaber, Gerente at HCC Taber, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank your for let us know your point of view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Great position close to main shopping areas and within easy walking distance of the airport shuttle bus. Rooms are fairly basic but clean. Free Wi-Fi was great, fast and reliable. Continental breakfast was good but the option to order hot food was hit and miss. On second day it took me 10mins to be able to flag down a member of staff to try to order and then she couldn't understand even when I tried pointing at the item on the menu - I only ended up with half of my order. Our main issue was some other guests who were rude and inconsiderate, a family in the next room were talking very loudly/arguing until the early hours of the morning and we were woken up by 2 men talking and closing door loudly at 4am!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LohManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcctaber, Gerente at HCC Taber, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
First thanks for your comment.
I will take appropriate action with respect to your comments about the receptionist when you arrived and the answer for wi-fi code.
Thanks for informing me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed in Hotel HCC Taber in March 2014. It`s a small but well run hotel, just a short walk from the Rambla area, and fairly central for all traveling. Rooms are good and of a specification, relevant to the price. We had a balcony which had great views of Barcelona, and local areas.
Staff service was good, with special mention of David & Carlos, who were extremely helpful, on Reception. Nothing too much trouble.
Rooms are reasonable sized,well maintained,the lifts are fast, and the facilities would suit all but the most demanding of customers.
The Breakfast is typically Continental but cooked items can be ordered. There are many local cafes & restaurants a short walk from the hotel for coffee, cakes, sandwiches,and full meals.
If you want a good, quiet and reasonable hotel, near central Barcelona, this fits the bill.
I wouldn`t hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcctaber, Gerente at HCC Taber, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind opinion. I will inform David and Carlos about it.
It is a pleasure for me receive feeb-back as yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel HCC Regente
Hotel HCC Regente
#270 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Eixample
HCC St. Moritz
HCC St. Moritz
#281 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
HCC Montblanc
HCC Montblanc
#218 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
HCC Open Hotel
HCC Open Hotel
#297 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
El Raval
HCC Lugano
HCC Lugano
#195 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#219 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HCC Taber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HCC Taber

Property: HCC Taber
Address: Arago, 256, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HCC Taber 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel HCC Taber is situated beside Rambla Catalunya and occupies a modernist building which was designed by Domènech i Montaner, one of the most important architects of the time, whose work also includes the famous Palau de la Música (Music Palace). Its strategic central location, in the heart of city's main area for culture and shopping, makes this hotel one of the best choices for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your HCC Taber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HCC Taber Barcelona, Catalonia
Hcc Taber Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing