We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, Clean Hotel...Poor Service”
Review of Hotel Vilamari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Vilamari
Ranked #193 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Lancaster, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Modern, Clean Hotel...Poor Service”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed in May 2013 on a trip with friends following a cruise. The hotel doesn't look like much from the street, but it was very contemporary and clean in the lobby and in the nicely-appointed, cozy room. We requested early check-in because we were arriving from a cruise and decided to eat the complementary breakfast, coffee, etc., since the room was not ready and likely would not be ready until later in the afternoon. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and urged us to partake of anything on the buffet - which wasn't much - but it is Europe so the offerings are different from the US. After a few minutes of eating a scone and some bitter coffee, a very rude waitress demanded to know our room number since breakfast was not free. Confused and getting quite frustrated by the server's poor attitude toward the situation (ie. speaking only in Spanish to the clerk as if attempting to insult us behind our backs), I spoke to the front desk clerk who suggested we at least paid for the coffee (even though we had specifically stated we would be checking in early). Nonetheless, we were eventually able to resolve the situation by pointing out we were leaving at 4 AM the very next day, so we would not be having breakfast anyway. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for its cleanliness and decor. However, beware of serving staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest,
We are glad you have enjoyed you stay. Sorry for any inconvenience you could have at the restaurant. Waitress tries to check all people having breakfast. If you had breakfast included the day after and you were missing it because you were leaving before, yo could have told us and we will not charge anything.
For a cruise passengers we offer early ceck in and late check out (under availability). Maybe the day before we were fully booked and we had no rooms available at that time.
Looking forward to see you in the future.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    363
    105
    30
    14
See reviews for
95
373
27
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights pre-cruise and would def recommend the hotel. We enjoyed the location as we were not bothered about staying in las ramblas. We used the metro to get around which was a 2 minute walk from the hotel and very easy to use,clean and air conditioned!
The rooms although not large are lovely, I do not understand people's concerns re the bathroom door as we never found privacy a problem. The showers were fantastic and the products provided were great (toothbrush,toothpaste, shaver and foam etc) so if you had forgotten anything there would be no time wasted searching for chemists etc!
Outside patio area also very nice and we enjoyed a glass of wine out there one evening. We did not eat at the hotel but food I saw in the restaurant looked lovely.
Front desk were very helpful ordered us a taxi to get to the cruise port ( large taxi for 4adults and 4 suitcases) and use of the safe box was easy and convenient.
I would not hesitate returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobber73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments. Hotel VIlamari is a good choise for a cruise passengers. We are close to the port cruise and we can arrange transport for 15€ approximately.
For cruise passengers we offer early chek in, late check out (under availability), bottle of cava and special amenities.
Looking forward to welcome you on your next trip to Barcelona.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We are Non-smoker couple and we got a room for smokers. Explanation was that because when the hotel is full we have to use all the rooms. The room was very smelly and there was impossible to sleep well. We got a new room for 2 last nights but the air conditioning was broken. There was 35 degrees in Barcelona and humid air but the air was better outside than inside of the hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Customer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,
We apologize for any inconvenience you could have had at the hotel. We have smoking rooms only for smokers but sometime people smoke in other places where is not allowed.
Whenever the hotel is fully booked, in case some guest don't feel confortable in the room, we offer a new room. If the new room has some problems with the air conditioning you must tell the problem and the maintenance technician would fix it or we would change the room for you inmediately.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lammas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just back from a 4 day city break, which was 'awesome'. The hotel facilities are great and their website does not do them justice. Everything was spotless and our towels were changed daily and the bed linen every other day. There was water in the fridge each day and various toileteries were provided. We used the free safe deposit box in the reception area. Reception staff could not have been more helpful.. booking taxi, and researching best deal, booking and printing tickets for one of our excursions. (By the way, if you can , book your tickets in advance.. you will avoid long queues!). The hotel is a short walk from Playa de Espanya with a host of eateries and transport links.
We did the hop-on-hop-off bus on day one.. good value and great for an overview and orientation. We also had Barcelona cards which made transport so easy and gave us some free entries and discounts as well.
We ate at a Chinese eat-all-you-want restuarant on two occassions. Just off P de Espanya ..great value and good food.
We also found a super market just across the road from the hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook an internal 'light shaft' These are a bit dark but we asked to be moved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed for one night in a double room. The hotel is lovely, clean and welcoming. We were able to check in before noon which was an unexpected bonus. The staff were very friendly and the enclosed outdoor seating area was ideal as we were travelling with a 15 month old child. The room was clean and there was lots of toiletries and travel essentials supplied in case you forgot to pack those little necessities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ03NEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thak you for you comments. We hope to see you again in Hotel Vilamari.
Kind Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just returned from Barcelona, We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights: from August 15th till August 17th. A family of 4, two kids (10, 14) and two adults
Very comfortable. Friendly and welcoming staff.
The hotel is very close to Olympic stadium

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoram_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay in Hotel Vilamari. The family rooms are good because they are twos comunicated rooms with a bathroom in each room. Kids under 12 years do not pay breakfast. Good deal for a family. Looking forward to welcome you in the future.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay after a cruise. The front desk staff was most helpful and friendly. Got our rooms by 11 AM. Marta (?) helped accommodate my family of 5 with a third room as the rollaway was not available. She offered advice for touring the city. Georgina also helpful with the safety box, reserving the taxi, etc. They made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was 10 euros and well worth it. The food was fresh and a welcome change from the ship's menu. Lobby and restaurant area was clean and comfortable. The room was small, but fine. The bathroom was clean and included extra soap, shaver, etc. Only problem was some water stains on the ceiling. Very convenient location. Walked 5 minutes to Placa Espanya and the Arenas for food. Easy and safe walk to the Magic Fountain in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernanda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay, even if it was for just one night. We only have double standard rooms, with a queen size bed or two separate beds. For three kids the room is a bit small if they are older than 10 years. We offer a nice buffet breakfast from 7 to 11am or 8 to 12am at the weekens. That means guest can rest very well and wake up not so early.
Looking forward to welcome you your next time in Barcelona.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
HCC Lugano
HCC Lugano
#201 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#152 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Montjuic
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
#115 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#111 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#72 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#65 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vilamari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vilamari

Property: Hotel Vilamari
Address: Vilamari 34-36, 08015 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly AC Vilamari)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#145 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#199 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vilamari 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Vilamari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Vilamari Barcelona
Ac Vilamari Hotel Barcelona
Ac Hotels Barcelona
Hotel Vilamari Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing