We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vilamari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vilamari
Ranked #187 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was a very nice, clean reasonably priced hotel. It is located in a convenient area. The staff was very helpful. A good breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The rooms are small, but modern and very nice.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and ours was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank janiceivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilamari, Gerente at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your comments.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    359
    102
    30
    12
See reviews for
93
365
26
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The reason we only gave it 2 points is because we had much higher expectations for a 4 star hotel. But the staff are really nice! especially Georgia!

The room: Nice interior but kind of dirty. You could see stains on the walls and the wallpaper was a bit worn.t wasn't that bad, but still for a 4 star. I It was ok but absolutely not a 4 star.

bathroom: the interior is modern and cool and everything...but definitly not as clean as in the pictures on the internet! you could see rust arround the corners of the shower and there was mold in the hairdryer! The bathroom doesn't even have a door! it was just a dirty piece of glass with neither a handle nor a lock.

location: nice! 1 minute walk from plaza espana and 23 minutes walk to la rambla

I would return if they cleaned it up. If not, no.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlemcen_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilamari, Gerente at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Good morning,

We have just read your comment and are very sorry about the situation. It is quite uncommon if you consider how highly other guests have rated the cleanliness. The rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and once a month a thorough cleaning is done of every room. The rust you found is due to the filtration of water from the shower.

We hope that this does not reflect negatively on the hotel and that you will continue to place your trust in us.

Regards,

Hotel Vilamari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Vilamari two separate in October 2012. The rooms are small, although some are a bit bigger. The hotel is clean, modern and the staff friendly and very helpful. On our first stay we found the room so small we could not unpack, but given we were there only three days before our cruise it was OK. After the cruise we stayed for four more days and had a larger room. The location of the hotel is great. It is a block or two from Plaza Espana and the famous fountains (to be seen at night). It is almost on the Gran Ave. and thus lots of Metro stops or you can walk almost everywhere.... we did. The price was great given location especially when compared to other hotels in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a closet tht can be used
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October 2012. The first day we checked in very early and didn't expect to get a room as it was only 10am. They very helpful staff provided us with a room right away and we were able to nap and shower after a long day of travelling. The rooms are a little small but come with a fridge well stocked with free drinks including water, coke and fanta that are restocked daily but the cleaning staff. The TV was very small and there was no wifi for free in the rooms but free wifi was provided in their lounge so that was fine. There are no in room safes but you can get a safe at the front desk with your own key and separate locker space so that worked well.

The location of this hotel is amazing. Just one bus stop from the hotel (a 20 min ride) and 2 short blocks from the Plaza di Espana... a sight to see and also a public transportation hub with buses, subways and tour vehicles all stoping here. The dining in the area is fantastic as well and we found delicious food just steps away. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask that your room does not face the inner courtyard. There a few rooms that face inward and the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilamari, Gerente at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your comments, now we have free wifi available throughout the hotel. You will be able to enjoy it on your next visit.

Regards,

Hotel Vilamari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We chose this hotel as we wanted a reasonably priced hotel in a good location. The hotel and its staff deliver so much more than the price you pay! We got the Aerobus from the airport to PlaÇa Espanya. Hotel is so easy to find and it took us less then 5mins to walk down with cases and a pram. Warm welcome from the staff and free softdrinks in the minibar. Everything is immaclate and clean. The lobby, hallways, lifts, rooms and bathroom. There is quite a selection of toileteries too including razor, toothbrush, comb, shoe buffer and the regular shampoo etc. Quite impressive for a relatively cheap 4* in Barcelona.
Location is amazing. Mini supermarché on the same block, so many cafés, fresh fruit stores, bars and the huge Arena. Spoilt for choice, even if you've not inlcuded breakfast in with your room. You can hire bikes from 2 blocks up for 6euro a day which is great value and fun! Or there's bus and metro stops literally metres from the hotel door. Definitely recommend to anyone who wants a bit of luxury for less in Barcelona!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsAllen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilamari, Gerente at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Good morning,

Thank you for your comments, we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Hotel Vilamari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This not our first stay in Hotel Vilamari and not much has changed over the years. I consider the location to be excellent. Close to all important things (bus to the airport, main transportation hub, famous Magic Fountain, good restaurants...
At the same time it is not too close to La Rambla (it is not far), so the the neighborhood feels friendly, not noisy.Staff is really helpful, minibar is not fancy but it is free and is replenished daily. Internet is free in the lobby. Rooms are really small but modern. Bathroom is nice spacious and clean, as everything in the hotel.
The main thing that is not ideal is that they have not changed beds since several years ago when they were perfect and now they feel a bit rundown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gralence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilamari, Gerente at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Good morning,

We appreciate your comments and hope to see yousoon.

Regards,

Hotel Vilamari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
HCC Lugano
HCC Lugano
#195 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#153 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Montjuic
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
#116 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#97 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#66 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#65 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vilamari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vilamari

Property: Hotel Vilamari
Address: Vilamari 34-36, 08015 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly AC Vilamari)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#145 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#199 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vilamari 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vilamari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Vilamari Barcelona
Ac Vilamari Hotel Barcelona
Ac Hotels Barcelona
Hotel Vilamari Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing