We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent accommodating staff!”
Review of Hotel Vilamari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Vilamari
Ranked #193 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent accommodating staff!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights prior to a cruise. Staff were all extremely accommodating and knowledgeable about recommendations for places to eat and transportation. The staff even booked and printed tickets to Sagrada Familia for us without blinking an eye. Standing in the lobby, we watched as the staff ran out after guests and gave them umbrellas as it started to rain. Free wifi in lobby works well. Staff speaks great English. Close 3 block walk to the old Arena (now a mall with restaurants at the top) and Placa Espana. Easy ride to and from airport with cost effective Aerobus to the Placa. Will definitely stay again!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaOT
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vilamari, Gerente at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Good Afternoon,
We appreciate your comments and hope to see you soon.
Regards,
Hotel Vilamari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    373
    110
    30
    16
See reviews for
100
388
27
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a really nice, modern hotel for a very reasonable price.

It's not in the best of locations for tourists, but there's a subway stop nearby, and about a 20 minute walk brings you into Raval.

The room had classy furniture of dark wood and was neither huge nor tiny. The bathroom was nice (with lots of provided toiletries), and the bed was comfortable. There's no safe in the room, but you can get a safe box for free in the reception area.

Try to get a room facing the courtyard - the rooms facing the street are quite noisy if you sleep with open windows.

The breakfast buffet was good, with an adequate variety of different foods.

The only negative points: the corridors to the rooms are very dimly lit, and free wifi is only provided in the lobby (and quite slow as well).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Like many other reviewers we loved the location of this hotel, so easy to get to from the airport on either the Aerobus or the local public transport bus which is even cheaper! Just down the road from the Place d'Espanya where there is a very good Tourist Info centre, you can catch the metro, bus to La Sagrada Familia and be sure to visit the converted bull ring shopping centre! The hotel itself was lovely, reception so friendly and welcoming and with very very good information for tourists. The room was modern, clean and had everything we needed - the free minibar with water and soft drinks is a really nice touch when you've been out walking all day. We used the safety deposit box at reception. This was a great value hotel just off the main road in a quiet side street which was also close to cafes and restaurants both local and tourist. We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were so glad we did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jozcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilamari, Jefe de Recepción at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Jozcat,

Thanks for your feedback., we hope to see you back with us.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Vilamari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel was at a wonderful location near Place d'Espanya, so it was so convienent to come to and leave Barcelona as the Aerobus stop was 5 mins away. A tip though, when you get to the Place d'Espanya, it's a huge traffic circle. Face the Arena across from Fira de Barcelona, and the street on the right hand side is the street you want to walk down to get to the hotel. When going back to the airport, the Aerobus stop is in front of the fancy hotel right at Place d'Espanya. Barcleona didn't have many street sign names, so it took us awhile to find the hotel. Metro station was also 5 mins away at Place d'Espanya. A huge plus for this hotel was that not only was it clean and tidy, but also the mini bar was free, so we didn't have to purchase water consistenly. It was also handy at night when you are thirsty!
The walk from Ramblas is about 30 mins, but I wouldn't recommend walking it at night as you take many back roads and it all seems a bit shady as the streets are quite empty.
The front desk staff was extremely pleasant and nice. One of the ladies even helped me check into my flight together, select seats, and print off my boarding passes.
One of the main aspects I did not like about this hotel was the bathroom door- it was only a piece of frosted glass on hinges that did not "shut", so it left about 1/2 inch gap around the door from the frame. And also because it was glass, you did not get any privacy what so ever in the bathroom- you can somewhat still see through the frosted glass and for sure- you can hear everything as well. I think if the facility installed at least a heavy curtain covering the door, that would work better for friends or family that are travelling and need that sort of privacy. Another aspect was that the wifi only worked from the ground floor, but the connection was not adequate most of the time. I couldn't tell if it was just my computer or not, but it would be nice to have wifi in the rooms.
But other than that- it was wonderful. Despite the whole bathroom thing, I would totally come back. The location was great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karrie_karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Thanks to tripadvisor reviewers we booked the Hotel Vilamari for our one night stay in Barcelona before going on a cruise. First of all, we couldn't believe the good price and even more so when we saw what a really nice hotel this is. It is very modern and clean and has everything you need to make your stay comfortable. I know someone wrote that his room was robbed and the staff not helpful. Thankfully we did not have the same experience and made use of the safes that are in a room next to the reception desk. We also found the staff very pleasant.
LOCATION--the hotel is located a few blocks from the Placa Espanya and is and easy and not expensive ride on the Aerport Bus that stops at Placa Espanya. We were able to walk to the Ramblas in about 20 or 25 minutes and if you don't want to walk , there is any and every type of transportation practically at your doorstep. We often choose hotels that are not always in the "center of things" but still within walking distance or near transportation because we'd rather spend our money elsewhere.
This is really a lovely hotel and we'd stay there again.
Bye the way, if you have a car there is a parking right next to the hotel

Room Tip: The room is on a side street so did not hear any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights.
The staff where friendly and very helpful. The rooms where clean , comfortable and very quiet.
The advertised free mini bar was a small fridge that was stocked daily with only 4 small bottles of water.
The location was very good close to all means of transport and easy access to shops , eateries and tourist attractions.
Some negative aspects include-
There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room .
The Gym is poorly equipped.
No in-room wifi available , guests have to go to the reception floor to access free internet.
Overall a highly recommended hotel for short stay travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie and Judi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was in Barcelona for work and stayed in the Hotel Vilamari for 3 nights,
last night i left my hotel for dinner and came back to find my laptop stolen from my room.
i went to report it downstairs to find i was not the only one. The hotel had been hit big time.
Lots of guests mostly conference people had loads of stuff stolen. Laptops; Passports; money. ipads; even clothes. at 9pm i was the 6th room but as more people came back they discovered it was more and more rooms!! So i was in the police station until 11.30 last night. I asked the hotel to call the manager. The manager did not show up. I asked the hotel to check the security cameras. They said the hotel had been broken into from the ground floor and they didn't have cameras there. They also did not have cameras on any of the floors where the robberies took place. Nobody from the hotel ever said sorry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Babsiemaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilamari, Director General at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dearest guest,

I am Olga Montserrat, the manager of Hotel Vilamari.
Firstly, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the incident that took place on the 6th September. Incidents like this are not at all common at the hotel but unfortunately they do sometimes occur through no fault of ours.
When the receptionist on duty was informed of the robbery, he contacted the person in charge at the time over the phone as I myself was away on holiday. Measures were taken to ensure the safety of clients and to avoid further robbery. Extra security staff was called in, we contacted the police to come to the hotel to check the installations and to speak to the guests affected.
From 8am on Friday the 7th there was someone at the front desk to assist guests involved however possible. At check out that morning these guests were asked if they had made a statement with the police and if we could have a copy of it so as to organize compensation through our insurance company.
Furthermore, we spoke to the person in charge of the group to apologise on behalf of the hotel, and this person was informed that the affected guests could file their complaints and request for compesation through us.
In your particular case, we know that your laptop was taken but we do not have your official police statement, as only two guests presented it in order to claim it from our insurance.
I would once again like to apologise for the incident and the inconvenience caused, and hope you will trust in our hotel again in the future.
Best Regards,

Olga Montserrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
HCC Lugano
HCC Lugano
#200 of 512 in Barcelona
337 reviews
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#153 of 512 in Barcelona
517 reviews
Montjuic
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
#105 of 512 in Barcelona
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#186 of 512 in Barcelona
474 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#109 of 512 in Barcelona
508 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#61 of 512 in Barcelona
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vilamari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vilamari

Property: Hotel Vilamari
Address: Vilamari 34-36, 08015 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly AC Vilamari)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#133 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#145 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#199 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vilamari 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Vilamari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Vilamari Barcelona
Ac Vilamari Hotel Barcelona
Ac Hotels Barcelona
Hotel Vilamari Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing