We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Amazing value!”
Review of El Callejon

El Callejon
Ranked #672 of 9,541 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food. Amazing value!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a real gem of a restaurant! None of the dishes disappointed. The best thing is the size of the dishes, you could order 2 - 3 tapas for around €5 each, which can be enough for a starter and main course. And a large glass of good wine is about €2.50. The food, service, and atmosphere make you feel like you're paying €100 for a dinner for 2 instead of around €40. Would thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone. On a budget or not..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jpn3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    173
    52
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went here based on reviews and were not disappointed! Loved the steak chimichurri, and bread with tomato. Food was quick, great selection, and the kids loved trying the little bites. We enjoyed everything. Service was great but not too stiff. More informal and relaxed, as it Should be.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skil22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
“Great performance price ratio”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I visited this restaurant with couple of my friends, and it was really pleasing environment. The food was perfect, patatas bravas, meats are all perfect. It was sad that we found this restaurant at the last day of our trip, but it will the first if I come back to Barcelona. It might be a little bit hard to find its place, but dont hesitate to ask to local people. This restaurant has both local cuisine and world dishes and serves it with very comparable price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank levent p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“You must go!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The most friendly and amazing staff. The service was excellent! The food was simply delicious and of the highest quality! The atmosphere was fantastic! A thoroughly enjoyable evening! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georginaomahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent, great value and atmospheric restaurant in a lovely part of Barcelona”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked a table for six at El Callejon after hearing about it from friends and reading some great reviews. We had been at Sonar music festival all weekend and wanted a nice night out to celebrate my friend's 30th birthday. We had a fantastic night!

The restaurant is a nice size and very atmospheric. We all had a selection of the tapas in offer. They were delicious and different from the standard tourist fare in Barcelona. I would particularly recommend the prawns in garlic and the goats cheese with foie gras.

The cocktail menu is great and they are also delicious. I had the mojito with strawberry and balsamic which was beautiful! When there were no strawberries left I was offered a watermelon mojito instead which was lovely and very refreshing.

The restaurant organised a lovely cheese cake with candles for my friend's birthday and dimmed the lights which was a lovely touch. The service was absolutely brilliant and the bill was excellent value. I go to Barcelona a lot and will definitely be coming back here.

A gem in Barri Gotic. I would definitely recommend El Callejon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurenedwinaobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Callejon also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Callejon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing