We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel DO
Ranked #7 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We love this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the DO and it wont be the last. This time we had a Junior Suite on the 3rd floor overlooking the Placa Reial. It's such a cool hotel, with very nice rooms in a very good location. Sitting in La Terrassa with a glass of Priorat people watching on the plaza is one of our favorite things in the world to do. But by far, the best part of being at the DO is the staff!! These people are so friendly and helpful and they treated us like long lost friends when we returned.

Moltes gràcies! Fins aviat!

Room Tip: Junior Suites are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 233rickb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    86
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
101
509
42
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent our honeymoon in the Hotel Do. When we first arrived we were greeted and shown to our room. Everything was in order and very smart. After 10 minutes we were gifted a 40 year old bottle of champagne along with lovely pastries. The staff were friendly and efficient, recommending and booking restraints, excursions etc which all proved appropriate. As read in other reviews before we went we did find there was quite a lot of noise at night, sometimes till 5 am. Although the sound proofing was good nothing could stop all the noise.

All in all though a lovely place to stay and we left feeling very spoiled.

Room Tip: Superior double room was spacious and benefited from a balcony. I imagine rooms racing the plaza wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pncookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

This was the third time in hotel Do and we simply love this hotel. The breakfast is superb, you can choose from a menu and choose where you want to eat, in the restaurant, on the terrace or in your room!! It is a luxoury stylish hotel and you step outside and are in the centre and everything is in walking distance. The people are very friendly and you get the best of service. We look forward to our next stay!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days, upon arrival the staff were very friendly and spoke very good english. The hotel is situated just off las ramblas (a great place to be based in Barcelona.) The rooms are very stylish and the small snacks and free wifi were a nice touch, not to mention the free drinks in the minibar. The service was impeccable and we recommend you try the hotel restaurant which overlooked the pretty square. Overall, the Hotel DO is fantastic for a city break and we couldn't recommend the hotel more highly.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeWalkersOneWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

A small and "cosy" hotel in the middle of the city. Very friendly staff, and great breakfast. We only stayed one night, and everything was perfect.

Free WIFI, minibar and small snacks upon arrival. Beds are comfortable, nice bathroom. Some noise from the streets at nights, but thats obvious in that location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hesyversen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldegem
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Hotel Do for 3 days. This is the best location when you visite Barcelona. The staf is very friendly and the room is lovely. A good bed with 4 different kind of pillows to shoose from. Also nice breakfast 'à la carte', not buffet. I will recommondant this hotel to everybody who goes to Barcalona.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights after disembarking in Barcelona from our cruise. The taxi drops you on Los Ramblas at the entrance to Placa Reial and it is a short walk over to the hotel entrance. Hotel Do is centrally located for walking excursions around Barcelona. The staff were very friendly and greeted us with a glass of cava while they took our luggage up to the room on the first floor. The room was very clean with comfortable beds. Nicely appointed bathroom with separate tub and shower. Non-alcoholic drinks in the mini bar were complementary which was nice. The included breakfast served in the restaurant was excellent and the servers were pleasant. On a couple of afternoons after our walk abouts we returned to the hotel and sat in the restaurant facing the square and ordered sangria and tapas. They make a great sangria! Our one complaint was the noise from late night partiers on Placa Reial that woke us up a number of times. It sounded like 1,000 conversations interspersed with yelling. The staff showed us how to close the outside shutters which seemed to help a bit.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors may be quieter than the first floor room we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaskBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#9 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#20 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Property: Hotel DO
Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing