We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalised service from a beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DO
Ranked #5 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Personalised service from a beautiful hotel”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My third stay at Hotel DO - the staff have welcomed me back as if I am family. I love the decor, copious breakfast, great food, location and excellent staff. I highly recommend people to this small family owned hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the passage way between the Plaça Reial and La Rambla are quite noisy early hours of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmanson31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    91
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
108
546
47
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent three nights here in early November and it couldn't have been better. The staff was amazing and there to help whenever we needed. This hotel was centrally located and we could walk everywhere. The attention to detail was amazing, from personalized business cards waiting for me in the room to the afternoon fruit and evening chocolates waiting for us everyday. When we return to Barcelona there is no question we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STULaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Location is good, in the famous la rambla area . Service is excellent from reception to restaurant to daily routine. The old 150 years building is unique equiped with first class amenities and quality utensils.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel does not deserve to be 5 stars hotel and it is overvalued in term of price, we have window with city view in the shower! And there are only four or five staff.

Poor internet connection, lack of staff, no trolly for laugguges, bad entrance, one elevator only, very small hotel, the breakfast is menu type so we have to call the only one waiter each time we need peace of bread, our room with a pool but it was very cold one even tough we are in winter season.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Almansoor55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We loved our stay. The hotel is in a good spot, close to the harbor and the maritime museum. The beds were amazingly comfortable as were the pillows, just like home for me. Afternoon fruit was delicious - room service yum. The food was very tasty. The staff friendly with great service. I loved the bathroom with bath, wonderful for a nice lay in. We will be going back that's for sure.

Markets are across the road - easy walk to the hop on hop off bus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed in the hotel last March. I was taking a shower, the floor was completely marble with no non stick strips, and no shower mat provided, and I slipped and smashed 6 of my teeth on the bath. I needed to find a dentist urgently and the staff had no idea where to even start looking. As it turned out I had to go to hospital badly bruised and shocked, and have had four surgeries since to rebuild my teeth and i have one more to go one year later!!!
No one from Management contacted at the time while I was injured waiting to get home, or since to see how I was doing although I made no demands whatsoever of them. A complete lack of care or interest in a client who was injured on their premises.

Obviously never again for me or my colleagues who stayed with me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank brendan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hotel is located on Placa Reial directly on the Rambla, you will not find a more central location if you want to explore the nightlife (cafés, restaurants, bars, night clubs just outside the door) and the cosy, narrow streets of the gothic quarter. Both the marina and Placa Catalunya can easily be reached by foot in 5-10 minutes.

The building is quite old, but was completely renovated with great respect to the original architecture. The result is a very comfortable, modern and stylish hotel, yet with a lot of the original, hand crafted details intact as an integrated part of the design. Our room was spacious with a great bath room, and with around 5 meters to the ceiling.

Staff was always very helpful and service minded, couldn't ask for anything more. Breakfast was a superb a la carte menu - very high quality, everything seemed to be home made.

The location is very central, and Placa Reial is a main place to meet up with friends before going out for dinner etc., so it can be quite noisy in the weekends. We already knew and saw it as a plus, but if you need complete silence at 10PM, I would at least try to get a room on the top floor.

We didn't find the time to try the spa, and weather wasn't suited for exploring the pool on the roof terrace, but we will definitely return to do so.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HendrikCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,249 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 513 in Barcelona
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
175 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,400 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Property: Hotel DO
Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing