We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever”
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DO
Ranked #4 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I love this place. The service is the best. The rooms are very trendy and everything is very personal. We had a room with the plunge pool on our balcony overlooking Gothic Square. The rooms was clean all the time. The food is great and the beds are comfy. The location is perfect. Most things are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LetishaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 908 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I guess this could be a 4 star review if 4 stars indicate "perfect" and 5 indicate "exceptional." It's not an exceptional "must return " to one-of-a-kind hotel but it is EXCELLENT..flawless...etc The lobby and theme are somewhere between museum nouveau and romantic. The staff is pleasant and quite helpful. The food in the restaurant is EXTRAordinary (and I rarely am a huge fan of hotel food)..the location is exceptional --right on a square at La Rambla. The rooms have WONDERFUL air conditioning with unusually cold minimum temperature options (12--13 degrees C!)..The pool is tiny and the "spa" is just a sauna. Their massage therapists are outside --house call--agents...There's really nothing to gripe about ..It's an intimate boutique ish hotel just large and busy enough to not really feel "intimate " -but still a wonderful ..somewhat upscale experience..I think the incredible food and in-room strong AC helped me push it to 5 stars!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewg818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel and fabulous location on the Placa Reial. Not at all noisy and we had a room facing the Placa. Lovely restaurant with outdoor seating. Concierge was extremely helpful. Very small rooftop pool but lovely on a very hot day. Would totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our mini break in this comfortable hotel. Attention to detail everywhere. Quiet comfortable room in central location. Lovely bathroom. Very comfy bed. Lovely breakfast served in Placa Reail. Wifi in the room and the brilliant soft drinks were included which was most welcome. I say included and not free as nothing is free. The high price reflects the standard, and this hotel is proof that you usually get what you pay for.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank carolyn083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was really looking forward to our stay at the Do based on all the positive trip advisor reviews. Maybe my expectations were too high but I found my experience disappointing.
The room was great but I did not think that it was so special.
Enjoyed the roof terrace. I thought the location was great.
The staff/service was okay but one female staff member at reception was actually quite rude when we realised we had made a mistake with our booking.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay but I have experienced much better elsewhere. I would not necessarily want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 36912JandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The taxi driver from the airport did not know the hotel which is always a worry! She dropped me on Placa Reial and said it is in there somewhere? No more than twenty paces off the Rambla and the oasis door opened. The reception is tiny but very tasteful and somehow intimate. I was greeted by a welcome drink and warm hospitality. Great room, excellent service. Food was good -a most enjoyable experience
The only comment the bed was a little too hard, the hotel offers a pillow menu so some comfort there.
Apparently the hotel opened only recently but they seem to the service ver well sorted

Room Tip: As the hotel is small and so close to the Ramblas there will be noise - I am a lite sleeper and I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranEH1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Central barcelona hideaway. Very helpful concierge booked our events including sightseeing tickets so that we could avoid long lines and concert tickets at the fabulous music hall. Quiet roof terrace was all our's during the day for relaxing, reading and napping. Complimentary mini bar, daily in room treats were nice surprises. Comfortable room and modern bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lksjdflkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 515 in Barcelona
1,375 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 515 in Barcelona
206 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 515 in Barcelona
280 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#7 of 515 in Barcelona
1,768 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 515 in Barcelona
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $296 - $745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing