We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona
Ranked #190 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Warwickshire, England
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed October 24, 2006

This hostal had everything I needed, clean, safe, comfortable and in a great location. It's only 10 minutes walk to La Rambla and 30 metres from the underground.

The breakfast is quite good, cereals, fruit, cakes (packaged) and toast, with juice, tea and coffee, from 7am-9:30am.

I slept in one of the upper 'bunks' which was suprisingly comfortable considering it was a matteress on the elevated floor. I liked the private cubicle idea with your own curtain so you could have privacy if you wanted. Found it stops you meeting people as easily though, but there is a large common room downstairs.

There was plenty of hot water in the showers whenever I used them, free internet and organised events like Tapas tours, bar crawls, a dj , then a band one night in the hostal.

The only downfall of the hostal is that it does get quite noisy at night. There were a couple of nights when some kids (around 10-12yrs old) were staying there. They ran up and down the corridors slamming doors (which made the bed vibrate), making it quite hard to sleep. Also as there's no curfew people are constantly coming back to the hostal at different times in the morning, so you get woken up quite often. I'm quite a deep sleeper and can sleep through most noise, but the doors slam a lot which makes the room/bed vibrate. The last couple of nights though were mostly quiet, so maybe it was just bad luck with inconsiderate guests the first couple of nights.

Overall if your planning on going out late most nights or aren't bothered about getting much sleep, this hostal is perfect. Everything is nearby, friendly staff, clean and comfortable and very cheap.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Magichands25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    138
    91
    43
    26
See reviews for
5
26
115
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jdurhgids;
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2006

My husband and I just got back from a Europe backpacking trip. We checked into the Gothic Point Hostel and were stuffed into a bunk/loft so small you had to lay down to put your clothes on. It was so hot at night we had to sleep w/out any clothes and woke up all night sweating profusely. There was no windows in our room and the door was shut all night. The staff was helpfull, but if you are looking to actually get a good nights sleep do not stay here .

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — do not stay here
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank murphtaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2006

Ideal hostel - clean, great showers, good breakfast and free internet. Also great location for what seemed everything by foot and the bonus of having an underground station 50m away. I would also recommend a superb tapas restaurant just around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knightyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 14, 2005

Gothic point is one of the dirtiest hostels I have ever stayed in, the rooms are cramped and stuffy (and I stayed in winter!), it is also one of the noisiest places, worse than any other hostel I have stayed in (if you are going to stay here forget about getting any sleep). The staff are surly and unhelpful, security is terrible there,the only positive aspect of it is its location, which is really good. However, there are plenty of other hostels in the area, I left this one to stay in another one nearby and it was far superior in every way, and cost the same. It was the only downside on my trip to Barcelona so please be cautious of booking here, there are many great hostels in Barcelona and this hostel is definitely worth avoiding.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 22, 2005

I was supposed to stay there for 2 nights last month. After checking in and going to bed (which was ver uncomfortable and noisy) felt something in my pillow and to my surprise there was a colony of bedbugs both on the bed and climbing down the wall, it was digusting, I will advise everyone to avoid this place at all costs.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 29, 2004

The Gothic Point hostel was a great place to stay. The people there were friendly, however the place seemed to be perpetually understaffed - you usually had to wait in line at the desk. The free breakfast was great - lots of choices. The rooms were really cool - I really enjoyed the privacy that the loft set-up with the curatins gives you. You can keep your light on and do other things without directly disturbing anyone else. The bathrooms were in good condition, and the free internet was definitely nice. We also took the walking tour they offered, which was a nice cheap way to familiarize ourselves with Barcelona. The only downfalls are that its pretty noisy at night, inside and out, even though quiet hours are "enforced". I also think that there was an extra charge for actual blankets, which we didn't pay for, so we were a little chilly at night. But they do include fitted sheets and a pillow case. I would recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Barcelona.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2004

Stayed here in July'04. The good: great location, nice staff, fun/young environment, decent shared facilities (for a hostal). The bad: Not cheap for a hostal if you have two people, suck it up and pay the extra money for a "real" hotel. Also, my girlfriend got basically zero sleep because we were sharing a room with some loud people. I slept fine, but I could sleep through an earthquake.

Helpful?
1 Thank mchang45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#79 of 723 in Barcelona
857 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
360 Hostel Barcelona Arts&Culture
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Itaca Hostel
Itaca Hostel
#33 of 723 in Barcelona
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
Equity Point Sea - Hostel Barcelona
Les Corts
Dream Cube Hostel
Dream Cube Hostel
#140 of 723 in Barcelona
79 reviews
Eixample
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
#70 of 723 in Barcelona
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona

Property: Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona
Address: C/ Vigatans 5, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera , Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equity Point Gothic Hotel Barcelona
Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing