We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hostel, but watch your bag at the entrance!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona
Ranked #185 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a bad hostel, but watch your bag at the entrance!”
Reviewed November 3, 2009

The hostel was ok, with some good features, like a large communal area, and terrace, and big lockers for your stuff, but 2 of my friends had their bags violently snatched, with passports and everything, whilst they were waiting to be let into the hostel as they were arriving. The hostel is in a great location, but it seems to be attracting theives. We heard of another group who had a rucksack stolen in the main entrance while they were waiting to leave. The hostel accomodation itself was fine - our room for 14 was on the tight size, but ok, and the showers were a bit hit and miss but ok. Breakfast again was ok - although the mouldy fruit in the fruit baskets was slightly off putting! Overall the place looks good, and has a nice atmosphere, but just be very much on your guard when you are arriving.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    143
    92
    44
    27
See reviews for
6
26
120
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The best two things about this hostel were the privacy curtains around the beds in the rooms and the location. However unfortunately the positives seem to end here. This hostel was extremely noisy and it was impossible to get a good night's sleep due to both outside noise and people screaming and running amok in the corridors in the middle of the night. Some of the bunks are about 3m off the ground at the top of a wobbly ladder and if you need a bedsheet you have to pay for it. You are not meant to check in before midday- bad luck if you arrive on an overnight bus- and the shower cubicles are very small with no place to put your belongings. The attitude of a couple of the staff left a bit to be desired as well- don't come here looking for customer service- politeness was certainly not the order of the day for a couple of the staff i encountered- if they think you are stupid for not knowing something they will let you know!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoloresWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This is one of the best hostels that I have stayed in. The 12 bed dorm that we stayed in had a curtain round each of the bunks to give you privacy. Each bed had a 'safe' next to it too which you can use with your own padlock. Everything was clean and the linen that was provided was ok. The free breakfast in the morning was was a good addition with toast, criossants and cereal. Great roof terrace and communal area to meet other travellers. Great central location. Top hostel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waxworkfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Just returned from a stay at the Gothic Point Hostel. The location is awesome. Metro just around the corner, plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Just a short walk to the beach and to Las Rambla and Catalunya.
But this place lacks cleaniness. Towels are stained, sheets not always clean. The A/C doesn't work in all rooms. The dormatories don't have enough space for bags. There aren't enough lockers. The private rooms across the street weren't cleaned during the stay, only the trash was emptied. There were cockroaches in the bathroom one night. There's only an A/C in the living room and it's always hot in the private rooms . There's construction going on right now, so it's a bit loud and dirty in the staircase.
Breakfast is very basic but okay. You can use the internet for free 20 minutes a day but only for the first three days - though it says otherwise on the signs.

All in all, great location, okay if you only stay there at night but a bit more cleaning would be a good idea.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCFan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I could easily recommand this hostel to anyone. We payed 30euros each, it's a little bit over for a hostel but I think it worth every penny. With my 2 girlfriends we stayed in a room with 14 other people, but don't let this number freak you out because there are wooden walls between every bad so when you go to sleep there is only one bed you can see which is in front of you. Behind this wooden wall, there is a safe next to your head which you can use also like a mini-table. Shower and toilettes are common for each floor. But there is so many that I never waited to take a shower. And plus factor of tihs hostel that there is a huge lounge(well waiting area), at specific times like after dinner before going out, you see tons of people to meet with which is important because I kinda person who would start talking to you for no reason. And there was 3 computers with Internet access for free and a little kitchen.

Conlusion; if you are not a hygen-freak and want to meet new people when you're in Barcelona, this is the place and location was perfect also it's in the old part of the city.

P.S: If you're going for a calm vac at the beach and shopping, there are 2 other hostel with same company running, which goes like
Centric Point Hostel
Sea Point Hostel

Have a good trip

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volkitovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roveredo in Piano
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

I initially reserved a room for a group of 12 girls. All said and done, only five of us ended up going because of an airline cancellation (Ryanair), but the girl at the desk (who spoke VERY good English) was really understanding and didn't charge us for the rest of the group. The hostel is a little difficult to find at first if you're coming in from the Metro as it's set back around the corner from the main street. It's very secure, you have to buzz the door to get in and show them a security card they issue you when you check in. It's close to Las Ramblas and right around the corner from the Metro so it's perfect for sightseeing. There is a girl's bathroom that consists of two toilets and I think five showers that you share with all the girls in the hostel. There's also another private bathroom/shower upstairs for girls to use. The hostel has a big balcony upstairs, and there's a laundry room in it as well. Everything was really clean. Towels are 2 euro and blankets 3 euro for renting. The floors are really squeaky and old though...REALLY rickety and pretty annoying when other people are walking around, and depending on which dorm room you're sleeping in it may not be exactly as pictured on the hostel website. We were lucky and got put in the "private" bunks, but there was another room where it was set up boot camp style. There's lockers so if you need to lock anything up, make sure you bring your own lock (or you can buy one for 3 euro from the hostel, but they're pretty flimsy locks). They have breakfast in the morning, but it was mostly just pre-packaged muffins and snacks. Our room was freezing! I'm not sure the heat was working at all, and the tiny blanket I rented didn't do much to help...I had to layer up to sleep. Overall, this is a great place to stay though if you're just looking for somewhere to sleep, shower and no frills!

  • Liked — Friendly Staff, Price, and Location
  • Disliked — COLD!!! And rickety floors...
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank areyouserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English traveller
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2007

Once we eventually got to the hostel, it was great! Location couldnt have been better. The staff were friendly, the room was clean and spacious, the guests were friendly, the showers were well decorated and clean. The next morning, the breakfast was above average - the only strange thing being coffee in an orange juice glass... however - not really a deal breaker!! Gothic point was a pleasure to stay in. However, somewhere along the line between Gomio.com and the hostel, we were double booked and had to spend the first two nights in Cuitat hostel - dont go there!!!! Gothic point compensated us for their mistake, and we were happy with the treatment of the problem, its just a shame we couldnt have been there all along.

  • Liked — The location was excellent
  • Disliked — it was a little noisy from the street
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aibom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#77 of 722 in Barcelona
872 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
360 Hostel Barcelona Arts&Culture
Les Corts
Dream Cube Hostel
Dream Cube Hostel
#139 of 722 in Barcelona
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Ideal Youth Hostel
Ideal Youth Hostel
#292 of 722 in Barcelona
292 reviews
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#122 of 722 in Barcelona
300 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Itaca Hostel
Itaca Hostel
#30 of 722 in Barcelona
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona

Property: Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona
Address: C/ Vigatans 5, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera , Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 722 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equity Point Gothic Hotel Barcelona
Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing