We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Electric Bikes in Barcelona”
Review of Barcelona Battery Bikes - CLOSED

Barcelona Battery Bikes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Know how to ride a bike? Great! Our comfortable and easy to use electric bicycles flatten hills and shorten distances. Guaranteed to put a smile on your face and make you feel ten years old again.We offer 3 enjoyable and relaxing ebike tours. In the morning, the Montjuic tour is a great way to start the day. In the afternoon glide past Barcelona's iconic landmarks on our City Tour. The Twilight Tour is the perfect ending or start of your evening!Feeling adventurous and independent? Then just rent an e-bike. We'll provide you with all you need to explore all 4 corners of the city at your own pace.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
“Best Electric Bikes in Barcelona”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

When we found BCN Battery Bikes just beside the infamous Plaza Neri and Hotel Neri we were so happy to come across a bike rental shop with electric bikes. We knew we wanted to go to places beyond the city center but didn't know if we were in good enough shape to get there and back. Yan fixed us up with a few bikes that were well maintained and fully charged. Our whole group stayed closed to the route that Yan indicated having safe wide bicycle paths. He told us soon he would have for rent a DYI audio guide of Barcelona with over 100 places to visit.

When you stop in don't miss his eclectic collection of art from emerging artists. He may even be willing to part with a piece from the collection.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank julscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had such a fun time, those bikes are ideal for a visit of Barcelona.
Plus it was a suny day, we enjoyed so much ridding along barceloneta with a splendid sea view.
Battery bikes are pefect you can ride all day still save your strengh for the night.
Not even a muscle ache the next day! :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day with your bikes - thanks!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

It was really great to enjoy the day with your bikes, especially since Barcelona's quite steep. We went to Parc Guille which had been crazy tough if the bikes weren't electric. Big thanks from Sweden!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jazzandy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Experience with the battery bikes.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A really stunning experience these battery bikes! I can only reccommend to visit the city this way. The owner is very welcoming, kind and willing to help and the whole old area around the shop completes the package. Most definitely worth a visit and a try!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jedgar188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great bikes, service, and owners”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The two of us rode two high quality German Kalkoff electric bikes for three hours for about 36 Euros. Because of the holidays, winter hours, and early darkness, we skyped the owners in the morning to make sure we wouldn't stop by during winter siesta hours. They were really responsive and had the bikes ready for us to take out that afternoon. The bikes were in perfect condition with lights and baskets and really fun to ride. The owners provided us with good maps and directions too. They were helpful, pleasant, and warm and assured us that if we got lost and were a bit late in the winter darkness, they would wait for us. We found our way back on time to this shop located in the Old City (Barri Gothic, I believe), but it was great knowing we had that kind of back up. The next day I checked out some other electric bike rental places -- similar prices but lower quality electric bikes. I think Battery Bikes Barcelona is worth the price we paid. I highly recommend them.

We rode to the Citadella Park, Eixample, Gracia, and Park Guell. We chose the back way up to Park Guell which was too steep for us, so we used the outdoor escalators up many of the blocks. I learned from this that this Kalkoff model of electric bike does not have a throttle, so if you can't keep peddling (due to steepness and being out of shape) the electric motor will not give you any push. You are left with a pretty heavy bike to push up the hill. I liked learning that, since I'm thinking about buying an electric bike for San Francisco's hills; now I know I need both peddle-generated and throttle options.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank voltairesmistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelona Battery Bikes also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing