We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Catalonia Born

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Born
Ranked #48 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Spacious room with large terrasse and deck chairs etc. Very clean and tidy. A little od school design but don't mind it. Central - close to the beach and the center. Lots of small bars and cafes around. Breakfast was very good - lots to choose from and everything fresh and nicely served. Staff was helpful.

Room Tip: Choose with terrasse or balcony if possible. Try the gastro-bar across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAL488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoniaMatheuBarcelona, Director General at Catalonia Born, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear customers,

First of all, I want to thank your pleasant comments about our Hotel. We are happy to have been able to meet your expectations and you had a pleasant stay.

On your next visit to Barcelona, we would like to accommodate you again!
With our best wishes,

Sonia Matheu
Directora
HC BORN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    429
    103
    33
    19
See reviews for
157
505
59
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
austin, texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

After asking for a quiet room and shown one facing the street we were assured the street would be quiet once night came. As we gazed upon the two restaurants across the way (but not the bar we would later hear (!) but not see) we foolishly believed them.

Friday night patrons' noise was loud and steady until 1:00 AM then was followed by trash collections intermittently complete with shouted conversations until 4:00AM followed by the crashing of 100s of empty wine bottles being dumped in containers followed by more trash compacting trucks until about 600AM. Sunday morning was more of the same but only until about 430AM.
This all took place virtually directly beneath our second floor window.

It could be called a nightmare except we were rarely sleeping.

No doubt some of the rooms in this hotel are quiet but having been misled by staff we'll never know.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedandally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoniaMatheuBarcelona, Director General at Catalonia Born, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear customers,
First I want to thank the time taken to make comments about our hotel. Your feedback helps us to improve day by day and thus to achieve the level of quality we want for our customers.
My team and I very sorry that on this occasion did not have the room you expected.
On the subject of noise that tells us, in no time the hotel staff trying to fool anyone as it is not the way we act. We are known primarily for being a serious professional and dedicated to our job, to give the warmest welcome to our customers.
Hoping to welcome you on your next visit to Barcelona, take the opportunity to greet them cordially,

Sonia Matheu
Directora
HC BORN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here for 4 nights. Overall , I would say it was ok but not a 4 star hotel. Maybe a good 3. Rooms are quite small, the terrace is extremely small, bathrooms are an average size. The furniture in the rooms is old or of poor quality... However, the stuff was friendly, they provided the room with a coffee making set, tea bags,coffee and sugar. Sheets were changed on a daily basis. Very close to the metro station (3 minutes) which made it easy to access any part of the city. However, I would not choose this hotel again. You can certainly book a nicer one for the same price, just make sure it s near a metro station.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura25d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoniaMatheuBarcelona, Director General at Catalonia Born, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Google Translation
Estimados clientes,
En primer lugar quiero agradecer el tiempo empleado en efectuar los comentarios sobre nuestro hotel. Su opinión nos ayuda a mejorar dia a dia y de esta manera poder alcanzar el nivel de calidad que queremos para nuestros clientes.
Tanto mi equipo como yo misma lamentamos que en esta ocasión no haya tenido la estancia que Ud. esperaba. Me complace informarle que hemos pasado unos días de cambios tanto en la decoración como en los colchones de todas nuestras habitaciones.
Esperando poder saludarle en una próxima visita a Barcelona, aprovecho para saludarle muy cordialmente,

Sonia Matheu
Directora
HC BORN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The location was good, the room was nice, the staff were friendly. The rooftop pool was clean and well maintained although it was a bit too cold for a dip when we were there. We didn't eat in the hotel but the restaurant "elsa y fred" straight across the street is excellent for drinks and tapas and there are other nice bars and cafes in the neighbourhood too. It was easy to walk to most of the attractions and was very close to the arc de triomphe metro. We arrived at the north bus station from our Ryanair flight to gerona and the hotel was within walking distance of this and was easy to find.

The only minor problem was the aircon didn't work but we just opened the window so it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosierosierosierosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoniaMatheuBarcelona, Director General at Catalonia Born, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear customers,
First of all, I want to thank your pleasant comments about our Hotel. We are happy to have been able to meet your expectations and you had a pleasant stay.
Apologize for the inconvenience you had with the air conditioning as we discussed. During this time of year we usually still have the heat set. It is a time when the weather is very unstable and evenings still often cold.
On your next visit to Barcelona, we would like to accommodate you again!
With our best wishes,
Sonia Matheu
Directora
BORN HC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my wife and baby boy for 4 nights. The overall experience was good.

Pros:

- Excellent location, right next to the Arc de Triomf, and in walking distance to Catalonia square, the Rambla, Laietana, the Born and Gotic districts and the Ciutadella Park.

- A 2 min. walk to the Arc de Triomf metro station.

- Hotel is well maintained and seems recently renewed.

- Rooms spacious and comfortable

- Not located right inside the Born district, so the location is safe during late night hours.

- The price was excellent

Cons:

- the staff was efficient, but not all of them were very friendly. I wasn't even properly greeted when I checked in.

- The walls are thin and you can easily hear your next door neighbors.

- Noise from the street may be bothersome

- We had a bad smell in our bathroom that housekeeping wasn't able to eliminate.

- The bed was really hard. Some might like it, others won't.

To sum it up, I would recommend it - but only if the price is right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Websenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoniaMatheuBarcelona, Director General at Catalonia Born, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear customers,
Thank you for the time you have dedicated to write these lines.
We appreciate the comments that tell us as they help us to improve.
My team and I are still working to achieve maximum customer satisfaction.
Yours sincerely,

Sonia Matheu
Directora
HC BORN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

my partner and i stayed at the catalonia born for 5 nights we were a bit sceptical at first but this soon disappeared when we arrived at the hotel. The room was very modern and clean as was the rest of the hotel and the greeting we recieved from reception was warm and friendly. We felt at ease at the location which is very central. via Laitana is 5mins walk away and the las Ramblas is 10 mins away. I would recommend the Rosa Negra which is on via Laitana for iced lemon margaritas for 3.50 euros and a beer for 3 euros which suited us both. We had a great stay in Barcelona with no problems at all and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Catalonia Born Hotel .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sconie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoniaMatheuBarcelona, Director General at Catalonia Born, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear customers,
First of all, I want to thank your pleasant comments about our Hotel. We are happy to have been able to meet your expectations and you had a pleasant stay.
On your next visit to Barcelona, we would like to accommodate you again!
Thank you very much!
With our best wishes,

Sonia Matheu
Directora
HC BORN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed a week at Catalonia Born. No dramas whatsoever, good for the price, room cleaned every day and clean towels every day.
Close to all you need to see, La Rambla is a 10 min walk away, the sea front the same.

The only drawback is that theres no Kettle or Coffee/Tea making facilities in the rooms. We purchased a cheap kettle from the electrical shop just 100 meters from the hotel (turn right out of the entrance and its on the corner at the Arc de Triumph)

Yep you can pay more and get more but it was just the ticket. Was too cold for the pool on the roof but was a nice gesture lol. Pool is very small just incase your planning on doing lengths.

But very happy and would recommend it with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maclinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoniaMatheuBarcelona, Director General at Catalonia Born, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear customers,
Thank you for the time you have dedicated to write these lines.
We appreciate the comments that tell us as they help us to improve.
My team and I are still working to achieve maximum customer satisfaction.
Yours sincerely,
Sonia Matheu
Directora
Hotel Catalonia Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#54 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#30 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Vincci Gala Barcelona
Vincci Gala Barcelona
#60 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Podium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Born

Property: Catalonia Born
Address: Rec Comtal 16-18, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Princesa Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera , Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#160 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#178 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Born 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Princesa is located in a magnificent building typical of the architecture of Barcelona's gothic quarter. Near the Arco de Triunfo and the Ciudadela Park, it is situated in the historic and commercial centre of Barcelona, only a few minutes away from Plaza Catalunya. Our clients have a range of facilities at their disposal, including a bar/cafeteria, a traditional Mediterranean restaurant and a conference room. There is a public car park next to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Born reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Born Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Princesa
Catalonia Princesa Barcelona
Catalonia Born Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing