We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #45 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Excellent location, clean, quiet and well equipped. Fabulous service including additional complementary toiletries delivered to your room on request. Pool bar was a particular highlight and included great cocktail and a clean shower and toilet facility which was available post check-out. Pool is very small but ok for a dip to cool off. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgnesGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    530
    77
    26
    19
See reviews for
374
917
55
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great hotel with friendly and helpfull staff - managed all the online bookings for museums etc for us. The room was perfect (no 41 with view over harbour) and just recently renovated. Bathroom spaceious and clean

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hubertus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great location at the harbour close to good restaurants and areas around the rambla.

The hotel offered a comfortable room with good service and the roof top bar offers a relaxing break after a day of discovering in Barcelona. About 0.5-1.0 km walk from the beaches and close to the El Born area which has many good tapa restaurants.

Recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarstenFrederiksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel is located very nicely close to the harbor, and together with the excellent roof deck makes it a great place to hang out. The room we ended up with was however somewhat disappointing and quite noisy as it faced out against a main road. Also note that what looks like a swimming pool in a lot of pictures, is really more of a plunge, at best.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Casper,

Thank you very much for sharing your feed-back about your stay with us, your opinion encourage us to keep working hard to fulfill our guest’s expectations. We appreciate your nice words about the location and terrace. We always inform that our pool is small but ideal for a refreshing dip and sunbathe on the solarium ares, as it is in most of the roof terraces of this kind ofhistoric buildings, but we will reinforce this message and revise the information given everywhere not to create a wrong perception.
I also would like to thank you for your comments on the aspects we have to improve, actually our rooms are being renovated and it is very important for us to hear your comments. All rooms are 100% soundproofed because of their triple glazing windows and the air conditioning. We will double check all windows, unless you are talking about opening the windows, because we are located in the lively Gothic quarter, noise should not be a problem at all.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome back very soon again.

Kind regards,
Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

With so many hotels to choose from in Barcelona where do you possibly start. Well look no further, If you want a fantastic boutique style hotel in the perfect location , this is the place. Over looking the port whilst just a stones throw from the city centre, its just ideal. The rooms are modern , luxurious and spacious. The décor throughout the building is fabulous and the roof garden/bar is just out of this world.
Finally , the staff are friendly and extremely helpful and just added to what was the perfect stay. We will definitely be going back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of champagne! (Didn't even get that at the 5* W !)
We were told that due to how busy the hotel was that we had been given a free upgrade to the Junior suite! Fantastic!

We were then greeted by the hospitality manager (I believe? He was a new chap, only worked there for a couple of weeks) - Who was incredibly helpful, escorted us to our room and showed us everything there (aircon, coffee machine,etc) and were also given a welcome pack with a map of Barcelona and a travel guide! A real help.

Considering the room overlooked one of the busiest sea front roads in Barcelona I was incredibly surprised by how quiet the room was - silent.

Literally the only issue I had was that it wasn't a double bed - It was 2 single beds pushed together. Unfortunately I have a fantastic skill (curse?) for somehow ending up between the two in the middle of the night - which did happen.

But it's great location, only 5 minutes from Las ramblas and another 2-3 minutes from there to a metro station and 10-15 minutes the the beach.

Room Tip: Room 21 - Huge room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wh1terat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your opinion about your experience at the Duquesa de Cardona hotel, your compliments are much appreciated! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you give such a high value to every detail that we planned for you. That's fantastic!
Actually you had one of the best rooms in the hotel, a junior suite, but we should say that all the rooms in the hotel have been renewed very recently and that every room has something that make it unique. Certainly, as you mention, all are very well soundproofed with triple glazing windows to ensure a restful sleep. All rooms can be presented as double bed or twin beds, it only need to be mentioned. We feel sorry for that incident we take note to correct it inmediately. The location is also ideal, we are very near to Las Ramblas, right in the Gothic quarter and with panoramic and unique views of the harbour of Barcelona.
All the team of the Duquesa de Cardona are looking forward to welcoming you again in a very near future!

Kind regards,
Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager
Duquesa de Cardona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zollikon
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Although on the dear side the hotel offers all a family needs to enjoy qulity time in a vibrant city like Barcelona. Location is just perfect - right against the old port and actually in the gothic (old) town. A few minutes from la Barceloneta too. The hotel stuff is eager and willing to help, something not quite typical. The room was nice, spacious and quiet. The service was impeccable. The crew managed to find a family photo we left behind and under the guidance of Ms Sandra Martinez will send it over to us. Thanks a lot again!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the gothic town have no sea view and vice versa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Milko,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of the Duquesa de Cardona Hotel. I will make sure to say a special thanks to Sandra who you mentioned, she is great!, and also to the rest of the staff, a good feeling to see the recognition is noticed.
You are so right the location is amazing, right in the historic quarter with panoramic and unique views of the port of Barcelona, also very near to the old neighbourhood for the fishermen the Barceloneta, the beaches and so much to see and enjoy!
Our new family-friendly rooms and recommendations to discover the city with children make us an ideal hotel for families.
Please, do come and visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#23 of 513 in Barcelona
244 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
542 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#34 of 513 in Barcelona
1,314 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 513 in Barcelona
153 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Property: Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing