We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent rooms, location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #45 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms, location and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights, in separate rooms which were across the hall from each other, perfect. Nice large rooms, modern, very comfortable beds. Excellent location, from which we walked to a number of attractions. The rooftop lounge is amazing at night time, with a view of the port. The cava (champagne) welcome was a wonderful surprise and hit the spot after a long day of travelling.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andree59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    523
    76
    25
    19
See reviews for
362
894
53
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Arrived to a very warm welcome and a glass of cava compliments of the hotel, which is a lovely touch.
We were instantly made to feel special and the man on reception took time to advise us on things to do and see on our first visit to Barcelona.
The hotel is in a great location, right facing the port and backs on to the Bari Gotic area which is both charming and unique. We could be on La Ramblas within a 5 minute walk, which is were the closest Metro station is,
The room we were given was on the 3rd floor and classed as a deluxe, which actually just meant we were told by the reception guy that it over looked the port.
Fine room, plenty of space, clean fresh bedding,lovely blackout drapes and a set of French doors opening to a sliding door onto a mini balcony with a nice view (the next floor up would be even better) these doors kept all noise out of the room which was great as I am a terrible sleeper and road noise really disturbs me, I heard nothing!
The room had a couple of issues, there was a green/blue stain on the carpet near the bathroom, I presume mouthwash or toothpaste is the culprit. There were some stains on the walls near the entrance of the room from drink spills and the wall socket next to the bed was loose. The bedside tables had been damaged slightly and just looked older than expected in the room. The tv didn't work but we were hardly in the room so that didn't matter at all. The bathroom sink was chipped inside and the showerhead was poor quality although worked well it just looked cheap and not in keeping.
These points are just little things I noticed, they didn't make me hate the place and had they not been there I would have said this room was perfect. The bed was clean fresh and very comfortable with lovely pillows. The chocolates on the bed were a nice touch as was the weather report for the next day, however the room sent thing I didn't get, it never seemed we got that.
Please boil bottled water in the room, we used tap water the first day and our drinks were foul tasting like salt. Once we used bottled they were fine.
The roof terrace is really really lovely, the week we stayed it was cool and there were fleece blankets provided which was a nice touch so we watched the sunset with a glass of cava cuddled under the blankets, very romantic. The bar is well priced up there too which was a nice surprise. There is a small pool up there which I guess is just a place to dip in to, cool off and have a drink, you could not swim in it.
We didn't have breakfast as it was expensive (16 euro pp) instead we went to "milk" 3 roads behind the hotel, totally fab! The restaurant in the hotel is beautiful though.
I would stay here again next time we go to Barcelona as it is in a great spot, it was clean safe and friendly and I guess if we had an upgraded room I would give it 5 stars. To be honest you shouldn't be in your room for long when in Barcelona there is too much to see and do!

Room Tip: next time I will go 4th floor and above, the 3rd floor was just ok view wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel using Tripadvisor and booked the deluxe room with harbor views. The 4th floor has beautiful views! The mini balcony was the perfect bit of outdoors and the super glazed windows kept out all of the street noise.

The hotel staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the cafe (not the buffet) was a terrific value. Rooms were clean, well furnished and spacious (by American standards). The large, modern, sparkling bathroom was spa-like and comfortable. Tiny imperfections like a burnt out lightbulb were no bother.

It was an easy walk to everything and a quick cab ride from the airport. We should have taken more advantage of the rooftop terrace as the prices were good and the view was terrific. We saw a few thee guests while here so we knew the hotel was popular, but it was a quiet, peaceful stay despite being a full hotel. We will stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that your stay at the Duquesa de Cardona has been so pleasant and we highly appreciate your positive comments about our harbour view deluxe room (happy to know that you liked its just renewed bathroom!!), terrace and views, location and of course, our staff! We thank you for recommending our hotel to other travellers.
We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.

Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just returned from a great 4 day stay at this hotel with the family- 2 adults and 2 kids, aged 11 and 6. Have never posted on TA before but thought this hotel worthy of the effort! Warm and friendly welcome from the staff, we were given a glass of bubbly as we checked in, and, as we had arrived very early, took advantage of the superb location by taking a quick walk to the Port Vell harbour area with its great family attractions. Returned to find our bags already taken to our room, which was spacious, clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. This was a "quadruple occupancy" room with a huge double and two proper singles for the kids (not sofa beds), which overlooked the harbour and the busy Passeig Colom road- I was initially worried that this might be a bit noisy with scooters, buses etc but the double glazed balcony doors in our room cut out virtually all the noise! Other good points:- friendly, helpful staff who helped organise tours and tickets and were great with the kids; lovely roof terrace (with warm patio heaters!); great location for Las Ramblas, Gothic Quarter, harbour area, Barceloneta, and the metro for all other places! We only ate breakfast in the hotel, and just had the basic coffee/juice/pasties in the hotel cafe, but these were great value, only 50 cents more than going to a random cafe.
As I work for an airline as flight crew, I am lucky enough to stay in good hotels throughout Europe, so, as my wife will testify, I am quite fussy about hotels- no hotel is perfect, but I will definitely return to this hotel with the family, (and probably without the kids, too!). I know it's not the cheapest in Barcelona, but when you're on your holidays, sometimes spending a little bit more is well worth it. With this hotel, that is definitely the case!

Room Tip: Quadruple Occupancy rooms overlook the harbour and busy road but have good double-glazed balcony doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We went there for a romantic weekend in January this year. We loved Barcelona, this was helped by the amazing hotel. The staff offered a great service, drinks on arrival. A very clean and pretty room with a great view. Brilliant location a few minutes walk from bars and restaurants. The food market all in las rambles. A must stay I really recommend this hotel it had everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaA2282US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear AnnaA2282,

We really appreciate your positive review about your last romantic getaway with us, your motivating words encourage us to keep working hard to fulfill our guest’s expectations. The hotel is indeed is ideallly located and a perfect base to explore the city. From our rooptop bar terrace you can see paronamic and unique views of the harbour!
All the team of the Duquesa de Cardona is looking forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Kind regards,
Cristina Reus
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Hotel Duquesa de Cardona in Barcelona is a great boutique hotel to stay for those going on cruises or on business. The amenities are superb. For instance, the sixth floor terrace offers spectacular views of the harbor. Some of the rooms have double bathrooms. Additionally, the sixth floor has a plunge pool and a solarium. The hotel also has a 365 day open-air cocktail. The hotel offers free high speed Internet access. The hotel also offers a business center and a swimming pool. The buffet breakfast is served on the ground floor. The breakfast area has a history behind it in the sense that the entrance to the breakfast area is the same as that existed in the 19th Century. The members of the staff are trained well and are able to handle all the customers’ queries quite promptly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in an en-suite room there during our weeding. The day after the wedding my aunt came to say bye before taking the plane. While both of us were sitting in the lobby one man entered and took our attention to the keys which were on the floor next to the suitcase, when he asked for second time my aunt stood up at that time second man entered and snatched her handbag with all document including passport, jewellery and money worth 1000euro and got on a car and escaped. The only thing the hotel did was to call the police and to offer glass of water and a cup of tea. Nobody from hotel management contact us, there was no gesture or any kind of compensation for what happened.
We passed our first married day at police station and the second day in the consulate to get my aunt a new passport. They told from reception it was not for the first time but it was the most violent and organised one. so I am asking it is not the first time why there is no security guard at the door. How 4 people can dare to enter to a hotel knowing there are security cameras, also how did they know we had not only money but also jewellery.We believe it was not just coincidence they must have some insiders. We live in Barcelona for 6yers and we know the pickpockets are everywhere thats why we had warned the guests who came from abroad to assist the weeding but what happened was when we decided it is time we move from here because of the insecurity, attitude of police towards tourist and laws that protects the criminals.Also about the suite we stayed it was far away from being suite did not have separate sitting area, was not clean, the bedding was not luxury at all had only a flity throw

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elanour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Mrs.Elanour,

Thank you for your sharing your comments on your recent stay with us.
I am very concerned to hear of your experience and your feedback. We were also very upset when this incident happened at your check-out while you were sitting at the lobby sofas. We could not be more sympathetic with you offering all kind of assistance from our front office management. Fortunately it was an isolated case, although this kind of incidents can happen any place any time in any city. As it was recorded in the cameras and reported to the police, we could see clearly how two men entered the hotel and one distracted you while the other grabbed one of your bags unattendered at that moment, just in front of you. We are sorry to know that we did not fulfill your expectations about offering an economic compensation, but we hope you could understand that we cannot accept responsibility for the economical value of your stolen bag in this case, as we informed you.
Regarding your room, only to inform you that you booked a Junior suite (of 48 m2) and not a Suite that you pointed out, so your room fitted completely the facilities according to its category.

Thank you once again for your time.

Best wishes,
Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#22 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#25 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,311 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#89 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Property: Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing