We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for Barcelona.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #45 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel in early October. We booked online and didn't really know what to expect. We couldn't have been any more pleased. It is located within walking distance of all the places of interest, Las Ramblas, the Port, the tourist buses, the beach and the Gothic Quarter.

The staff couldn't have been any more friendly and helpful. The roof terrace was perfect and the mojitos went down a treat. On the days when the weather turned chilly, the staff offered us blankets so that we could sit out on the terrace for longer. Breakfast was relaxed and always good and the room was serviced quickly and efficiently.

Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethesunhine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for visiting hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona during your last visit to Barcelona. We are happy to hear you liked our location in the city, and the service from our staff.
Indeed our terrace on the sixth floor is ready to welcome our guests all year through, since the Mediterranean weather is very mild, and even in December or January, with heaters and a blanket, it is still very comfortable to be there and enjoy the fantastic views.

Thank you for your excellent review, and hopefully see you again!

With kind regards

Sandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,845)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,845 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

I love, love, love this boutique hotel! Its location is right across from the port, a few blocks from Las Ramblas and right around the corner from two cute little casual tapas bars: Boga and La Plata. In nice weather (and my stay was on October 24th), the hotel's rooftop terrace (with tiny pool) is open, serving lunch and drinks and offering a superb view.

The above alone would be enough for me to love the hotel but while checking out, the woman at the desk received a phone call from the housekeeping person who was cleaning my room. I had left a dress and a blazer behind in the wardrobe! The housekeeping person's quick action prevented me from sailing away--literally--without two of my favorite garments.

A terrific place with fabulous, service-oriented people!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Ms Judi;

Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for staying at the hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona. We are glad to hear we fullfithed your expectations, and felt comfortable in our property.

We would be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel in a future visit to Barcelona

With kind regards

Sandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We would highly recommend this hotel as we loved the location with its marina views. Also near to Aquarium and La Ramblas. On arrival enjoyed complimentary drink then lunch on the roof terrace in the october sun while enjoying another glass!. The hotel concierge was very helpful as were all the staff. Lovely find, nice to get back to the hotel to relax (lovely comfortable big beds ) after the hustle of Barcelona. Only gripe is that the only bar was on the terrace that did not have any heaters.Near to the charasmatic lanes where the choice of eating authentic paella was in abundance and doing the city break ritual of 'people watching'.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 126faraway13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest;

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona.
We appreciate your kind words about our staff, and we are happy you liked our welcome drink with cava in our roof terrace.
Regarding the heaters: in october we introduced 4 new heaters in our roof terrace, and blankets to keep enjoying our terrace cocktail bar also in winter. We are sorry if they were not there yet during your stay with us!

Thank you very much again, and we hope we welcome you again at Duquesa de Cardona hotel in Barcelona

With kind regards

Sandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel met all our expectation and more. The location was perfect. The staff at the hotel made you feel like you were part of their family and went out of their way for us to make our stay there very pleasurable. The view from the rooftop was the best ever. We will return for a longer stay in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic review, and for choosing Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona during your visit. We appreciate very much your kind words about our hotel and staff. We are very happy to hear you felt at home , and as a part of our family . These are indeed very nice words to hear

We hope next time you can stay longer with us, and enjoy again together the experience

With kind regards

Sandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My partner and I spent 4 nights at hotel duquesa de cardona and would highly recommend it. From the minute we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful giving us a map of the area and pointing out the good places to visit. The location was ideal for restaurants and la rambles was a 5 minute walk, as was the nearest metro and the beach is around a 15 minute walk. The staff were happy to call a taxi if we required one and said it would be around 10euros to the beach.

The room was very nice with great views of the narrow gothic quarter streets! We had a bath with shower in addition to a seperate power shower. The bed was very comfortable and the tv had a few English Channels. The rooftop bar and pool has excellent views of the port and does great food. Breakfast was also very good with a wide selection of hot and cold food. Overall for the price you pay for this hotel I believe it is excellent value!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for choosing hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona during your stay in our city, and thank you for your fantastic review about our property. We will keep working on the same direction to make sure all guests have a fantastic experience with us.

With kind regards

Sandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have just returned from a very enjoyable weekend in the Hotel Duquesa. My husband and two teenage daughters really lovely staying there as it was very comfortable and perfectly situated for Barcelona's old town. The rooms were spacious and interconnecting which was ideal for our family. We particularly enjoyed the roof terrrace and views across Barcelona's port. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our only criticism is that the breakfast facilities are not large enough for the size of the hotel. However, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We would recommend a room on the third floor at the front with views of the port, They are double gl...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ISY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuquesadeCardona, Director Comercial at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Ms Isy

Thank you so much for choosing hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona during your trip to our city. And of course, thank you also for taking your time to review our hotel.
We are glad you liked our connecting rooms, location, roof terrace and our team. We appreciate also your constructive comment about our breakfast room ( actually we are doing something about at this particular moment )

If you come back to Barcelona, we will be glad to see you again

With kind regards

Sandra Martinez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Barcelona is a wonderful city - we traveled by train and metro from the airport, which took less than half an hour to this hotel. We had to change once, which was long and, as we later found out, unnecessary! but we did see the Gaudi building and La Ramblas, unintentionally on the way. We were greeted at reception in fluent English (although I was raring to practice my Spanish) and served a glass of Cava while we checked in. Our room was overlooking the marina, and was on the fourth floor, with beautiful views of the city by the sea. The room was very clean and reasonably spacious. There was a bottle of Cava chilling on ice waiting for us too! With the front window open, it is quite noisy from the street, but at the same time, atmospheric, so it wasn't a problem. The rooftop bar gave even more spectacular views and the bar staff were very friendly. The plunge pool was just that - far too small for a swim, but nice to just dip in and out. At the front of the hotel were many restaurants serving tapas and paella, and everywhere was walkable - the Picasso Museum, La Ramblas (although I wasn't that impressed with this), the Gaudi Museum, La Sagrada Familia is more of a trek, but easily accessible by metro, and I would also recommend a trip to Montjuic, either by cable car, or walking, as the views are phenomenal, especially from the terrace of the museum. A wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: I would ask for a view of the sea/marina. Noisy but atmospheric with the window open, but worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear AnnieHall35,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.
I am delighted that you felt so pleased from the moment you arrived at the Duquesa de Cardona. Our team pride themselves on making all of guests feel welcome and perfectly at home from their first step inside the hotel.

It is true we are so lucky with our location, right in the heart of the Gothic quarter and in front of the harbour. We are glad to know that you very much enjoyed the unique views from the rooftop bar terrace.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Duquesa de Cardona so that we can take care of everything for you once again.

With warmest wishes,
Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#34 of 513 in Barcelona
290 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
574 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,351 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 513 in Barcelona
191 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $194 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing