We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #46 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Loved Barcelona and loved Duquesa de Cardona. My wife and I just stayed here while visiting for a few days last week and found this hotel to be just right. The location was just across the street from the marina while the area behind the hotel was the Gothic district which was great for exploring narrow cobble stone streets loaded with quirky shops and great places to eat.

We had arrived at the hotel early in the morning due to an overnight flight from the U.S. As expected, the room was not ready but we were able to leave our bags and stroll the waterfront and have a bite to eat. Upon returning, we found that the staff had upgraded our room to a suite saying that we were patient and it was there pleasure to do so. What a fantastic surprise! The room was outstanding.

In addition, we enjoyed each evening on the rooftop patio with a glass of wine before retiring for bed as well as a fantastic breakfast to enjoy in the morning before heading out sightseeing for the day.

Overall, we found the staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel clean and comfortable. We will be coming back to visit Barcelona and we will definitely stay at the Duquesa de Cardona. Thanks for warm hospitality.

Room Tip: We had a room towards the back of the hotel which had a small balcony which enabled us to people wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,096 - 1,102 of 1,917 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here for the first few nights of our honeymoon. Great location. We had a room facing water but it was only on third floor so we can only see trees and street. Roof top has a bar has a great view. We had an opportunity to view a Bartending competition taking place. Free top shelf cocktails and free Tapas of great quality that evening! Great surprise! Breakfast was well layed out beautiful and yummy. Staff was very kind to us and helped us out when our Spanish was not as good. We loved we were close to Metro, Las Ramblas and bus stops. Super close to Barrio Gotico attractions and Tapas and other restaurants. The doors on our balcony were great quality. Street noise was totally minimized and did not interfere with sleeping. I was amazed how well they blocked sound.

Room Tip: Get a room above 3 if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllieLetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just back from 3 nights....the good stuff: the superior room was clean, spacious, lots of mirrors in the right place, very comfy bed, excellent sound proofing from noisy road and port, shower was good enough; good spot right on the port and lots of places to eat in the back streets and on the sea front; the terrace was fabulous, with an amazing view across the port, and a plunge pool - a very enticing oasis for downtime. The less good stuff: room needed a coat of paint and the towels were old and thin; dirty quilt needed changing when we arrived and staff didn't seem to think this was worth an apology; decor looks glam on the site but is in fact very gloomy; terrace furniture is past its best and needs replacing; staff were ok but not special.

I may be being picky but something abut this place didn't grab me for some reason - feels like its being run on a shoestring and needs some money to be spent on it, and the staff didnt add anything to the experience which can make or break a hotel. We had a great time, but i wouldn't rush to stay here again for the price.

Room Tip: Port facing rooms don't have a sea view because of the trees unless you go high up - certainly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanyaS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a classic room which is 20m2 with a queen bed and no external view for 200 euro/day breakfast included, this is rather expensive for a 4 star hotel in Spain, therefore I expected to have a larger room for the price.
Location is very good, staff was friendly, breakfast was excellent, there is a nice terrace over the paseo Colon with bar and a small pool.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Gaston22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I booked this hotel for my closest friend and her husband along with their son for her 50th Birthday on behalf of her husband, My husband and I joined them and when we arrived we were 4 floors away from them despite making the booking together. However I spoke to reception and they arranged to move us next door to them the next day even moving our bags whilst we were out for the day. I had told them on my friends birthday and they had sparkling wine and chocolates in their room. The rooms were lovely and clean, problem with the safe being blocked and when we rang to reception there was someone to clear it up within 5 minutes. The breakfast was amazing so much choice plus eggs cooked for you as you liked them nice and fresh. I would not hesitate to go back and stay at this hotel. Also great location

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harmony60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, staff helpful, location is perfect. We were up-graded to a beautiful suite for our one night stay. The ammenities were lovely and comfortable. The breakfast was included in our rate and was more than substantial. My husband especially enjoyed the cooked to order eggs. Thank you Hotel Duquesa de Cardona!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Lovely hotel. Booked a suite with harbour view but as on second floor was a little misleading as really only saw trees. Our suite beautiful and huge - nice touch with chocolates and Cava in room. Pillow menu and choice of air freshner nice! Rooftop terrace brilliant but it is only a plunge pool. Sunloungers comfortable and you can call for drinks (may need to phone them though). Bar only open until 1130 in evening so don't go back for a night cap. Breakfast OK - order eggs from waiter but all 'do it yourself' including tea and toast.
Friendly reception staff who gave us lots of good advice - particularly where to go for Tapas and to get transport etc.
Recommended for location and comfort above all else.

Room Tip: Rooms need to be on at least on fifth floor to get a good view. Even at front no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandamays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#32 of 516 in Barcelona
349 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#18 of 516 in Barcelona
2,350 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#16 of 516 in Barcelona
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 516 in Barcelona
1,405 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#106 of 516 in Barcelona
3,421 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#72 of 516 in Barcelona
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $99 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing